Skip to content

Mixed Media

May 14, 2008

I have been thinking a long time about my gaming habits and how they’ve changed over the years, and while one of the things that has kept back my gaming time is the presence of a real, actual life is the fact that I just get tired of imbibing the same kind of media over and over again. Let me explain. By media, I mean the different forms that entertainment can take, ie movies, music, TV, books, etc. I find that there are cycles in my life in which I gravitate towards a certain media more often than the others.

For example right now I’m in a near total gaming rut. My last gaming addiction was oblivion, and I never did quite get to finish it because I loved going on all the side quests. It’s not that I don’t have time or don’t have other games to play. In fact there’s a stack of unplayed PS2 games wistfully calling out to me every night before I go to sleep. But the fact of the matter is that games take a lot of effort. You’re forced to learn things as opposed to simply absorbing them, as you would a movie or book. There is no game over in movies, and you don’t have to force yourself to learn a new skillset just to advance to the next chapter of a book. It just keeps going at whatever pace you choose.

Especially now that my job requires a lot of mental exercise instead of just rote and routine pixel pushing, I find that at the end of the workday I’m exhausted and can’t be bothered to pick something up that insists that I fire up my neurons. Old school RPGs are a third option, and right now I’m thinking of playing Star Ocean on the PS2, but the problem with old school RPGs is that there’s still a lot of grinding involved, which takes up more time than I really have to spare.

Eventually, I know I’ll pick up that controller or mouse and keyboard again. I know I’ll get into that groove of playing 2-3 hours a day. But right now, I’d rather watch “No Country for Old Men”.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2008 2:20 pm

    Excellent movie, by the way. (Although I’m not sure what to make out of the ending… see it for yourself!)

    And I’m with you on the gaming rut… I’m finding myself less and less drawn to playing new games, precisely for the same reasons. After putting so much effort into leveling up and grinding into Etrian Odyssey, I only have eyes for the sequel right now. Other than that, I prefer to go back to levelling up on COD 4 or Halo 3 than trying new tricks with a new game (hence, I haven’t picked up GTA IV, but I downloaded Trade Winds, which I liked a lot but I only have to play half an hour of it at a time to enjoy it).

    I’m a programmer in real life, so I get all my puzzle-solving at work anyway, thankyouverymuch!

  2. garyaga permalink
    May 15, 2008 3:31 pm

    I agree with you guys of having limited time to play games because of work and girl friends. I don’t even rent games anymore but i do still research them so i know what’s going on in the gaming world. i recently got into the god of war series which i recommend highly. I use to firmly not believe in using strategy guides, but with my limited time to play and new releases every week i started using them when its necessary. Sometimes gaming is to time consuming.

  3. May 15, 2008 10:14 pm

    Yeah man, most of my gaming info right now comes from podcasts and not experience. I like being up to date just so I know when the perfect time is to dive in again, but right now, I’m taking it easy.

    Antonio I feel you man. I hope this isn’t the case forever, but ever since I started working on a game, I’ve felt less and less of an impulse to play. Right now I’m exerting my creative muscle in learning photography instead.

Leave a Reply

