Skip to content

Tales of Symphonia : Knights of Ratatoskr

October 4, 2007
by

ratatoskr.jpg

I absolutely LOVED Tales of Symphonia for the cube. The story was typically convoluted JRPG fare with gods and angels and demons an epic battle good an evil after which they discuss morality for 15 minutes but it had so much character to it that it drew me in right away. The cel shaded art style fit it to a T, and I much prefer it over Tales of the Abyss for the PS2, which frankly felt like Tecmo knocked off its own game. Sadly, Just as I was nearing the ending, my gamecube conked out on me, and I haven’t had the time to repair it since, especially since I still have a stack of PS2 games waiting to be played. I’m still stoked about the sequel though,a video of which can be found here.

The screenshots look a little janky and geometric, but this is still an early build so I have a lot of hope for this title, which is slated to come out next year.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2007 2:20 pm

    This was one of those chore games for me. I hated how the slowly character moved, which is typical in an RPG, but i can’t stand it in any game. There’s also the cheesy ass, unsynched dialogue in cut-scenes. Story coulda used some work, like you said. The art i liked, and the cel-shading was very nice. But overall, it had a few too many niggles for me to remember it for the right reasons.

    Still haven’t finished it; unlikely that i will. Playing Cube games on my Wii with a wired controller isn’t really ideal nowadays. The thing feels too clunky now.

  2. October 4, 2007 10:26 pm

    I think that there are a few select RPG’s I will ever play.

    I fear obsession and also abandonment.

    I avoided WoW like the plague. My wife appreciates it still.

  3. October 4, 2007 10:26 pm

    Oh, and this is not one of them.

  4. Aushe permalink
    October 15, 2007 8:16 pm

    it is like tales of the abyss (PS2) it is better 🙂
    i want it in PS3 or i will cry 😦

  5. October 15, 2007 8:20 pm

    I don’t think it’ll be on PS3, but yo can always hope!

  6. March 10, 2008 2:42 pm

    ooohhh yaaaaaaa

Leave a Reply

