Skip to content

MetPri3 Better Kick ass on WiFi

May 11, 2007

metroid-prime-3-corruption-20060920055339872.jpg

Metroid Prime – Brought Metrid to 3-d. If I had to choose the best game on Game Cube it would be a Tie with RE4. I loved the NES version and this is Metroids Ocarina of Time.

Metroid Prime 2 – Echos. Lets just keep the Zelda comparison going. This is Metroid’s Majora’s Mask. I’m half way through it and it rocks. No where near MP quality, but it is an amazing game.

MetPri2 had one feature that would have been amazing…if it was on Xbox. The multiplayer mode was great…at disappointing us. With problems like Goldeneye splitscreen and the fact that you can’t point and move at the same time, this ‘extra’ was just an afterthought to the overall game. No online either (like many Cube games where online)

So Retro can’t make a Halo clone…oh well neither can Sony. So they get to work on the third installment and another team is picked for the DS installment. We get a pretty cool game and a nice Skype alternative in MetPri: Hunters. Hell, I never even played 3 levels of that game. I was always online. ALWAYS.
For months Rollin was having night terrors about a morphball coming at his head. The words FRiSBY floating over the ball letting him know what he was up against.. He gets on a ledge and somehow this FRiSBY can do the triple bomb jump so fast he dies before he can even tape the missile button. Awwwwww.

The game worked because it was your typical FPS…and you could move and shoot at the same time!!!!

Honestly, the game was Unreal 98 with morphballs. They introduced all kinds of bounty hunters to mix up the game and the levels where actually pretty good considering they had less polys than a Space Pirate on the Cube version.

Retro NEEDS this game to be a great single player adventure. Retro NEEDS to either do multiplayer right, or not at all. I don’t see how a Gears of War Co-op would work on Metroid, but if they can pull it off, DO IT! I NEED to beat MetPri2: Echos before it comes out. My Wii is tired of playing Punchout!

Go balls deep Retro, or Reggie will show where the library is. (Dodgeball joke…in case you dont get it. ?Dónde esta la biblioteca? )

trail_landing_r1c3.jpg

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2007 5:25 am

    It’s Donde, not Dande

  2. May 11, 2007 9:45 am

    (Actually, it’s “Dónde“, but I’m getting too technical here…)

    I wonder if Nintendo can pull off a MP: Hunters on Wii, given the connectivity/bandwidth issues…

    And, doesn’t Reggie’s bulge look monstrous in that picture?? (Obviously fake… I hope.)

  3. May 11, 2007 10:40 am

    I guess 4 years of Spanish starting 10 years ago did not serve me well. Oh well, I don’t speak English that well either.

  4. May 11, 2007 12:38 pm

    “I wonder if Nintendo can pull off a MP: Hunters on Wii, given the connectivity/bandwidth issues…”

    I would assume yes given the fact that the Wii is supposed to be more powerful than an Xbox. It will hurt since I am sure the Bluetooth Dongles that they started selling for the DS will not be adequate. The WiFi card they run is ‘WiFi 802.11 b/g’ The speed in is in, but I would bet you have to have a nice router and not a dongle.

    But Nitnendo will have to have better servers than they have had in the past. Mario Kart had issues for fucks sake. I am sure THAT is the reason we don’t have a real WiFi game out yet for Wii.

  5. May 11, 2007 12:45 pm

    also…

    https://intendo.wordpress.com/2006/10/03/nintendo-goes-balls-deep/

    Where the Iman/package obsession started.

  6. May 14, 2007 11:38 am

    I knew I had seen that PhotoShopp’ed pic somewhere before..!

    Friz, you brought up precisely what worries me about Wii online games: it’s not the hardware in Wii (which I’m sure is quite sufficient to handle online data processing for even the most intense FPS), but Nintendo’s server infrastructure. Right now, even their website takes an unusual amount of time to connect to from a regular PC (vs., say, the Xbox LIVE site). And if connectivity issues within DS online games are any indication, the service is already at its limits for online games. And we are talking only handhelds! Console online gaming requires far more data to be transmitted really fast for it to work at all! That’s probably why they are starting with the Pokémon Revolution game: since the battles are turn-based, timely data transmission failures are more easily forgiven!

    When I mentioned in another blog that Nintendo should just simply copy the Xbox LIVE service for online gaming, I meant not only the connection protocols, but the hardware infrastructure too!

  7. Bobloblaw permalink
    May 15, 2007 11:21 am

    Yes, I agree! this game really needs multi player to really do well. Though.. while that addition will help its review scores, will fans of Metrold not buy it if it doesn’t have multi play? A lot of people argue that the game’s style doesn’t lend itself to multi player at all. But I feel that if they could come up with something unique to compliment what needs to be a great game, then Metroid could be become the Halo of the Wii. We know the Wii is selling , and bringing new players along with it. We need them to discover these games, and join with the hardcore, so they can come online and let us destroy them!
    Oh and I like the screenshot. I would take great pleasure in having a game on the Wii in which I could shoot you all.

  8. Bill permalink
    May 15, 2007 11:25 am

    oh the above comment was me. Didn’t notice I wasn’t logged in…

  9. May 15, 2007 12:42 pm

    I absolutely would buy Wii’s Metroid Prime even if it didn’t have multiplayer!

    I had great hopes for an effective FPS using Wii’s controller from the time the system was announced as “Revolution”!

    I just hope that Nintendo won’t go “meh… they’ll buy it even if it doesn’t have online multiplayer, so why bother?”

  10. October 7, 2007 6:29 pm

    It didn’t, but I got over it.

  11. Martin permalink
    February 21, 2008 10:25 pm

    I just have to say. Saying that Metroid is a copy of Halo. Is complete BULL!
    the original metroid game released in 1987
    Halo released for the first time ever in 2001!!
    see a problem here with saying Metroid coppied Halo?

  12. Anonymous permalink
    March 3, 2008 6:50 pm

    Hi

  13. DGX permalink
    March 3, 2008 6:52 pm

    Metroid prime 3 corruption is the coolest Wii game that i’ve ever had. I’m working on 100 pickups so I can see Sylux’s ship at the end.

  14. Anonymous permalink
    March 12, 2008 1:01 pm

    03338305954

Leave a Reply

