Skip to content

RE Wii’s graphical leaps

June 5, 2007
by

Click here to see a comparison video of RE4 on the Cube to its Wii port. Night and day, i swear.

This console could be the first whose hardware is prettier than its software.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. frisby permalink
    June 5, 2007 10:03 pm

    I seriously could not tell the difference. Thats PATHETIC!!!

  2. Bill permalink
    June 6, 2007 7:53 am

    I played a little bit of the PC version. It was crisp and looked very good, but lost some of the charm that the console grainyness gives the game. Like to see some footage of the GC, Wii, PC , and PS2 versions all running the same scene.

    I think I’ll run the GC and Wii ones at home too and see if I can spot any difference. I really don’t imagine I will, and defiantly didn’t see any difference in that video.

  3. June 6, 2007 9:50 am

    I don’t get it: of course we can’t spot any differences! Both are using the same graphic engine! The difference between Wii’s graphic card and GC’s, from what I have read, is only in its processing speed, and since the game wouldn’t add any textures or poly count, there wouldn’t be any difference to spot.

    HOWEVER, I don’t know if any of you spotted this difference in content: near the end, when Leo is attacked by the chainsaw-yielding maniac, he is decapitated in the GameCube version, while he is only “mortally wounded” on the neck in the Wii version! Is this true?? Did Capcom “clean up” RE4 on the Wii version?? I swear, if they did that, and there’s no “parental control” to turn the cleaning up off, I’ll be sorely dissappointed! Heck, I won’t even buy the game (again) if that’s the case!

    Can someone confirm that?

  4. June 7, 2007 1:12 am

    The complaint here would be the effort level, i-man.

    Chainsaws both wound and decapitate in the Cube version.

  5. June 7, 2007 1:40 am

    I-man: It’s been confirmed that the violence will be there in the Wii version. You weren’t the first one to notice teh apprent clean up though.

  6. June 7, 2007 1:24 pm

    Ah, thank goodness! I thought Nintendo was going to pull a Blockbuster move on us! (Blockbuster used to demand an R-rated version of all the NC-17 movies from the studios, and they would NOT warn you that their version was different from the one in the theaters!)

Leave a Reply

