Skip to content

Wario brings the old, makes me wonder

July 7, 2008

This clip of Wario Land: Shake It shows off some decent, 21st century animation and the stench of bad fan service. Unless there’s a wallet attachment for the remote, or a fake squiggly mustache you can wear while you play, this one’s gonna fall on deaf ears. At least i hope.

Yes, Nintendo. Fanmen may talk about Wario Land, but they sure as shit don’t buy it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Game Boy permalink
    July 10, 2008 10:27 am

    I don’t understand. This website claims to love Nintendo for what it once was. It claims that Nintendo has no regard to it’s classic fans and hard core gamers. While I agree with that to some extents, Wario Land: Shake It is a direct sequel to a fan-loved series of the 90’s. It’s unfair to put a link to Wario: Master of Disguise on this post, because MoD is NOT developed by the original Wario Team (D&D1, also responsible for the fantastic WarioWare games) and is not even a true Wario LAND game. Furthermore, everything shown in the videos points a return of the classic and fan-acclaimed gameplay style of Wario Land 1,2,3, and 4. Now why would Nintendo, in all it’s modern day fitness-filled mainstream family glory, take the time to resurrect this beloved 2D franchise (in a world focused on 3D graphics) if not to appease their faithful fanboys?… Not to mention, making it into a full-fledged Wii game with beautiful hand-drawn graphics. You say “this one gonna fall on deaf ears”, or at least you hope. You’re partly right, this game won’t get most sales of the year. But why WISH poor sales upon an attempt by Nintendo to stay true to their fans? Their obviously not expecting this to win game of the year, their expecting fans of originals to be happy with what looks to be a great and true-to-it’s-predecessors sequel. I don’t think outstanding sales was part of the plan with this game. And for that, this may be one of the biggest fan services Nintendo has ever given. Even if you weren’t a fan of the originals, cut them some slack for doing EXACTLY what this blog wants them to do: 1) Be true to their original selves, 2) Think of their fans. Here’s one Nintendo fan that will reward them for their efforts by buying this game. -Game Boy

  2. July 10, 2008 11:17 pm

    So being true to what Wario is would be making a game that makes me nod to about 20 other games that are NON Wario related. The music reminded me of a Sega franchise game and much of the gameplay seemed to be from DK Country, Earthworm Jim, Yosi’s Island and more.

    This game has “Bargain Bin Flash Game” written all over it. You seem to be a little obsessed over the name of the company and its franchise character rather than the game itself… like a parent so proud their baby can shit that they have to point it out and talk about it like its the greatest thing to happen in history.

    If Nintendo had made Gears of War and not changed a thing you would like it 10 times more than you do now. Furthermore if this game slapped Crash Bandicoot in it instead of Wario (Doku Doku Panic Style) you would be sweating it a whole lot less and not defending it on an “Anit-Fan Site”

