Skip to content

Blue *Yawn* Dragon DS

October 4, 2007
by

So apparently Mistwalker’s clunker of a game for the 360 is making its way to the DS, probably in the hopes of making at least a little money back on that IP. Call me a cynic, but I’m not excited. Blue Dragon just smacks of Microsoft paying Sakaguchi and Toriyama to make a Dragon Quest-ish JRPG to stoke the Xbox fires in Japan. The question of whether or not it was successful depends on who you ask, but suffice it to say that 360 isn’t doing that much better in Japan because of Blue Dragon.

While I haven’t played the game fully I did have some hands on with it before and frankly the game felt uninspired. I’m a huge Final Fantasy and fan and I’ve loved Akira Toriyama’s work since I first started reading dragonball. I loved Toriyama’s character design on Chrono Trigger, which still ranks as one of my favorite RPGs ever. On the other hand, his work on Blue Dragon just felt…uninspired. Like he was working on autopilot to design the dullest characters ever with bland costumes and colors. The game design was similarly uninspired, with sakaguchi seemingly just as disinterested with this game.

All in all, this doesn’t bode well for a DS version, but I guess they figure the install base will make up for all of the game’s shortcomings.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2007 10:28 pm

    So MS had a game that was supposed to help their Japanese market share. If that fails on 360 move it to DS?

    I guess it will work a little. It’s not a killer app so I guess it has a better chance on DS.

  2. Bill permalink
    October 5, 2007 8:49 am

    If Microsoft had really wanted to do this right the would have made Blue Dragon an awesome trading card game first, then made a DS version, and finally moved it over to the 360 once it was all established. But first they paid the right people, made a game, then made the card game, then let rumors fly about a DS version.

    I’ve seen the kids look over the Blue Dragon cards in shops, and they look actually intrigued. But young kids don’t have disposable income, plus they gotta get the game their friends are playing!

  3. October 5, 2007 11:21 am

    I played the demo version on 360… my three-year-old loved it, and that’s about the best thing I can say about it. As an RPG, it is very generic and the characters look and behave like they belong in your average Saturday morning cartoon. The music background was very inconsistent, and the hard rock stanzas when in battle mode made my ears bleed. For that alone, I wouldn’t get this game ever! Eternal Sonata looks far more intriguing, if you still want a decent RPG on the 360… but if you have a DS, why bother? There are MUCH better RPGs in that platform!

Leave a Reply

