Skip to content

Join the Club! Ohhh Wait. You Can’t. Sorry.

June 6, 2007
by

Club Nintendo Logo? tissueClub Nintendo Logo

Club Nintendo is something that not everyone is aware of, but does annoy most who are. This exclusive club is only available in Japan. They every so often have unique swag that you can’t buy in a shop, as well as some standard items you trade for points you get with your games. Swag includes special controllers, a Wii-mote that is actually a TV remote, card games, colour stylus touch pen sets, CD’s, etc etc.

It’s not clear why Nintendo hasn’t introduced this service to North America. Not enough people have complained? They want to keep it regionally exclusive? Nobody cares? Every once in a while someone shows an exclusive item that has come out of CN, and fanboys pout and make scrunchy faces. I was a bit late to the party, and missed out on getting a Wii-mote battery cover with my personal Mii engraved on it. Well that or Tingle’s Balloon Flight for the DS. Guess which one I would have chose?

The reason I missed out on these bonus items, is simply due to my complacency. Every time you buy a Nintendo game in Japan you get a little piece of paper with a Club Nintendo logo and a code. I normally just ignored them and tucked them under the instruction book. Then the day I opened my Wii, my wife picked up the little Club Nintendo leaflet and asked me why I hadn’t joined.

I wasn’t really concerned with that at the moment. I had a new console to set up and some Zelda to play. The next day we set up an account, and I went through all my Gamecube, DS, and Wii game boxes pulling out those little leaflets with the blue type and yellow borders. Turned out to be quite the stack, and I briefly thought to myself that I had spent way too much money on video games over the years. I even found I could get points for buying virtual console games by inputting my Club Nintendo user name and password.

It took a while to enter all the codes, and a few of them had expired, but when we were done I had a pretty good amount of points. Enough to get a DS carry case shaped like Mario’s hat, a Mario Kart touch pen, and two notebooks featuring Mario and Link.

Mario hat caseMario Kart touch penMario and Link Notebook

My DS fat barely fits into the cap, despite it being intended for older DS’s. The touch pen is actually pretty useful since the little ones hurt my fingers. The notebooks I’ll likely never end up using as I don’t want to mess them up with my chicken scratch, and have yet another half full notebook full of useless scribbles laying about. I went over to ebay briefly, but didn’t see anyone offering the junk I chose. But there were several copies of Tingle’s Balloon Flight averaging about 33 USD! Head on over and tickle your Tingle. If your already bored of Touch the Dead that is. mooo

Featured at the moment to celebrate the release of Harvest Moon for the Wii, Club Nintendo members who have reached 1000 points can receive a stuffed cow. Moooo. Shame I’m just short. Ah well, I’ll have to score the next special offer!

Head over to Club Nintendo and blindly click around a bit. Which free junk would you choose?

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. frisby permalink
    June 6, 2007 8:28 am

    Yeah, 3 free issues of NP is pretty effin weak.

    Thats about all us cracker Americans get from Nintendo.

  2. June 6, 2007 10:03 am

    I don’t get it: Can U.S. citizens join Club Nintendo in Japan??

    I have a Nintendo.com account, where I register all my games and hardware… and as Friz pointed out, all I get is 3 free issues of Nintendo Power. Once. Oh, and I got a free pink stylus when I registered Kirby Canvas Curse, and a free official guidebook for Final Fantasy IV Advance, but that’s about it!

  3. June 7, 2007 1:14 am

    What Bill is doing here is rubbing in his Japanese residency. You can’t join the Club from the States.

  4. MuffinGal permalink
    June 7, 2007 12:58 pm

    Not for nothing, check on eBay. I brought the Mario Hat case there.

  5. frisby permalink
    June 7, 2007 7:18 pm

    Can i get a p.o. box in Japan. ehhh. I bet you have to activste Jap versions.

Leave a Reply

