Skip to content

Is Galaxy the cream of the creme?

November 18, 2007

Nuh uh.

Should we go by Metacritic averages, then yea, Super Mario Galaxy is the best game ever. But is it? I haven’t played it yet, my mild attraction to it wore off quicker than the juice in the double-As of an idle Wii remote. And i’m guessing, judging from the reception of Halo 3 (and the neverending shrine love-worship for FF7), that a few rabid enthusiasts don’t make it a revolutionary megaton of a game.

But i haven’t played it. So, by standards of fairness, i will leave the formulation of opinions to you. Is Galaxy the best game ever, better than long-time all-time review score champion and previous recipient of post-pardem overhype, Ocarina of Time? Is it your personal favorite Mario at least?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2007 3:50 am

    I’m about ten hours in, still trying to decide if it’s as great as the reviews say. I certainly can find very little fault with it, other than the occasional camera problem. It’s fun as hell to play, and beats out my old favorite Mario platformer, Mario 64. Is it better than Ocarina? Yeah, I never thought Ocarina deserved the number one spot anyway. Is it better than Link to the Past (too old for Metacritic)? No way.

    Does it assault you with cheesy music and fluffy storytime? Yes.

    Do the “planets” feel like an excuse for the designers to string together whatever little ideas they had, arbitrarily piling enough together to make a “level”? Sometimes, and it’s clear one of the biggest reasons they have you playing on isolated pods is to take drawing strain off the hardware so they can make Mario glow a little bit.

    But these are just nitpicks, and like I said before, it’s pretty damn fun.

    Not as good as Portal.

  2. Dark-Magik permalink
    November 19, 2007 7:08 am

    Best game ever? Debatable.

    Best platform in the last 5 years? Absolutely.

    Too bad it seems Japan doesn’t really care for the game based on how poor the sales have been.

  3. Bill permalink
    November 19, 2007 7:13 am

    I was worried about this game before going into it, as I blogged in the past. Now I am two full galaxies in, and in love. I have always had a soft spot for Mario and the design and gameplay. For me Galaxy brings it all back, and gives it a new twist. It’s the first Wii game I actually I love and not make me regret buying a Wii. I’ll likely sell of my Wii after beating the game as I fear nothing will live up to Galaxy.

    Cheesy music? noooo. Anyone who has played and loved Super Mario 3 as a child will have a fangasm.

    The part of the game I thought would be what I din’t like became it’s brilliance. The little planets are all different and interesting. I love love love this game.

    Agreed though. Not as good as Portal.
    I believe we are in the best gaming year ever, and I am reaping the benefits. Bioshock, Call of Duty 4, Mario Galaxy, Orange Box, Crysis, HALO 3, and those are just the ones I have had the fortune of playing myself.

  4. drewmg permalink
    November 19, 2007 9:23 am

    Yeah, I have to say that I love this game. The fully orchestrated music is really awesome, the controls are spot on, the level design is creative. This is a beautiful game from top to bottom.

  5. November 19, 2007 10:41 am

    Sorry, I didn’t mean cheesy music across the board. The actual orchestrated gameplay music is really really great, but the sappy crap they pull out for some story segments really makes me want to commit murder.

  6. November 19, 2007 12:17 pm

    I’m really loving this game, but I’m not far enough in to judge it “best video game ever”. So far, I agree with all the above that it is NOT as good as Portal, but the concept of that game is just too good to use for fair comparison. Both could be designated as “platformers”, I guess, and both are exclusively single-player experiences, but that’s about it.

    The only nitpickings I have about Super Mario Galaxy are that the story is too over-complicated. But you can ignore that and just keep playing without paying attention to the obscure objectives. My other complaint, ironically, is not with the game, but with the reviewers: they keep saying things like “Galaxy will take the bad tase that Sunshine left in your mouth”, etc. etc., generally saying how bad Sunshine was and how Galaxy is the big comeback of the Mario 3D platformer we were expecting. Yet, I see a LOT of elements in Galaxy that were taken from Sunshine! Galaxy seems like a next step directly from Sunshine, if you ask me (and I LOVED Sunshine!)

