Skip to content

Civilization Revolutions DS

July 28, 2008

That’s my boy Gandhi up there.  ‘Cept he ain’t my boy no more ever since I wiped him off the fucking map.  See, those riflemen of his were getting too close, so I had to take em out with a couple of tanks, then sneakily get the citizens of mumbai to revolt because we were so much more cultured than they were.  All of this happened while I was comfortably taking a dump. For an hour.

This is just a quickie, but anyone who loves or has loved the Civilization series should go ahead and get a copy of the DS version because it takes everything that was good about the series and streamlines it for a quicker, more action oriented playing experience.  Little bonuses are given to you if you’re the first civ to research a technology, if you find ancient artifacts, or even for naming a river, all of them conceits to help speed up the game. Still just enough of the depth of its PC brethen remains to rope in the old timers like me.

I do have a few quibbles though, mostly on the user interface and graphics side.  It’s not made entirely clear at the start that you can only devote your citizenry to 1 task, be it unit or building.  So I ended up playing my first game fucking up my build orders a lot.  They could have made that a little clearer.  There’s also two bars on top of each city, and it isn’t quite obvious what the fuck they’re there for.  Lastly, the graphics are just plain mediocre.  I know that graphics aren’t supposed to be the strong point of civ, but they seriously just look like they’re all over the place.  The main screen looks semi realistic, like what you’d think an old Civ game would look like, but the battle sequences feature characters that look like they came from an anime or something.  And all in all the graphics were just quite shoddy.  Really 2kgames, couldn’t you have spent just a little bit more on the aesthetics of the game?

If you can get over the graphics, I’d highly reccomend you all pick it up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 3:05 pm

    Interesting. I had the Civ Revolution demo on PS3, but deleted it before i tried it. I thought it might be a little too involved to just “try out”.

    How does Civ DS compare to Sim City DS, if at all?

  2. October 10, 2008 10:12 pm

    I haven’t tried sim city ds so I can’t say.

    However, it’s not involved at all. The developers made the revolutions games really bite sized, so that you’re likely to finish a game within 2-4 hours, depending on the parameters you set.

Leave a Reply

