Skip to content

The Great Betrayal

July 24, 2007
by

shoot this man

Up for a great read? How about a heaping helping of blogging brilliance, courtesy of Citizen Game‘s Nerfgun. And not just cause he namedropped us, either. No, the man can write; and he had me rollin’. Lucky for him that happens to be my birthname, so he gets the Daily Double!

*ding!*

*applause*

Thanks, Al.

In his piece, NG dons his best walking shoes, puts our legs on his shoulders and goes missionary on us, detailing the sentiments felt by you, me, and the majority of long-time Nintendo fans everywhere — you’re barking up the wrong, unnecessary, soon-to-be-chopped tree, Nintendo.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2007 11:47 am

    Yep, nerfgun‘s article tells it like it is! A brilliant piece of honest confession.

    Over at Infendo and other fan sites, bloggers keep trumpeting Nintendo’s sales as proof that that’s where the fun is at. But Wii is NOT the gaming console that gaming veterans were waiting for. The games we are looking forward on Wii could have just as easily being launched for the GameCube with very little modifications.

    What I think is most soul-bearing in nerfgun’s piece is the realization that we are NOT casual gamers. We can be sometimes, but deep inside, we follow video games because we crave living inside them for a while. Casual gamers are the exact opposite, and they need their own gadget. Hence the Wii.

    So, where does Nintendo stand with traditional gamers? Is DS Nintendo’s answer to immersive, “hardcore” gaming? It seems that way to me… Honestly, I have very little home-time to play on a console these days, ANY console. Most of my gaming is done on the run, and the most immersive games I play have to work on a pocket-sized gizmo. So, I’m a DS man now. Is that what Nintendo expects from us?

  2. July 24, 2007 8:55 pm

    If we don’t chop the tree down, the least we can do is piss on it until it does meet the saw mill.

    I am as much as a casual gamer as I am a casual reader. When I read a book, i get into it, live it, reflect upon it. Video games should be no different. I read comics to have a good time as I play Excite Truck to have a great time.

    All the fun and excitement is happening on the other consoles while I debate plucking nose hairs in Wario Ware or playing an fulfilling round of bowling.

    Fuck it, I’ll just make another Mii and watch Kill Bill instead.

  3. July 25, 2007 12:52 pm

    Ah! So it was from Kill Bill 2!!

  4. July 25, 2007 3:32 pm

    Guilty

Leave a Reply