    Anyway, great game so far, and I’ll let you know if it is the greatest game of all time once I’m at least half way through it…

  7. November 20, 2007 12:45 am

    I don’t agree that the story is too overcomplicated. I think it’s about time that a Mario platformer got a story as developed as we’ve been seeing in the RPGs (M+L, Paper). There is no dramatic structure to Galaxy, and I think it suffers for that. This is the third time they’ve used the hub format, with each level accessible at all times, and I think it’s time to move on. Existing in a world where all your doing is “unlocking” new content takes away any forward momentum the story might have. This is Mario 64 in space, and that’s great and all, but I hope we get something more revolutionary next time.

    Once again, though I talk tough I do love this game. Today I was just wasting time jumping around on planets, not going anywhere in particular, and I realized that’s the sign of a great game mechanic… When you’re just doing it for fun, without any goal.

  8. drewmg permalink
    November 20, 2007 11:21 am

    Albo, I got that same feeling more from Sunshine than I am from Galaxy. I may be in the minority, but Sunshine is one of my all time favorite games, let alone Mario games.

  9. November 20, 2007 1:25 pm

    I dunno gentlemen. You speak kindly of this… this Mario.

    But some of the complaints you state sound like dealbreakers to me. I fucken adore the Mario RPGs, all of them besides the most recent Paper and the most recent M&L, and that to me is the present and future tense of Mario. Story is incredibly important in videogames, and the lack of stories with substance is what’s keeping games back as a respectable medium. Nintendo’s been a noticable offender with their 3 key franchises on Wii: TP came up short, i hear Prime tried too hard and failed to succeed, and Mario has the predictable hokey story so parents can replace the nightly lullaby/fairytale for their kids with a battle with Bowser on Mercury.

    I don’t know if i can stand the “sweet” moments, where Mario undoubtedly blushes at something the Princess said about him being heroic or cute. Or an overly cheesy storyline, a redundant hub world structure, and that sense that devs threw all the cutting room floor idea scraps into this (because i’d be peeved at something like that if it was too apparent).

    $50 is a lot, too. I still haven’t bought Prime and don’t plan to buy it or Galaxy. I think i’ll resign myself to the promise of No More Heroes at this point. Call of Duty 4 (fucking tastic game online) is more than enough for the rest of 07. Seriously, hit me up on the PSN if you got it. ID: Linteria.

  10. November 20, 2007 2:48 pm

    The only chance I’ve got to get a PS3 this fiscal year is if this ridiculous deal comes true in Amazon for it:

    http://promotions.amazon.com/gp/holiday/amazon-customers-vote/ref=amb_link_5905332_1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=right-1&pf_rd_r=14AZY5MS4GRAQ6SZPDDZ&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=331142001&pf_rd_i=507846

    But the Wii has the upper hand right now… go ahead and start your voting, so we can ALL get a PS3!

  11. November 20, 2007 3:07 pm

    Rollin – You really should get the game, though… It will make you squeal with delight, and it’s very hard to put down. While most games bore me after extended play time, I never want to stop Galaxy.

  12. November 20, 2007 3:47 pm

    I second the motion, Rollin: SMG is really the ONLY reason to own a Wii… just like Halo 3 is for owning a 360…

  13. November 21, 2007 2:34 am

    Really? Alright, i just hope it lasts. These days i’m biased against any non-multi games at current gen prices. Need as much bang as i can get.

  14. drewmg permalink
    November 21, 2007 9:20 am

    I own a 360, and the only reason I got Halo is because I found it at half price. I get weary of people assuming that the only reason that one would buy a 360 is for Halo, or FPSes in general. I just wanted to have a next gen system that carries on the tradition of PS2/Xbox/GameCube, because the Wii doesn’t do that.

    The only first person shooters I like are sci-fi ones like Bioshock and Orange Box. I hate military shooters, and squad based shooters. And competetive shooters. Give me Metroid, not Call of Duty.

    But XBLA, downloadable demos, voice chat – these are reasons to own a 360 that have nothing to do with Halo.

  15. November 21, 2007 1:09 pm

    OK, I should have said “Halo 3: MY reason to own a 360”!

    Although I recently finished Portal on the Orange Box, and yes, that game BLEW MY MIND! I would nominate it as THE new reason to own a 360, but it is too short. However, with the whole Orange Box package… yes, I can see how that could de-throne Halo 3.

  16. November 22, 2007 1:12 pm

    “Give me Metroid, not Call of Duty.”

    Gimme online ON TOP OF a great story, not just a campaign.

    Don’t hate the Duty! C’mon dangit, i’m new to this. Let me relish it while i can. Even still, COD4 kills Prime for me. I’ll buy Met when it comes down in price to confirm that.

Leave a Reply

