Skip to content

A neat hombrew app and a quick update

April 1, 2007
by

For all their spin on reaching out to gamers and being “revolutionary”, Nintendo sure hasn’t capitalized on the tremendous opportunities for the DS platform. Case in point is this intriguing DS app that will teach you how to write and recognize Japanese Hiragana and Katakana (don’t ask me the difference between the two because I sure as hell don’t know). While I’d never actively search something like this out (I like my anime with subtitles, thanks much), I’m sure there are thousands of people out thre who would love to have something like this in their DS’. Oh, and as a personal request, could I have an e-book reader too? So i don’t have to pretend that Hotel Dusk is anything but a glorified Choose your own adventure book? Seriously.

Remember how I did a quickie post on that Ninja Gaiden game Itagaki was developing? Well they officially presented it and it looks pretty gorgeous, and according the press on hand Itagaki and company have managed to pull off an action game using only the stylus. I now officially cannot wait to have this game on my hands.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2007 11:52 am

    Now, THIS is what Flash Carts were made for!!

    And yes, I am one of the “thousands of people” who would like to have something like this in my DS!

    Now I need to get that flash cart thingie, damnnit!

  2. Sum0 permalink
    April 9, 2007 9:17 am

    This was exactly what I was looking for (I am a student of Japanese, oh yes). It’s a little rough around the edges, but it’s a great piece of software.

  3. April 9, 2007 6:29 pm

    Honestly, I belive this idea was the worse yet. For some reason designers think they can just throw around things and expect to make money off of them. But for me it just makes me really hate there product even more.

Leave a Reply

