Skip to content

Game Boy Phone…everyone wants to make an effin phone

November 26, 2007

So while scanning for some news to write about I stumble upon a Crave article about how Nintendo needs a phone. While this is old news, why the hell does everyone have to have a device that does everything…and make friggin calls!@$#

Much like 5 years ago, everything had to have a DVD player built in. In fact if you had anything electronic 5 years ago you probably where asked, “Does it play DVDs”. Then it was internet connection. Does it connect to the internet, can I “google” with it blah blah blah. Now…now everything needs to make phone calls, allow you to text message and also be the device you bought it for. Never the other way around. I want a MP3 player so I buy a phone that has one built in. Hell I wanted a DVD player so I bought a PS2 back in the day.

Are we heading to this crazy place where nothing makes much sense anymore? I remember Nintendo talking about the Game Cube being for playing games, not for all of that other “Entertainment” garbage. Hell Nintendo is the only of the three major consoles companies that does not have a HD disk format they created and implement into their system (M$ has that external HD-DVD drive). But now who the hell knows what Nintendo is trying to do with the Wii as an entertainment system. Hell I don’t even think THEY know.

Everything they do with the Wii is the leader of half assed an pointless additions to a product. Check Mii out? The News Channel? Weather? Message Center? Who in the hell says, “I need to surf the web, let me turn on my Wii and type one button at a time.” I can bet you no one bought a Wii for any of those things. They bought it to play games, so why the hell take up my minuscule built in flash space with this crap?

This rant is losing sight of what I was originally talking about but one thing will always remain true.

Nokia makes phones that play games. The games always work half assed but the phone works great. If Nintendo wants to go into the cellular business, great for them. All I can say is it better not be as half assed as their WiFi on Wii has been so far. People bitch constantly about the iPhone for being an iPod that is like a phone, not a phone that is an iPod.

The real question is do you want a Game Boy that is a phone, or just a phone and a game boy? I have a backpack.

frisby

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2007 4:35 pm

    I want my gadgets to do one thing and to do it right!

    I have a pnone AND a micro AND a DS… and a pocket PC if I want to read a book!

  2. November 27, 2007 10:14 pm

    Frankly I’ve been searching for this holy grail as well. There are of course certain things will just be gimped in an all in one device, but the allure of having everything you need in one small package is just too tempting to resist.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    January 14, 2008 4:01 pm

    gfjg

  4. March 8, 2009 5:27 am

    dhif

  5. October 27, 2010 4:56 pm

    the prices of Pioneer dvd players are dropping these days and they are quite a bargain”-“

Leave a Reply

