Skip to content

If you want Wii games targeted at an adult audience, speak up!

June 14, 2007
by


The above image was taken WITH PERMISSION from M Patrizio’s Photostream.

Masashi Tsuboyama is the chief designer of Silent Hill series. In a recent interview with Electric Shock Magazine, he shared some of his thoughts regarding which of the next-gen consoles Silent Hill 5 would be best suited for. If you read between the lines, it’s obvious that he is currently leaning towards the PS3 but is considering reaching out to the other consoles to supplement the relatively small install base of Sony’s newest console. Masashi even goes so far as to state that the Xbox 360 is “definitely a candidate.” The main (if not only) thing holding him back appears to be the 360’s poor sales in Japan. When discussing the prospect of bringing Silent Hill to the Wii, he had this to say:

“…Nintendo Wii sales are very high, and i applaude Nintendo for their sucess, I dont think Silent Hill is a game that would be sold on Nintendo Wii as much as a game like Zelda would worldwide. This by no means says we will not consider the idea but the general opinion is that Wii is for family games and im sure the fans don’t play Silent Hill with their grandma![sic]”

Say WHAT!? There’s only one reason that this game shouldn’t be released on the Wii and that’s because it was not designed with the Wiimote/Nunchuk in mind. It is my belief that the Wii should be used to create new gaming experiences with its unique control scheme as well as re-invent (NOT PORT) some of our old favorites. Not to be a family-only mini-game machine! I, for one, demand the inclusion of adult content on my Wii. Now, I’m not saying I want to wear my Wiimote like a Strap-on but I certainly don’t want the Wii to miss out on great games with darker atmosphere just because of its family-friendly image.

How many of you would like to see more games for adults on the Wii?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2007 10:15 pm

    I think this is a case where nintendo’s family friendly stance has kicked them in the ass.

  2. June 14, 2007 10:17 pm

    ^hello, mr. obvious.

  3. frisby permalink
    June 14, 2007 10:18 pm

    Bastards!!!! I am starting a 360 fund for myself next paycheck.

    Damn this is lame.

  4. June 15, 2007 12:25 pm

    (I already started my 360 fund, friz… I’m getting one by the time Halo 3 launches!)

    Anyway, I think Mr. Tsuboyama’s complaints are not valid: he can put all the adult content he wants on Wii’s version of Silent Hill 5, as long as he throws in some mini-games for my mom to play with!

  5. MuffinGal permalink
    June 15, 2007 1:22 pm

    I think it’s a cop-out when a developer says that Wii (or most Nintendo consoles) is for family fun or youngins. It’s all a matter of dollar and sense. They don’t want to spend the time and money developing a product that may have weak sales.

    Nintendo needs to be wining and dining more mature gaming to satisfy the desires of all the people who have an interest in their products. I can not see how Silent Hill in not in the same league as Resident Evil.

    To be honest, I could give a rat’s ass if it implemented Wii controls. I wouldn’t care if I had to plug my spice gamecube controller in to play. Make a good game, and people will come.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    June 15, 2007 3:01 pm

    I think Mario Party deserves the adult treatment. You play as Mario and do lines of coke, get drunk and punch Luigi in the face with the nunchuck cause Mario believes he stole the limelight in Luigi’s Mansion (yes, I know it was Luigi’s game but Mario would be drunk and high right now).

    NOW THAT’S A GAME.

  7. June 16, 2007 5:33 am

    That sounds like the raciest thing ever!!!

    Video game companies still hide the crazy lives of their stars like the movie biz in the 40’s

    If VG characters got unions, Peach would be the Lindsey Lohan of Nintendo.

  8. June 16, 2007 1:49 pm

    Ha. So true. Can you imagine?

    Jak Hudson: “Daxter, try to keep our romance a secret, ‘kay?”
    Daxter Grant: “Ju-dy, Ju-dy, Ju-dy!”

  9. June 17, 2007 10:57 am

    …and the trend that was started when we got the uncensored Mortal Kombat II on SNES seems to finally have come to an end.

  10. Kyle permalink
    November 26, 2007 11:22 pm

    I bought me wii and am currently extremely disappointed in my choice for exactly this reason. The only good games on the wii are zelda and the mario sports games. Pisses me off.

  11. Spanky permalink
    December 9, 2007 10:27 am

    It’s about time that we had games that are not just about about dark, disturbing subject matter, killing or driving fast and blowing stuff up. How is healthy sexual content any more controversial than the disturbed images of something like Silent Hill, or any other games currently on the market? How about some fun adult sex games about stuff we do in real life, like actually have sex, or try to have sex, or meet partners to have sex with? We need some games that encompass a wider spectrum of the human experience, and may help get the computer geeks of the world laid.

