Skip to content

Nintendo + Friendster = wha-huh?

July 8, 2007
by

So I have a friendster account right? You know friendster. It was the de facto social networking service before Myspace came along and pwned the market. At one point Google tried to buy friendster but was rebuffed, and I’ve always wondered how they managed to make ends meet since then. Not quite sure how they managed up to this point, but I just found out that there’s definitely some money trickling in from Nintendo.

See I was looking to customize my page a bit and edit my profile and whatnot, when I stumbled upon friendster’s customizable Nintendo skins. That’s right kids, you too can have a friendster page that doubles as marketing material for Wii, Legend of Zelda, Paper Mario, SSX:Blur, or even tiger Woods 2007. The Zelda skin in particular looks like it ought to be a paid ad.

I wonder how much Friendster is making off of this, and why Nintendo chose friendster in particular as the social networking service to work with. There are lots more new and growing social networking sites like the child molester plagued Myspace, Facebook, and miniblogging web apps like twitter and jaiku.  From a marketing standpoint, it just doesn’t make that much sense to be courting Friendster, unless of course they’re doing this to target a specific region.  I can say for a fact that Friendster is still the gold standard when it comes to social networking sites in the Philippines, so maybe they’re doing this to prepare for a regional Wii release?

Who knows, maybe they’re already in negotiations with plenty other social networking sites across the internets. Anybody else noticed weird Nintendo marketing invading their social networks?

Note:I’m gonna keep that customized Wii skin for just a few days so people can check it out, but I’m gonna take it down in a week or so, cause unless Nintendo starts paying me to market their shit, I ain’t keeping that up.

Update: This runs even deeper that I thought. Wii actually has it’s own friendster profile, complete with a set of “friends”. ‘I’ll try to friend Wii and see if anything crazy happens.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2007 7:49 pm

    Actually, Wii’s had its own MySpace profile since probably before launch. I saw it last year. Nintendo’s doing tons of marketing that most don’t know about, hence the situation we’re currently in where Nintendo gets credit for Wii “selling itself”, when it’s their marketing department doing all the work.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if come this fiscal year’s end, Nintendo’s barely in the black/green from all their money going into advertising.

  2. July 9, 2007 5:30 am

    I’m using the Zelda skin on Myspace with a modified CSS code to remove the ‘Legend of Zelda’ images.

  3. July 9, 2007 3:59 pm

    Legend of Zelda skin without Legend of Zelda images?? How does that work??

    Anyway, if you are not a friend of Wii, you are an enemy of Wii…

  4. August 31, 2008 11:06 pm

    Good day!,

Leave a Reply

