Skip to content

Puzzle Quest DS: Casual is the new Hardcore

April 30, 2007
by

pqds.jpg

Puzzle Quest DS is one of those rare breed of games that manages to mix two astonishingly different genres yet manages to pull it off successfully.   Whoever thought that mixing  RPGs and match-3 puzzle games would ever work?  Well I did, and i was on my way to making one, but that’s neither here nor there.

One thing I know for sure is that Puzzle Quest is the kind of game Nintendo have been dreaming of since they hatched the idea of “broadening” the market and gaming demographic.  The Puzzle elements are as tight as can be (after 5-odd years bejewelled clones, it damn well better be) and the RPG elements are pretty solid as well.  Aside from choosing from a character class (ie Warrior, druid, knight, etc.) you’re also given the chance to level up your skills, buy items and weapons, and go on quests.   The storyline is pretty generic RPG stuff.  Save this dude, go see your father, send this message to the emperor, the undead are attacking us, and trolls too wtf.

So anyway, you win the casuals with the Puzzle stuff, and you win the nerds with the RPG stuff, it’s just a sure win all around.  One on one battles with your friends is the icing on the cake and trust me, you can never get too much of that icing.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2007 1:26 am

    First Infendo and now you, guys! Are you trying to make me buy this game? Sorry, but I have to resist: I got too many games waiting in line already! As for casual gaming, I don’t know… does Pokémon count as “casual gaming”??

  2. Bill permalink
    May 1, 2007 1:33 am

    Puzzle Quest has gotten its claws into me as well. It took my bejewled addiction, and mixed it with my RPG cravings. Not to mention the world is based on the Warlords universe, which I played a LOT back in the day. So the look of the maps and the music give me that extra nostolgic hit. Oh , but I prefer the PSP version, which is nice because it gave me an excuse to start using my PSP again.

  3. May 1, 2007 8:42 am

    I will not buy this game. It doesn’t look fun to me. To many good returns.

    Friz

  4. May 1, 2007 10:52 am

    C’mon, Friz! What’re you gonna play? Pokémon??

  5. May 1, 2007 1:07 pm

    Tetris DS. its like…all I need.

  6. May 1, 2007 2:10 pm

    Hey guys, cool blog. Bookmarked!

    I’m killing off Lunar Knights at the moment. Puzzle Quest can shove it.

  7. May 1, 2007 10:05 pm

    If you can get past the “casual game” stigma, I highly reccomend puzzle quest. I play it in between sessions of FFII and Ico.

    Bill: The Warlords universe? I’d imagine it’d be less fun on the PSP, but I woldn’t know till i tried.

  8. Bill permalink
    May 1, 2007 10:35 pm

    Warlords is a turn based strategy game. Peaked at III, and IV sucked. They also had a real-time game called umm.. Warlords:Battlecry. But I was more into the turn based one. The maps are like the ones in Puzzle Quest kinda.
    the PSP one is just better in my opinion because of the better controls , graphics and sound. It’s a great game either way, just I prefer the look on PSP

  9. Bill permalink
    May 2, 2007 3:27 am

    I just read that Puzzle Quest will be coming to Xbox Live Arcade now as well. Not sure when though.

  10. May 3, 2007 7:50 pm

    That…isn’t as exciting for me. match3 on a huge screen? I’ll pass.

Leave a Reply