  3. Game Boy permalink
    July 11, 2008 8:09 am

    Lemme stop ya there fris. I don’t worship Nintendo, period. The company has pulled a lot of shit on it’s old school fans since the NES-through-N64 glory days that has caused me to lose faith in many a classic franchise and even the company itself. Also, you should also know I have and Xbox 360 and Gears happens to be one of my favorite and most played games. So really, it’s unfair of you to say I’m some stereotypical raving fanboy. I think you may have misread my original post. The original Wario Land games rocked my world back when I was a kid. For being on the original Game Boy, they were damn good. You say I’m obsessed over the name of the company and the mascot rather than the game itself. Well I’ll say it again, Wario: MoD was a piece of shit game that I never bought due to just WATCHING gameplay videos. This one seems to be much better. And from a fan of the originals speaking, this one looks like it will deliver the SAME classic gameplay I enjoyed. So what if it reminds you of DK Country, Earthworm Jim, and Island? I may whole heartily disagree with that, but those were GREAT games! I mean, seriously, what’s the problem? Can people not sit back and enjoy a good sidescroller anymore? Just because it may be reminiscent of other sidescrollers to YOU, doesn’t make it an unoriginal/unvalid experience in it’s own right. It’s following the gamelay of it’s predecessors. So you must think those games sucked too then? Has it not dawned on you that ALL games borrow and lends gameplay elements from one to another? I don’t think this is “the greatest thing to happen at history,” and I’m not sure how my original post conveyed that message to you (“Their obviously not expecting this to win game of the year”.) But I do think, however, it will be good, old fashioned, nostalgic fun with updated hand drawn graphics. Not every game needs to reinvent the wheel to be fun. And frankly, I don’t want Nintendo to be the kind of company that would make Gears of War. Different games are good for different reasons. whether that reason be art style, graphics, story, gameplay, and god forbid, FUN. That said, different companies make those different kinds of games. It seems to me you want Nintendo to be like everyone else? While I too wish Nintendo would put some MUCH more emphasis on graphics, I’m glad Nintendo is starting to realize they have niche with certain gamers/fans and their playing to it. I mean, really, Zelda: TP, Mario Galaxy, Mario Kart Wii, Super Smash Bros Brawl have ALL come out in the past YEAR AND HALF! How could you POSSIBLY say Nintenodo is still neglecting their fans?? Do you want Nintendo to jump on the “lets make that exact same game but do it better” mindset of Microsoft and Sony? Nintendo’s direction is, in reality, beneficial to us gamers because they provide a different experiences and kind of games than Xbox/PS3. Thanks to them, there’s a wider range of games to choose from across the three major systems. So if you want the Gears of War/Halo/CoD4, high graphical, to-the-limit experience that I too throughly enjoy, PLAY XBOX GAMES. If want the light, adventurous, highly imaginative, FUN experience that is TRUE to Nintendo, PLAY WII GAMES (at least the good ones). Or, if you’re like me, play both and STOP trying to find something to bitch about. Allow yourself, and others, to enjoy their own gaming experience no matter what caliber you think it may be.

    On a more friendly note, Gears of War 2 looks realllly sweet. – Game Boy

  4. July 13, 2008 4:25 pm

    Not to keep a big discussion going over this game, I merely commented on you saying it brought back Wario elements while I was reminded of many games OTHER than Wario. I am happy with every 3rd person game with the over the shoulder view. If a game is comparable to RE4 then that is GREAT!

    Also, I said if Gears was made by Nintendo you would be reppin it more which I still consider true. I know Nintendo fanmen where sweating RE4 as the Game Cube exclusive when if first hit as well they should be since it is groundbreaking. Are any of the games you listed deserving of the title. Galaxy was a LOT of fun but it did not blow my mind. And TP was a Gamecube game that was flipped and striped (of the camera I loved in WW) and had some slapped on controls. Sure it had a cool aiming system, but that did not make up for the flawed controller and the game overall was very forgettable in the end. MK and SB are just rehashes, well done rehashes mind you, but not groundbreaking, new or original. BUT!!!! You seem to dig that.

    In the end some people love New Mario brothers and bought copies for their friends and their friends friends. I personally prefer to play the original(s) and look to play games that will give me more “new” and less “nostalgia with a mix”. The fact is, I have very limited time to play games and I can’t get caught up playing the same game with a different title and a little shake, point and waggle added. I also can no longer count on Nintendo to give me everything I need as a gamer. You have the Wii60 combo and the two main writers here have a PSWii combo. We just miss the old days when Nintendo was trying to hook us with bad ass games, now they are targeting our grandparents.

    I leave you with this. To me the best franchise game Nitnendo has made for Wii to improve 100% on controls was was MetPri3. I wish I could play MetPri 1 with the same controls. If PS3 had those controls I would forget about the Wii and their franchises.

  5. Sammie permalink
    September 22, 2008 7:15 pm

    Well WLS looks pretty fun and yeah I miss side scroling games but im also amazed by some of the 3-D ones That could 0nly be fun in 3-D

  6. October 13, 2008 3:21 pm

    Can’t wait for gears 2 its gonna be awesome 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bookmarks about It

Leave a Reply

