Skip to content

Indecision 2008: Heroes and Soldiers

January 23, 2008

Ok, gang, what’s it gonna be:

Are you siding with the army-men or are you clawing your way through the assassins’ list? Or do you swing both ways, like me?

No More Heroes can wait, get Advance Wars first. I need some wifi male bonding.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2008 4:29 pm

    Rollin, I would have Days of Ruin TODAY if my DS Lite wasn’t broken! Perhaps I’ll get it anyway and I’ll play through my DS Phat… But I can hardly see the washed-out screens on that thing.

    I’ve been wanting to get a new DS Lite since three weeks ago, but GameStop doesn’t have them any! Not even in their warehouses! And Nintendo isn’t sending any, either!!

    With all the news about Wii being sold out for the holidays, nobody paid attention to the REAL gaming news: the DS Lite is gone, also!

    Anyway, I’ll post a Friend Code for that one as soon as I can solve my dilemma…

  2. January 23, 2008 9:20 pm

    I sympathize with your situation — i wouldn’t play on a Phat to save my life. Did you have a polar white version? If you buy another, make sure it’s a non-white color. That initial DS Lite is the most prone to the hinge crack. I have a black one that’s still good.

    Quick impressions: Days of Ruin is good, and the aesthetic overhaul makes the game more digestible (the narrative has yet to grab me, though), but doesn’t change much. One of my favorite things besides the streamlined feel on and offline is stylus use. They made it sooo much easier and less cumbersome; you rarely ever feel the need to use a button. Online battles though are my favorite, and i quit out of the campaign right after the first 2 scenarios to play wifi. Man, that is fun.

    You play on these small, lean maps, nothing like some of those huge expanses from Dual Strike. You don’t need to scroll across the map so much. This makes you take different terrain into heavy consideration. You get about 160 seconds per turn, and the animations are skippable even when you’re the one being attacked, which is great. I’ve only played twice, so i can’t say much else. I’m 1-1.

  3. January 25, 2008 2:07 pm

    Yep, I had a Polar White DS Lite… and I was planning on getting anything BUT that color next! I’d prefer an Onyx, of course, but at this point even a Coral Pink would be welcome…

    I need to buy it at GameStop so I can get it on exchange for some used DS games, and so I can use my extra credit for having an account that expires at the end of this month.

  4. February 1, 2008 11:38 pm

    All riiiight!

    I finally got an Onix DS… I got lucky! I got to a GameStop within an hour after they had opened the boxes with the DSes in them.

    And I got Days of Ruin just yesterday… I just started playing it, too.

    I assume we will all post our Friend Codes in the usual place here…

  5. February 2, 2008 12:41 am

    Well, I can’t find those codes anymore!

    So, I’m posting mine right here:

    043075 039138

    Join in people!

Leave a Reply

