Skip to content

Paradigm shift of attention

January 18, 2008

With Wii having thoroughly failed as a proficient gaming system for me and, i assume, my elusive blogging paht’nis, i’ve been analyzing the state of things in my refocusing on Intendo, the anti-fansite.

Well… what else is there? Handhelds of course! Damn near forgot about those.

Believe it or not, the DS is still there and the proper heir to the PS2 prestige. It has the best of both worlds — the popularity of Wii, a game count and variety that competes with if not obliterates the Xbox 360’s, and nearly reached the cultural acceptance level of the Sidekick, insofar as adults not feeling ashamed of being seen with a device targeted primarily for youngsters. Basically the only aspects that don’t touch the PS2 legacy is that it’s targeted at a younger mindset and that it doesn’t have any real catalog (if at all) of M-rated software. But what ultimately matters to us? The games, duh.

Atlus is still kickin’ ass no matter what we (don’t) do, and they’ve just revealed Rondo of Swords, coming out smack dab in the center of April, developed by Success Corp. It’s just the kind of game Wii doesn’t know how to host. It’s a deep, challenging, “epic” SRPG with the following attributes:

  • Unique combat system (using the touch screen)
  • Deep party management
  • Customizable skills
  • Multiple storylines and endings

I’ll take one, please.

There’s also Advance Wars: Days of Ruin which comes out on Monday — yes, this coming Monday. According to our way overimformed (whether properly or imporperly, who knows) friend Antonio, it has online play. And if it does, i’m selling all my previous wifi titles to GameStop and buying this game with store credit. New look, new gameplay, new everything. We’re all getting that, right Intendopes? Gonna bring the Warcade back with that one.

Fuck a Wii.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DrewMG permalink
    January 21, 2008 3:30 pm

    I can’t agree that the Wii has completely failed me as a gaming system. I mean, I may not agree with everything Nintendo does, but the newest Mario, Metroid, and Zelda titles have served me very well. I just hoped it could be more than that.

  2. January 21, 2008 3:43 pm

    Yep, Days of Ruin does have online gameplay! I’m not sure how that will work out, knowing that TBS battles can last for an hour and it seems like online connectivity only goes as far as half of that for me through Nintendo’s Wi-Fi, but I say IT’S ABOUT TIME!

    Unfortunately, the hinge crack on my DS Lite expanded to create a bad connection for my upper screen, and now I can’t use it. So I’m going to try to go back to the old Phat version while I figure out how to send the new one to Nintendo’s repair service, which I hope won’t charge me and won’t take too long!

    I just [almost] finished Etrian Odyssey, although the final boss I can tell is going to take a lot more up-leveling and strategizing than anything I’ve encountered on this game. I loved how the game’s ending went all Night-Shalmalayan on me! Nice twist… Atlus is about to release the sequel in Japan, but they haven’t announced a date for the U.S., so I’ll probably have to pick up Luminous Arc 2 instead. As for Rondo of Swords, I’ll have to wait for some more reviews…

Leave a Reply

