Skip to content

One last hero to go

January 21, 2008

Here’s the early words on No More Heroes, via its first 2 reviews on Metacritic.

94
NGamer UK
Like the Wii, none of it should work, but like the Wii, everything does. Brilliantly… No More Heroes is a love letter to videogames that never grows old, tired, or dull. All games deserve to be designed with such lunacy. [JPN Import; Feb 2008, p.56]

90
n-Revolution Magazine UK
This is a rough game, but it’s also funny and self-deprecating, inventive and massively rewarding. If more games had personality and style like No More Heroes does, the world of games would be a much more interesting place. [Issue#18, p.76]

Do you hear that, too? It sounds like… it sounds like expectations being… being met, i think. Also, faintly, my Wii, sobbing tears of relief. Put the gun (peripheral) down, Wii. Put the gun (peripheral) down.

February 5th, y’all. [Or January 21st?]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2008 4:21 pm

    January 22nd, according to GameStop:

    http://www.gamestop.com/product.asp?product_id=230217

    Meaning it should be in the stores on Wednesday. But I’m getting Endless Ocean this week and Days of Ruin the following week, so No More Heroes will have to wait.

    I’m highly anticipating a review right here at Intendo, though…

  2. January 21, 2008 5:14 pm

    I sold off most of my DS/GBA games earlier today for close to $100, so i might get both NMH and Days of Ruin this week (heard terrible things about Endless, man). I just hope that i can get into them, because it’s been a while since i’ve played a DS game and it’s hard for me to sit down and play through a Wii game. I will try to get you an impressions, though, cause i have difficulty finishing games these days.

    But i must say, Virtua Tennis on GBA is still good. Gameplay’s better than the PS3/360 version, in that it never gets as predictable. Anything to use this defunct Micro.

  3. January 21, 2008 6:09 pm

    I’m going to be using my micro a lot more while my DS Lite is at the shop… I’ve got a ton of games to finish! But I’m also going to sell about half of my DS games to pay for the new ones… or a new DS if Nintendo’s repair service wants to charge me an arm and a leg.

    The reviews on Endless Ocean aren’t bad, they just make the “game” look like it isn’t a game at all, which is the reason I want it:

    http://www.metacritic.com/games/platforms/wii/endlessocean

    So far I’ve liked what I’ve seen, and it’s only $30… (It’s for my daughter, really!)

Leave a Reply

