Skip to content

Ragnarok DS announced

July 6, 2007
by

 

I’m digging it, kids, I really am.  I signed up to play the Ragnarok beta when it first came out here in the Philippines but eventually quit it to focus on getting a “normal” social life.  So while my pals in RO were getting “married” to their “significant others” I was out in the real world getting laid. Truth.  I still wanted to play, but I just didn’t have the time to do the level grinding my less than socially able friends were doing (I later learned that they hired gold farmers in China to do their dirty work, but I’m too cheap for that) so I had an epiphany.  What if there was some way I could legitimately level up while I was on the go, then have that transferred onto my PC account when I logged on?  My first idea, since I was still in the mobile game development biz, was to make a minigame on the cellphone that would reward you with experience/items/gold for every game that you finished.  This would mean I could still have that social life but at the same time do my level grinding while on the long commute.  It was brilliant, but I never acted on it.  Which is why I write for Intendo.  And make no money.  But that’s another story.

Ragnarok on the DS, if done right, solves the problem of transferring information beautifully.  I imagine a game that would allow you to play single player mode as simple level grinding, going on quests, meeting NPCs, etc.  basically everything you have in the regular game without all the other players.  Then when you you’re at a wifi hotspot you could logo on to the Ragnarok server and chill out with your guildmates and finish some larger quests or something.  I’m not saying they’ll do this, but that’s the way it should be done.

Ragnarok’s 2D graphics are also a good fit for the DS, which shouldn’t have a hard time (except when there are maybe a hundred people on the screen at the same time?) rendering the cutesy Korean Knights and Mages and Archers onscreen.  The touchscreen could also be used as an “always on” inventory screen, allow you instant access to healing potions and such.

This game is probably yers way from completion, but I think about all the things they could do with it and I’m legitimately excited.  If you could throw in some location based gameplay as well, ala Plundr, you might have one of the most exciting games to look forward to…in Korea.

Original article here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2007 3:32 pm

    Wait a minute…!

    Is Maple Story on DS already??

  2. July 6, 2007 6:19 pm

    I think so…in Korea.

  3. July 15, 2007 7:40 pm

    An MMO on DS? Sounds cool.

  4. July 15, 2007 11:19 pm

    If they can pull it off properly.

  5. July 16, 2007 12:34 am

    I’d jizz all over those screens if they can pull off a DS MMO well.

  6. March 7, 2009 12:25 pm

    Interesting site, i have bookmarked your blog for future referrence 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tet Mizuguchi bringing free m’morpeg to PS3 « Warcadia

Leave a Reply

