Skip to content

The Death of Nintendo Power?

May 20, 2007
by

retro Nintendo Power

I suppose that many of you have already heard about the rumor that Nintendo’s own magazine, Nintendo Power, may well be ending soon. Is this an inevitable result of print no longer be viable, or does Nintendo have other plans? The timing does seem odd considering that Nintendo is doing better than ever, and a magazine published by themselves just serves that purpose even more. Some have speculated that Nintendo may have been wanting to kill off the publication for years, but needed it to spread the good word, as not many other publications were doing it for them. Perhaps it is just as simple as the magazine no longer having enough subscribers, and not being profitable as it needs to be.

So if this is true, do you care? I don’t as I don’t read the magazine personally. But I enjoy reading gaming magazines, and I feel I get something different from them (while on the can) than I do from reading news on a website. So I can understand if a long time subscriber would miss the magazine. Even if it was basically a glorified ad for Nintendo.

Again, IF it’s true, what could come next? A new service similar Club Nintendo that we enjoy here in Japan? (Remind me to show off the cool junk I have gotten from Club Nintendo) Perhaps a Nintendo Power Wii channel or website? That almost makes sense. Use Nintendo points to subscribe to the Nintendo Power channel! What do you think? Would it be the end of an era, or a collective “meh”?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. frisby permalink
    May 20, 2007 1:48 pm

    As a subscriber to the Nintendo power mag for 2+ years I would be a little disappointed if not for the flaws of it as well any mag of its time.

    The problem with NP is the ancient staff who for some reason loves some really lame games. They write about some lame ass games that I could never relate to but they somehow do being double my age and some change. Leads me to believe they don’t play them and thus killing their credibility.

    I have no staff writers that I care about at NP. When I read PSM, I held one or two writers reviews seriously. I don’t really care what these guys say now because I already don’t believe they play all of the games.

    The stories are always late. The age of the internet is killing print. If the writing staff thats been doing it for damn near 20 years is lame, move them somewhere else.

    I would rather see Nintendo bring on a whole new staff before deciding to Kill NP. I still miss the toilet readings of PSM, but I don’t really care to hear about the PS3 or how the writers covet the DS and Wii.

    In the end I would miss NP. I like getting something in the mail other than bills and its still nice to have something to scan trough on the toilet. Sometimes reading a book or playing a game is too involved.

  2. May 21, 2007 8:08 am

    I’ve been subscribed to NP for only a little over a year. I avoided it for the longest time because I saw it simply as a mag-sized collection of ads for Nintendo products. But lately they had been adding valuable content to their magazine, stuff related to games we already have that contain tips you couldn’t find anywhere else.

    So, while I wouldn’t have given a second thought about its dismissal in years past, I would be sad to see them go now! The timing would be strange also, given that (without having solid figures) it seems that their subscriber base would have increased considerable now that there are so many more consumers of Nintendo products today…

  3. MuffinGal permalink
    May 23, 2007 9:46 am

    I have been a subscriber since they had the Zelda game package a few years back. Although I do not read all the articles, it is a breath of fresh air for me to peruse a magazine after a day sitting in front of a PC.

    Besides, it’s hard to bring a laptop everywhere you go!

  4. May 23, 2007 12:54 pm

    Hey! It’s MuffinGal!!

    How you doin’?? Long time no write!

  5. May 24, 2007 8:02 pm

    Wonder when OXM will die.

  6. May 28, 2007 1:24 pm

    OXM? I give that mag about one more year… Their only hook was the monthly CD with game demos. Now you can get all your demos through LIVE, and all your reviews through the internet, so we don’t need that one anymore.

  7. MuffinGal permalink
    May 31, 2007 11:42 am

    Hey, InvisibleMan!! I have been working in a coal mine. Plus I must hate myself because I was playing Hotel Dull. At least it put me to sleep at night.

    May have cured my insomnia! ::winking::

  8. May 31, 2007 2:52 pm

    A coal mine?!?

    Did you bring your DS Lite along to find your way around in the dark?

    😉

Leave a Reply

