Skip to content

Paper Mario – Going back to the Beginning

November 11, 2007

title.gif

About a year ago I finally got my paws on Paper Mario and the Thousand Year Door. Having never played the original I did not know what I was in for, but what I would later find out on what I was missing out on.

About the time I was a quarter through TYD, I come home after a LONG day of work and my wife is glued to the tube. She started her own game and was already on the boss I just beat! After she got more than halfway through I decided to go ahead and let her take care of this game. She felt bad for stealing my game so to speak, but I was never terribly upset anyway. That game was pretty damn hard.

Having beaten Partners in Time I had a pretty good idea about TYD going into it, but I never played the original so I did not know what advances it had made from the original Paper Mario. I sat in with a friend in high school while he tore up Super Mario RPG on SNES, but that was more like Final Fantasy than a Paper Mario title. More after the jump.

256px-papermario.jpg

So now I have picked up, or downloaded so to speak, the original Paper Mario. This game is the first N64 game I have played that the controls felt great while using the Classic controller. The graphics are actually pretty crisp and the sound is great.

Right off the bat I realize this game is much easier than TYD. In fact, its really effin easy. Compared to N64 title Majora’s Mask to Game Cube title Wind Waker , for this series the difficulty change was the opposite. The Game Cube title added a lot of extra obstacles to make the game damn hard compared while also adding another level of abilities.

For example, in Paper Mario, all of your abilities aside from ass pounding and hammering are added trough your extra party members. In TYD, you get the party members abilities as as your own “Paper Curse” abilities. Nap houses and Heart boxes are “on the house” (free) in Paper Mario while in TYD they cost yah some bling.

The formula is still there however. Peach kidnapped. You go and try to save her. At the end of each chapter you play a Peach mini level. The story line has a lot of great humor in it as do all of the Mario RPG titles. A whale suggest I should be called Dr. Mario for example.

marioandkooper.jpg

Only 4 Star Sprites down I know I still have a long way to go. I plan to hit up TYD again from the begging and then get Super Paper Mario in my sights. I am waiting a while on Galaxy since I expect another drought after Smash Brothers hits. I still consider Super Mario Sunshine my favorite 3-D Mario adventure and am content enough to wait a while.

My wife got all the way to the end of Thousand Year Door earlier in the year and after losing to the boss 4 times gave up. It has 2 cut scenes that are 5 minutes each. You have to tape A the whole time too. She has picked it back up since then and keeps trying to beat it. She always falls short at the end. Maybe she will beat it soon. It’s been a long time since I have had time to play games. It’s good to be back.


Charlie Frisby

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Mafesto permalink
    April 20, 2008 9:55 am

    Super Paper Mario was a big disappointment for me. I was expecting an RPG but I get this lame classic Mario with RPG elements. What a letdown.

  2. April 21, 2008 11:53 pm

    Finally got around to reading this post. Did you ever finish this one or any of the sequels, friz?

    I never saw much in Super Paper Mario. Both Paper Mario “canon” titles were visually inspiring, but only the first one did anything for me. Playing it on an N64 probably had something to do with it. TYD was prettier, but i found it less charming.

    I’m still considering Baten Kaitos when i get around to buying it. I wanted to play it since i first laid eyes on it.

  3. Chase permalink
    July 3, 2008 1:42 am

    I remember this game… the original paper mario was by far the best of them all. TYD was okay, but not spectacular in my opinion. Super Paper Mario was simply okay… but far from memorable. I hope the series doens’t continue this trend of worsening. Don’t give up on that final boss, it is beatable!

  4. SL8R permalink
    July 8, 2008 11:09 am

    What is wrong with you guys? Super paper mario ROCKED! I do agree that the first one was awesome, but you gotta give SPM
    its props. WE ALL KNOW IT’S AT LEAST “PRETTY GOOD”. >=(

  5. SL8R permalink
    July 8, 2008 11:16 am

    Wait how old are you guys? Sorry, i thought this was for kids… SUPER PAPER MARIO ROCKS!!!!

  6. Poop permalink
    July 8, 2008 11:17 am

    Chicken is gooooood.

  7. bobble head permalink
    July 8, 2008 11:19 am

    Poop! You ruined the whole page! And you too Sl8r.

  8. Mr. H permalink
    July 22, 2008 11:20 pm

    ok, heres my prospective super paper mario was good but it has alot of flaws i’ll leave it at that. paper mario: thousand tear door was better than super paper mario becouse it was great and only had little bads. now, paper mario 1 was the greates game i have ever played mabe becouse i love mario games and paper mario games even more back to paper mario 1 it has little to no flaws great story, game play, characters, and it was long but not to long and hard but not to hard. It ROWCKED!!!!!!!!

  9. Mr. H permalink
    July 22, 2008 11:22 pm

    Im only 10 pardon my spelling mistakes.

  10. July 23, 2008 12:42 pm

    Super Mario RPG will change your mind.

  11. 2ndGear permalink
    January 25, 2011 1:50 pm

    only played paper mario 1 and is rocks!!.
    im soon going to buy paper mario ttyd,i heard many good things about that game so =0.
    and im not going to buy super paper mario not saaying its bad but well.
    super paper mario is 50 euro where i live (the same price as mario galaxy!)
    and i like the turn base thing O.o

    Srry for my spellingsfault im from holland :/

  12. kooper permalink
    May 2, 2011 3:47 pm

    i beat the original for n64 about a million times,thats my favorite game ever made EVER!!! even tho thousand year door is probably better,with the chapter “glitz pit” and the storys better,both are the best games ever…..beat TYD atleast 6-10 times….as for “super” paper mario…..horrible.the only place you really get to visit is flipside,and even then ther aint much exploreing to do.and ther aint much insintive to do any extra side quest.allso the horrible written story (the beginning) is a hugh disappointment,ther rushing it and ther allready start explaing every little detail to you before you even start playing….its bad,the only upside is it still has alot of the humor the other 2 games have….

Leave a Reply

