Skip to content

Kaplan spins away Brothers’ delay

October 23, 2007

I hate spin. I know that it’s a powerful weapon to be deployed against the huddled gaming masses, but since I’m far too intelligent to be taken by it, it bothers me when I hear it. Enter Perrin Kaplan trying to explain Super Smash Brothers Brawl’s delay:

“And I think we’re actually starting to look at the annual calendar differently,” said Kaplan, justifying the February release of Super Smash Bros. Brawl. “The first two quarters of the year tend to be more quiet. But now we’ve seen some evidence of sales in that period.” Avoiding the jostling of the year-end crowd is but one benefit, with the added development time yielding a game that’s “absolutely as perfect as Japan knows it can be.

The fuck’s that mean, as JAPAN knows it can be? It actually makes good sense to release the game later than all the blockbusters coming out this fall, but I hate how she makes it seem like this was what they had planned all along, or that they’re just refining the game to make it perfect. If you want to avoid the crush of games this fall then just say so dammit. But you know what? I’m probably wrong, because a good game will sell well regardless of the timeframe as Kaplan deftly explains with a basketball analogy:

“I think a really good product can be a slam dunk any time of the year.”

A slam dunk indeed. Wasn’t that a buzzword in the 90s or something?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2007 8:24 pm

    When the hell is this chick leaving? Maybe once Nintendo nests in New York i can keep a closer eye on their PR dealings.

    A man can spin dream.

  2. October 26, 2007 2:07 am

    A slam dunk in Q4 could knock down numbers for the other games. I think she is reading my posts.

  3. October 26, 2007 2:08 am

    Or maybe jack killed her and climbed into her body and is acting as if he is infact her. I would not put it past him.

Leave a Reply

