Skip to content

Trifecta: Fanboys force Sega to backpedal

June 15, 2007
by

null

Just when i was starting to admire Sega and Scott Steinberg for what he said earlier, he gets pressured into damage control mode. I looove how the industry works.

For this 3rd straight post on the topic today, here’s Scott “Puss” Steinberg:

SEGA has fully supported the Wii since day one and we continue to do so – it’s no secret that we are close partners. Nintendo has done a masterful job of selling its vision and expanding the market. That said, it’s a shared responsibility and opportunity for the whole industry to take advantage of the possibilities of the Wii. If we don’t realize its true potential, we will have missed a great opportunity to expand creatively and that is what I was cautioning against in the Reuters interview. I’m not just putting the responsibility of innovation on Nintendo. It’s on SEGA and all the publishers and developers as well to carry that flag.

Damn, Scott — ease up. My cavities can’t take all those coats of sugar.

Kotaku’s Brian Crecente shares my brainspace:

Unlike Luke, I didn’t think Scott Steinberg’s comments to Reuters about the unsustainability of the Wii were “fucking, needlessly nuts.” In fact, I sort of agree with them.

I’ve been saying since the console launched that I don’t think it has yet proved itself and I haven’t changed my mind. In fact, I think Sega’s Steinberg hit the nail on the head when he publicly worried over the chance, the really good chance that Wii games will, in a handful of years, all become painfully derivative.

Brian ends the post by saying this move has caused him to lose some more Sega respect. Who’s riding shotgun on that boat?

Reuters via Kotaku

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2007 4:48 am

    I love how everyone form EA to Ubisoft are kissing Nintendo’s ass.

    They need to stop kissing their ass and start making games worth a damn.

  2. June 16, 2007 1:41 pm

    You know how these corporate fucks are..

Leave a Reply

