Skip to content

Stoopid is as Stupid do

May 1, 2007
by

big brain

It’s well known that the DS is no stranger to “brain” games and self help software, and many more are on the way. Brain Age and it’s sequel is one of the best selling DS games in Japan, and games such as Big Brain Academy join in on the nations yearning to improve themselves. Mario is also sharing shelf space with several English practice titles; games for improving your kanji (Chinese characters used in Japanese writing); recipe and cooking guides; and recently a game on business and office manners.

So we knew it wouldn’t be long for these kinds of titles to make it to the Wii. I spent a bit of time yesterday with Wii de Yawaraka Atama Juku, which in North America will be known as Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree. I had a pretty good time with it, but will I play it again? Likely not. I already know how dum I am, and it’s much more appealing to be told that on a small personal screen than to have it flashed up on my TV for all to see. I might pull it out when friends come by to try out the multiplay, but then I am sure they will beat me and I’ll defiantly never load it up again!

So now that I know how old my brain is, and how much it weighs, and if it prefers regular or diet Coke, I’m off to put it back to sleep with Super Paper Mario.

scarecrow

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2007 8:39 am

    Brain Age was pretty cool, but show of hands…how many people stoped training your brain 8 months ago?

  2. May 1, 2007 10:55 am

    I got Brain Age right when it came out and I think I’ve played it twice…

    I earn a living as a programmer, so I got enough of that kind of activity at work, thank you very much!

    Hey, does anyone know what is the best Kanji training on DS for English speakers?

  3. May 1, 2007 1:08 pm

    Damn programmers. I dont use that side of my brain if I dont have to. If our minds melded we could rule the world.

  4. May 1, 2007 2:12 pm

    I got Brain Academy when i bought my white DS lite just cause it was $20 and i didn’t wanna leave the store without something to play on it.

    Terrible as a game. Impulse buys’ll getcha.

Leave a Reply