  12. frisby permalink
    December 9, 2007 4:31 pm

    remind me not to borrow your Wii controller.

  13. December 10, 2007 12:26 pm

    I can’t wait for the “Wii codpiece” to come out! With force feedback, of course!!

  14. CriticalDesign permalink
    December 28, 2007 11:06 pm

    Aw man, I can’t believe they said that about Nintendo.

    They seriously need to put some more adult-themed games on the Wii.

  15. Rondo permalink
    January 2, 2008 7:02 pm

    Ive been a nintendo player since they came on the market. It seems that all the best games are made for the Xbox-360. Its time for nintendo to step up and put out some games rated (A). Eternal Darkness , Sanity’s Requiem was a decent game on the game cube and they need to put out more for the Wii before I end up going over to the xbox system.

  16. deadbody permalink
    January 4, 2008 8:03 pm

    i want a adult game with the playability of snes mario kart hold my breath lol

  17. deadbody permalink
    January 4, 2008 8:08 pm

    no answer ps3 sucks your dxxxs and shits you out. no im just bored soz no shite ment

  18. Jason permalink
    January 31, 2008 2:17 am

    As hard as adult games are hard to come by on the Wii, most of them are of exceptional quality. Of course, the more the merrier!!

    Well, if Konami had decided not to develop Silent Hill for the Wii due to its hardware limitation, I have no argument because they are merely stating a fact. At most, I would just sulk and hope that they would release a toned-down version someday. However, stereotyping the machine as “family-based” due to their own narrow-minded perception is definitely the most uncool excuse they could give.

    Control is not a problem from what I see. No Wii game is obliged to use the motion-sensing features. For most who don’t know, the Nunchuk-Wiimote can support a conventional control scheme, albeit with less buttons and a missing left D-pad. And motion sensing does not necessarily mean tracking the controllers in any dimensions. A simple shake is usually enough and intuitive for actions such as reloading or struggling out of tight situations. And don’t forget the pointing-capabilities, which is a different issue from motion-sensing. It has proved to be extremely intuitive in Resident Evil 4.

    My library of M rated games currently consists of Manhunt 2, RE4, RE:UC and No More Heroes. Others include The Sims Castaway, Metroid Prime, Mario Galaxy, Twilight Princess and Medal of Honor Heroes 2. None have disappointed me (it could be subjective though). Many great-looking games are coming out this year, including Super Smash Bros, Alone in the Dark 5, Obscure Aftermath, Day of Crisis, and recently, Fatal Frame has been confirmed for the Wii (http://wii.ign.com/articles/848/848539p1.html).

    However, the harsh fact remains that many developers are abusing the low development costs of the Wii to create poor-quality games for some quick cash. We just need to be more careful and do a little research before rushing to buy games. Well, that applies to other platforms too, especially on the PC.

    On a final note, many people actually misread ERSB ratings as “For everyone except adults” instead of “For everyone”. They probably spent all of their hard-earned cash on more expensive consoles and have none left to get a pair of glasses. That probably explains why they get the impression that most Wii games are for kiddies.

  19. Scarecrow permalink
    January 31, 2008 8:01 pm

    It’s like this. Nintendo feels that mainstream and family-friendly go hand in hand. They make every attempt to be as clean-cut, processed, packaged, g-rated, and publicly marketable as possible. The problem is…The majority of people who play video games are not 7 year olds who play with their grandma. If you’re into gaming enough to spend 400 dollars on a next gen system, you probably aren’t 7 years old. I didn’t buy a wii for one reason. Super Monkey Ball and Mario are about as gay as games can get.I looked over the selection for each system, and I saw nothing but family-friendly gayness on the “wii” shelf. I will not buy one, because if Prince of Persia is as intense as games for the platform get, I don’t see me playing the system enough to pay that much for it. Whereas, with my PS3, I have games like Assassin’s Creed, Ninja Gaiden, Blacksite, Fear, and I’m waiting in like at Gamestop when Silent Hill and Resident Evil 5 come out. Not releasing these games for the wii is the kind of horrible marketing decision that caused the gamecube to do so poorly. Yeah, Silent Hill is violent and distrubing. Fortunately, we were blessed with the ability not to buy any games we don’t want to. But not realeasing the game because some audiences would not enjoy it while leaving the majority of gamers out of the equation is about as stupid as you can get. I hope nintendo’s sales plumet until they go bankrupt. Hopefully Darwin’s survival of the fittest law applies to video game manufacturers as well. If I were the owner of nintendo, I’d fire my entire staff and hire people who weren’t complete idoits hell-bent on making shitty games.

