Skip to content

If it’s not a drought, it’s a flood

September 27, 2007

 

untitled-1.jpg

So I get up in the morning and I here Kids playing nearby, I walk out into my front yard in my robe and make my way to my yard where my month Nintnedo Power lay, thrown by the NES paper boy of old. I go back in the house and make my way to my throne. On my throne I sit and flip open the pages of Nintendo Power to find the game drought is over and now replaced by a flood.

Silly isn’t it that we can go months without a game worth playing and now we have a flood of games. It must be Q4.

Everyday, every fucking day is someone’s birthday. Everyday someone is getting a present. Why the fuck is it that silly ass game companies hoard all of the games into Q4 still.

Wal-Mart already has Christmas stuff out just in case your scarred in 3 fucking months you wont be ready. I go 6 months without a new game, I get MetPri3 and now I get 10 games worth playing. I flip trough the pages. October, November, early December. I HAD time to play games earlier in the year and now you hit me with all of these at once. Like if it came out 3 months ago it would not be good enough to buy as a Christmas present.

Sure my birthday is in November so I have no big problems except which of the 10 games do I really want. Is my job going to pay me more this time of year? Am I going to get more time off this time of year? NO!!!

The game industries trends are wearing on me pretty bad at the moment. The film industry does it too. I have monthly extra money, not Q4 extra super money.

And if you want to say something about Metroid Prime 3’s early release, they let it out early for one reason. Halo 3.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2007 1:10 pm

    I KNOW!! Don’t you hate that?!?

    Happily, I have a solution for this “flood”: build a “dam”! Here’s how: avoid the temptation to get ANY of the games announced, wait until months later, and buy them from the “used” bargain bin, one at a time!

    It still puzzles me how the entertainment industry still doesn’t “get it”… they keep complaining that they are losing revenue in all fronts (movies, gaming, music, etc.), and yet they do not change their marketing “strategy” of releasing the bulk of their products all at once! They cannibalize themselves, I’m telling ya…

    I’m REALLY happy that I waited this long to get a 360… now I can get gems like Viva Piñata (no joke there) for a merely $17.50 instead of paying $50 for a brand-new MySims.

  2. September 28, 2007 5:20 pm

    Y’know, having a PS3 pretty much obliterated the concern over the Wii drought for me. I honestly haven’t paid it any mind all summer. And now, i can’t say i’m too estatic over most of these games because my gaming choices have opened up and doubled. But it also helps me be more picky with what i get, which is good and bad. On the one side, if i blast through Mario Galaxy or Metroid Prime (whenever i get it) really quickly, i have Warhawk to go back to, or Skate, which i just recently bought. Or i can mix and match them so they all last a while. On the other hand, i won’t have enough cash to get everything i want from one system.

    Basically i’m saying that it’s a great time to be a dual platform owner, because i don’t see much to get worked up about in Wii’s Q4 array. Not enough quality in all that quantity for my tastes. Friz, if you’re still pondering about an HD system, i suggest you make that plunge. You won’t regret it. Your wife might, though.

    God willing, Smash Bros will get online, cause they’ve been dangling that carrot in front of us forever now. We need some confirmation, damnit.

  3. October 1, 2007 5:26 pm

    I heard Lucas from Mother 3 was going to be in it…

  4. October 1, 2007 5:30 pm

    That’d probably be exciting if i had played Mother 3.

  5. October 1, 2007 6:10 pm

    Earthbound 3 AKA Mother 3 would kick ass in the states. I remember being one of the only kids on my block who knew who Ness was in SSB.

Leave a Reply

