Skip to content

Fatal Grasshopper

October 1, 2007
by

264102-grasshopper-with-plenty-of-character-0.jpg

Fatal Frame was a relatively unheralded survival horror game that had you using an old camera as a means of trapping ghosts’ spirits. Odd as that may seem, the game was technically sound, and just as creepy as any Silent Hill game. I fondly remember a friend of mine playing it in broad daylight with all of us around him screaming like a little bitch whenever a ghost would pop onto view.

In a move that’s bound to stir Rollin’s Wii loins, 1up reports that Tecmo has tapped Suda51 studio grasshopper to develop the latest Fatal Frame after the release of the eagerly anticipated No More Heroes. The sheer weirdness of Suda’s games, the unique spin of fatal Frame on the survival horror genre, plus Wii’s control scheme seem like a perfect fit, and I’m very excited to see what comes of this 2 or 3 years down the line.

Another interesting tidbit that Suda revealed during an interview was that he made games targeted at the US audience, then tweaked it for the Japanese market. That may address some of my issues with Fatal Frame, most of which have to do with the protagonist being a high school girl. Call me a chauvinist, but I just can’t relate to that kind of character, so it’ll be interesting to see how Suda spins that for the American market.

Not that I’m American. And not that I have any problems playing Cooking Mama, which is probably the gayest thing ever. But yeah. This looks like it’ll be an awesome game.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. DrewMG permalink
    October 1, 2007 9:25 am

    Fuck yeah, bring this on.

  2. October 1, 2007 4:37 pm

    This did stir my loins when i learned of it yesterday. I even meant to post, but thank god you beat me to it – i know shit-all about Fatal Frame. Heard it’s good.

  3. October 1, 2007 5:33 pm

    It’s a great game. Just at times hard for me to really get into the “oh I’m a high school girl and I lost my sister” story.

  4. October 1, 2007 5:49 pm

    I still have the game but never got very far in it. I liked the story but unfortunately I could never get the controls down. It frustrated me more than anything. Oh and it seriously is a creepy game.

  5. October 1, 2007 6:17 pm

    I’d play it today if I still had a PS2.

    Shame.

  6. October 1, 2007 7:47 pm

    buy one. they’re going for $99 dollars now hey-o!

  7. October 1, 2007 10:48 pm

    I’m hesitant to get into PS2 franchises now even though i have a PS3. The thing is i can’t bring myself to play through games where there’s one crushingly dated aspect that hold me back from enjoying it like everyone else who played it when it was new. So i have to ask. Might have to post about this on Warc.

  8. October 1, 2007 10:59 pm

    Right. so you can just wait for the new Sudafied Fatal Frame comes out.

    Sudafied. I like that. Can we patent it, then sell it to Suda for an interview?

    Sudafied, Sudafying, Sudafication, Sudaness, Sudaless, the possibilities are limitless!

  9. October 1, 2007 11:06 pm

    intendo ~ the Suda-fansite

Leave a Reply

