Skip to content

PSP price drops too little, too late?

April 7, 2007
by

102×160_pspcore.jpgSo you’ve probably heard about the recent PSP price drops: The Value pack now goes for $199 and the core pack for $169, which is just 40 bucks more than a DS lite. My question to you is, should Nintendo be worried? Sure, the DS lite practically owns the handheld market, has more innovative games, and still comes out cheaper. But the PSP does have merits of its own including superior graphics, a widescreen layout, and games like God of war and Tekken (don’t fight me on this one, I just really like the damn game) that would simply not work on DS. At a lowered price point like that, even I’M trying to keep my twitchy hands from reaching into my wallet and plunking down some coin for that slab of Sony technology (the fact that I have friends who already own PSPs whom I can leech games off helps, too).

The price drop does hint at another drastic measure, which I figure is either:

A) Sony releases a PSP “lite”

B) Sony releases PSP2

C) Sony cancels the PSP line, essentially leaving everyone who bought the value priced PSP out in the cold

These measures are ordered in the chances of any of them actually happening, in which A seems the most likely to occur within the year, and C being the longshot of the bunch. I think I’m pretty much sold at this point, because even if Sony cancels PSP production (which they probably won’t), that just means more bargain bin games for me to pick up.

What about you guys, any of you willing to lay out some cash for a PSP? Walmart’s got a good deal going on that gets you a PSP, 2 “best of” games, and an accessory of your choice for $210. Not a bad deal, if you ask me.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2007 11:06 pm

    They are lowering the price so the resell
    value is too low to compensate getting a DS.

  2. April 8, 2007 12:28 am

    so uh…wouldja get one?

  3. frisby permalink
    April 8, 2007 3:04 am

    I’d buy a 360 if I was going to buy anything game related. I have an 80gig iPod, a DS, and a KRZR. I’m up to my ears in portable hardware and running low on outlets.

  4. Toxic permalink
    April 8, 2007 3:19 am

    No, I’m not getting a PSP anytime soon.

    I’ll admit that the above Wal*Mart deal is purty good, but PSP just doesn’t have the constant flow of solid titles that would force me to buy one.

    My Phat is fine as of yet (in terms of handheld gaming).

  5. frisby permalink
    April 8, 2007 3:58 am

    Agreed, phat is the way to be.

  6. April 8, 2007 9:39 am

    friz: true that. Just today i had my zen vision:M, DS Lite, and w850 plugged in for charging.

    still…169.99 is mighty tempting…

  7. April 8, 2007 9:40 am

    and think of all the UMDs you could collect from retailers’ trash cans!

  8. Toxic permalink
    April 8, 2007 12:44 pm

    Or any trash can!

    I kid.

  9. April 8, 2007 1:04 pm

    PSM suggest repairing broken UMD’s with scotch tape. So does Sony. Any company that sells crap they know will break, and suggest taping it, does not deserve my money. I may buy some stupid crap from time to time, but not that stupid.

  10. April 9, 2007 1:34 am

    The problem is, the PS2 slim is still only $120, far less than the PSP!

    If you want to play ports like God of War, why not play the real thing on superior hardware?

    I know what you are going to say: “but the PSP is PORTABLE!” Is it?? Sure, it is small, but it is hardly pocket-sized, and the load times together with the price of both hardware and software make it not such a hot deal compared to the DS or the PS2…

    The PSP is cursed by falling somewhere in the middle between a portable and a console, and being neither.

  11. Sum0 permalink
    April 9, 2007 9:13 am

    I checked out the PSP games a while back and I must admit, I was impressed.

    However, the simple fact is that I have a DS and I don’t really have enough free time to play a bunch of PSP games as well. So I’ll pass.

  12. April 9, 2007 6:23 pm

    The day before I bought my PSP the price dropped the next and I was mad as heck. Although there is some drop in games that could make up for my 30$ loss I am rather distested by this

  13. April 9, 2007 8:23 pm

    Well if you want a PSP, folks, nevermind what else is out there. The PSP you wanted is now cheaper. Rejoice.

    What i’ll say is not all the good PSP games are straight ports, and the offshoot games are hardly ports either. Who doesn’t have a PS2 nowadays anyway.

