Skip to content

Mario has slighted me

December 13, 2007

Yesterday i buy Mario Galaxy, out of the sheer desire to put my Wii to use. It’s the first Wii game i’ve bought since June.

I’m perusing the starter menus, picking my Mii face and checking out the interface. It’s a little too indistinct for me, too much like a stylized Wii channel menu. (Someone’s trying to hammer that look into your heads…) I start the game up.

Roughly:

“It was a peaceful night during the Star Festival”

You…you serious? I can’t believe this. Like really, we can’t even copy a Mario & Luigi game’s story? Is it that hard to write something half as interesting as Thousand Year Door? “Every hundred years, a comet flies overhead” Ughhh. Why the hell did i bother with this. I shoulda known Nintendo’s primary concern is planting the seeds of nostalgia in future generations by leaving well enough alone in their franchises (and making every thing about Wii “cute”).

I had to shut the “console” off soon after you get the spin move because i couldn’t take the non-progress. Little star-like things wanna help their mother, some “new” blonde lady who’s probably Peach pretends not to be Peach to accompany you along the way until you find the real Peach, who turns out to be her. Very imaginative. What the fuck do they pay Shiggs for these days, sweeping the offices? This guy’s supposed to be the brains of the operation. How’s about he does some operatin’ on that plotline.

And i know this is a side issue, but the graphics really are not as good as i was made to believe on the internet beforehand. Those were some selective screens Nintendo’s been showing off. All i could think of during the opening Bowser cinematic was how much greater and grander the game would look with a PS3 behind it.

Anyway, that was my first almost-an-hour with the game, and i have little desire to play it again. Maybe Corruption would’ve served me better? I just hope that you guys’ high recommendations of Galaxy’s gameplay further into the game will prove true. By the way, this month has been dismal for Intendo, i’ve been occupied. I’ll be back soon though, so don’t abandon me forever yet. The new look is temporary, unless you like it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2007 2:14 pm

    I miss some artwork at the header…

    Anyway, I think someone should have warned Rollin that, as nice as this game is, it is still just a Super Mario game! Personally, I have been amused and entertained by it so far, but it does lack the challenge and depth of the new 360 games. But, that is to be expected, and I don’t play Galaxy for deep storytelling. I play Mass Effect for that!

    For deeper gameplay, (if not storytelling), I’ll be waiting for Atlus‘ and St!ng‘s release of Baroque in February, the only Wii title I’m really excited about right now!

  2. Frisby permalink
    December 13, 2007 8:41 pm

    Sorry Rollin, Mario plots have allways been kiddy pool deep. I fear if we ever had a real story in a Mario game we may then ask for decent graphics too.

  3. Drew permalink
    December 13, 2007 10:19 pm

    Gotta disagree. I have been playing games since Intellivision and I think this is one of the best games ever made. Not difficult, but a blast to play. What exactly did you expect? When I buy a Mario game I know exactly what I am getting. I give it a thumbs up.

  4. Drew permalink
    December 13, 2007 10:19 pm

    Gotta disagree. I have been playing games since Intellivision and I think this is one of the best games ever made. Not difficult, but a blast to play. What exactly did you expect? When I buy a Mario game I know exactly what I am getting. I give it a thumbs up.

  5. drewmg permalink
    December 14, 2007 8:39 am

    Another Drew? I guess we’ll have to fight to the death.

    Anyways, yeah, your complaints are certainly valid Rollin, but if that stops you from enjoying an otherwise amazing platform game, I have to wonder how you were ever a Nintendo fan.

  6. December 14, 2007 4:07 pm

    I’m sure Rollin was a Nintendo fan… he just grew up!

  7. garyaga permalink
    December 14, 2007 5:36 pm

    rollin should just sell his wii

  8. December 16, 2007 11:33 am

    Yea gents, well i think with Galaxy the myth and magic of Mario has been broken for me. I didn’t expect to be treated to A Space Odyssey, Mario style, but i’ve played so many story-based Mario games since Sunshine that i forgot how pathetically their main plotline unfolds.

    I tried it again a couple days ago and it’s solid, but i haven’t found the stride yet. I’m pretty certain it’s coming though, so i won’t abandon it. That’s not my nature. But the game does not compel me at this stage, about an hour or so in, and i can’t really share your opinion quite yet.

    I’ve been spoiled by Intelligent Systems. They need to be the new brains behind the main artery of the franchise. It’s more than just the story that bothers me, though. Maybe i have grown up.

Leave a Reply

