Skip to content

Chrono Trigger DS (port) announced

July 2, 2008

This took long enough. Chrono Trigger is one of the games i didn’t play till ROMs were all the rage at the turn of the century. So for me, CT is one of those legendary games i didn’t get get, but could easily see why it creates such a fervor amongst diehards. Personally, i think it’s because of the Dragonball-ish character design, and maybe a little for the time/fate-based plot lines.

Being that i am not a major fan, it doesn’t offend me much that Square Enix is only porting it. They’ve pretty much followed protocol, spreading the game out for two screens, adding some touch (probably for menu navigation), wireless multi battles which may or may not make sense and may or may not be interesting, and SE’s patent add-a-dungeon-to-our-DS-ports dungeon.

Someone out there must be gushing right about now. Or someones.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Chase permalink
    July 3, 2008 1:49 am

    Interesting… I never really got around to playing this game but heard it was great. I have a friend who is absolutely obsesed with it! I always wanted this game to be ported so I could see what the hype was all about.

  2. emulation64 permalink
    July 3, 2008 6:43 am

    About time. It doesn’t play well with SNES emulators for DS so a ported version is very much welcome.

  3. July 3, 2008 6:45 am

    They should do the same with the PSX version!

  4. July 4, 2008 3:44 pm

    Well I can tell you I enjoyed the ported “Advanced” Mario games. I never played CT so maybe I would pick it up for the DS. Probably not. Thats Two off of my list.

  5. July 5, 2008 3:06 am

    Chrono Trigger was one of, if not the best RPG for the SNES. It’s pretty lame that they did a port. There were some folks resurrecting it in 3D a few years back before square enix politely asked them to stop. I wish they’d done a FF 3 style overhaul with it.

  6. RPG Loser permalink
    July 6, 2008 1:22 am

    EXCUUUUUSSSSSSE me Ryan…but the name of the game is Final Fantasy III, not 3!!!! Don’t insult the game by making it sound lame. Roman Numerals PWN ALL!!!

  7. July 6, 2008 6:33 am

    Well at least you’re honest enough to call yourself out sir. I respect that.

Leave a Reply