  14. Toxic permalink
    April 9, 2007 9:50 pm

    I was going to get a PSP for Lumines, but I bought Lumines Plus for PS2 instead… oh well.

  15. April 9, 2007 10:18 pm

    I DON’T HAVE A PS2!

    Booohoooo!!!

  16. frisby permalink
    April 10, 2007 12:30 pm

    I traded my ps2 for an xbox.

    I didn’t and don’t play either.

  17. April 10, 2007 2:21 pm

    Sometimes you have to look beyond yourself.

  18. April 10, 2007 3:15 pm

    Did Yoda said that? Or was it Hannibal Lecter?

  19. frisby permalink
    April 10, 2007 4:42 pm

    I can’t really see beyond the duke.

  20. April 12, 2007 5:27 pm

    An unknown prophet, who chokes himself with the nunchuk wire while beating off to the voting channel.

  21. April 15, 2007 11:30 am

    Too little and too late

  22. April 27, 2007 2:54 am

    >> 12. Ryan – April 9, 2007[Edit]

    The day before I bought my PSP the price dropped the next and I was mad as heck. Although there is some drop in games that could make up for my 30$ loss I am rather distested by this

    Wow, this really confused me for a minute or two. I thought for a second i was posting in my sleep or something.

  23. Erasesyou permalink
    May 8, 2007 3:06 am

    well i have nothing portable, no ipod, no zune, and not even a phone. the only portable game system is the old gameboy color. im thinking of getting one just to play games and add music and maybe some videos. does anyone go against me getting one.

  24. May 8, 2007 10:28 am

    I feel I’m better off having a separate portable to do each one of those things (listening to music, watching videos, and playing games). I can’t do all these things at once, not even on a long trip!

  25. May 8, 2007 7:49 pm

    Erasesyou: to be honest, if you want to watch videos, the PSP’s screen is effing amazing to watch on while on the go.

  26. Erasesyou permalink
    May 9, 2007 3:08 am

    thats sweet Ryan, the screen is so big too,and InvinsibleMan im just saying to you know if im out some time and ihave a psp, i might want to watch a video, listen to a song, surf the net, or just play a game, will a psp be for me?

  27. Erasesyou permalink
    May 9, 2007 3:10 am

    oh and also is it to late to get one, rumors of a psp2 coming out are out there so should i just wait for that but then again it was said that it would have come out on march and it never happened, possibly might never. what should i do? and im thinking of getting one this weekend if i do

  28. frisby permalink
    May 9, 2007 7:50 am

    I say just buy an iPhone in a month or so.

  29. May 9, 2007 9:38 am

    I don’t own a PSP, so I can’t honestly give you details on its shortcomings, I can only mention why I didn’t get one! I know also that PSP has some issues with download time, which makes gaming-on-the-go a little difficult when you only have 2-5 minutes to play at a time. Also, if you want to interrupt your game momentarily, the PSP doesn’t have the “sleep” function that the DS has when you simply close it and then pick up right where you left when you open it up again.

    But for other multimedia, the DS is definitely not the right choice!

  30. frisby permalink
    May 9, 2007 5:28 pm

    My accesories.

    KRZR – Phone. Plays MP3’s but no headphone jack. 2GB card
    iPod Video (80GB) – Video and hella audio goodness.
    iPod Nano (2GB) Working out is much easier with a nano.
    DS Phat – I have a holster in my Durango that seems designed for this monstrosity. While GBAmicro would be best, I love my DS.

    I have all of these. If I had all of them combined, I really feel they would not do EVERYTHING I wanted, or it would not do them well.

    Different companies do things right. I feel having many good products that work great is better than one product that kind of works. Also if my phone dies I can still listen to music. if my iPod dies I still have a DS and so on.

    If you have a man purse like iMan or a backpack like me, you would not have to worry about having an all in one. Now with Skype, if I have a wifi signal, I have all of these in one with my MacBook. Tech makes life so much easier and complicated at the same time.

    I have one helluva charging station!

    Friz

  31. Erasesyou permalink
    May 25, 2007 1:36 am

    i got the psp and downgraded to 1.50 then got a custom firmware, its all good i guess, i can play alot of homebrew. i got some isos from the net that work great too so yea awesome

Leave a Reply