  20. carlos permalink
    February 26, 2008 2:14 am

    Yeah, only family games for nintendo such as:

    Resident Evil
    Alon in the Dark
    Bully
    Deadly creatures

    So there aren’t that many games on the Wii with blood and gore and hooker killing. So what? That doesn’t mean their games aren’t great. Their games are enjoyable to all, not just 7 year olds that play with their grandma.

    Oh, and I’m pretty sure plenty of 7 year olds have PS3s. How’d they get the money to buy a PS3? THEIR PARENTS! DRUG SALES! CHILD PROSTITUTION. Those last two: maybe not so much.

    So if you think that Wii games suck, that’s your deal (and you’re missing out IMO).

    So adult games? Bring it on. Qualaty games? Even better. If you want gory games for Wii, they’re out there, and some are coming. If you want quality games for the Wii, they’ve been around with more of them to come.

    BTW, I don’t hate Microsoft, Sony or Nintendo outright. The truth is that they’re all making good systems, and none of those companies are gonna loose out enough to become bankrupt. The most scathed seems to be sony, but with the headway Blu-Ray’s been making, I dont think they have to worry verry longer.

    WHATEVER! I’m gonna go play my SNES emulator. That’s system was the shit, hands down.

  21. May 2, 2008 6:09 am

    Exactly. I’m in agreement with most of the commenters here.

    However, with the recent release of GTA IV for the PS3 and XBOX 360, I have been wondering why the GTA series couldn’t be ported over (albeit with sizable graphic downgrading). It’s an excellent adult game and Rockstar has already provided several of their games to the Nintendo franchise already (case in point, Bully: Schoarship Edition). Then again, with the inevitable PSP version of the GTA IV (with the portable console’s similar graphics processing power as compared the Wii), perhaps an eventual GTA IV Wii Edition isn’t out of the question.

    http://www.patricksoon.blogspot.com

  22. May 2, 2008 12:42 pm

    Hey Patrick. Thanks for contributing.

    I just got GTA IV yesterday, and i can’t even see a PSP version happening. The game is just too massive. It barely runs as well it does as it is on the PS3/360. PSP has never gotten a straight GTA game, only the “Stories” side games, and one of those was ported up to PS2. Maybe of one those will happen and can go to Wii, though i’m stuck as to what the name could be. IV Stories?

    On the other side, i don’t see Nintendo ever being open enough to have a non-watered down GTA game on any system of theirs. Regardless of Manhunt, GTA is the most chaotic and morally reprehensible game out there, which is what makes it so good. Manhunt just deals with killing people brutally, and Manhunt 2 was censored for Wii audiences. But GTA has many more possibilities when it comes to killing, and the reasons for those killings (drugs, money, general hate, sex, etc.).

    And Bully was like a teenager’s GTA, but without the worst parts. It was mischief to GTA’s anarchy. I think that comparison can safely be made with GTA and any other Rockstar title. GTA is “the social event of the year” for a reason.

    GTA on Nintendo systems, for me, is out of the question.

  23. Kel permalink
    December 14, 2008 10:04 am

    i dont see why Wii concentrates on family games, every console should have equal choice, I like platform games but love dirty gritty games like resident evil, manhunt etc

    Id also F***ing love to see GTA on the wii

  24. dudy permalink
    January 20, 2009 7:37 pm

    I want more nudity from wii players. I play mine nude all the time, and it makes any game better. I love the vibrate feature.

  25. Paul Jr. permalink
    April 3, 2011 12:28 am

    Well I bought my WII because of my injuriries caused by a vehicle accident which put me into a wheelchair, although not paralized I sustained serious enough head injuries to make my non-prodominant arm function needing BOTOX to make it better. I must say I was never a Nintendo fan because of the type of games this system focused on so much.I liked the PS2 system because it was more adult oriented and wasn’t geared towards children so to speak of. But with my injuries I sustained I highly recommend the WII because no matter how bad you feel about yourself this WII will make you feel more useful “unlike the many other systems that don’t let you feel like you could get back what you once had”. I highly recommend the WII and would suggest the WII make make some kind of adult oriented games geared towards the older crowd but it dosn’t bother me because I chose this system for what it was and accept for what it is too. So thank you WII for making a system for rehabilitation that gets used in Westlock daysupport and the The Centenial Center in Ponoka, Alberta Canada.

  26. June 7, 2011 2:16 pm

    Paul, thanks for your contribution. We tend to speak from the perspective of non-disabled persons, but i feel your situation. I think that for people with special needs, Wii is a great platform as it is probably the only one with single-handed options. I always lauded it for it bridging the gap between the southpaws of the world, too. But what we mainly criticize is the software, not the hardware. No matter the number of usable hands one has, their games get old pretty fast.

Leave a Reply

