Skip to content

Finally! DVD Playback on the Wii

August 19, 2007
by

wii dvd

Or not.. A group called Team Symbiote has figured out how to get the Wii to play DVD’s. Sounds great right? Well first of all you need a modded Wii, and even then you have to run a boot CD first to enable the DVD playback. But the question that comes up is of course, why doesn’t Nintendo just turn on this feature themselves? Gizmondo speculates it’s because Nintendo doesn’t want to pay licensing fees. I’ll give it a try just to see if it works. If it does, that gives me a total of 5 DVD playing devices in the home.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2007 10:23 pm

    That would make life easier for my current set up. But things change.

  2. August 20, 2007 11:10 am

    If it weren’t for the PS3, i’d have no DVD player. Having it with my Wii woulda been real convenient about 2 months ago.

  3. August 20, 2007 11:41 am

    I suspect another important reason is that using a console as a DVD player on a regular basis tends to shorten drastically the life of its servo motor…

    I’ll check out later where I read this, but I’ve heard about it more than once! Given the way Nintendo has cut production costs on Wii, I imagine its disc playing device is not the sturdiest.

  4. August 20, 2007 8:56 pm

    I just read something about that relating to this story. Team Symbiote says that doing this wears down the lens much quicker than normal.

  5. August 21, 2007 2:07 am

    why doesn’t Nintendo just turn on this feature themselves? […] If it does, that gives me a total of 5 DVD playing devices in the home.

    You answered your own question. Why should Nintendo pay licensing fees so that people would have a fifth DVD player? Seems like a waste of money to me.

  6. August 21, 2007 12:16 pm

    Because of not-as-rare-as-you’d-like-to-believe convenience factor expressed in my first comment. The fact that people have 5 DVD players proves Nintendo could capitalize on the consumer desire to do two things in one. People may have 5 DVD players in their home, but how many would love to have it in their already-connected Wii so they don’t have to swap cables out all the time to switch from game playing to movie watching? All of them, that’s how many.

    Everyone wants an all-in-one; gaming and DVDs are side by side in the home entertainment space, therefore it’s only natural for a gaming console to offer such a thing as movie playback. It’s a simple matter of convenience that Nintendo can’t afford because their parts wouldn’t outlast the warranties if you had to play more than their own kind of discs, and then you’d probably have another 360 situation.

  7. August 21, 2007 1:15 pm

    Another reason, related to what Rollin mentioned, is that many people have older TVs that only support one or two component video inputs (yeah, and some other people have even older TVs that don’t even have A/V inputs, but that’s another issue). These people would love to unplug their DVD player so they can have their Wii and PS3 permanently connected to the TV the proper way!

    I have a similar problem with my HDTV’s HDMI input: it only has one! As soon as I get an Xbox 360 or a PS3, I’m going to have to buy a $200 switcher box so I don’t have to plug and unplug the jacks of my console and my cable box!

  8. daymo11 permalink
    August 25, 2007 2:33 am

    That’s drool, right?

  9. January 15, 2009 10:59 pm

    I looked around forever to find a way for my Wii to play DVDs. My wife hated all the clutter around our TV, so she wanted just the Wii sitting there – but it wouldn’t play a DVD. After all my digging and research, I decided to review the best products for Wii DVD playback at this website:

    http://WiiDVDHack.com

    There is a lot of crappy info out there, and you should avoid it at all costs. On my site I give the top 3 products that get your Wii to play DVDs. Plus they add some really cool bonus features to the Wii – like free game downloads.

    Hope this helps somebody!

Leave a Reply

