Skip to content

Defining Respectability

March 23, 2007

First off, let me get this out of the way. Respectability is not, and can never defined by fanboys. Fanboys have no respect for anything. They don’t even respect the companies for which they so cling to, enough to understand they are run by humans and make mistakes. So let me just go ahead and say…

Jack, you don’t respect shit.”

As for me, I know respect. I don’t abide by it. I don’t respect much other than talent and skill. I don’t respect my elders because of their age, but because of their achievements. That being said I respect Nintendo for the underpowered console they designed very intelligently and were able to market to the low end market. I respect Micro$oft for the money they pumped into marketing and building a solid system with online capabilities when the competition was limping into the online community. I respect Sony for pumping up a machine so powerful, folks can not develop for its full potential because computers can’t even handle what it can. Nintendo fanboys like fucko over here have the nerve to imply, through quotes no less, that the 360 and PS3 are not respectable in comparison to Wii.

Furthermore, giving Nintendo credit for what you give it is almost a slap in the face to the early adopting Dev teams that designed for a console that at the time was a joke, and judging from their last joke the Game Cube, a bad one. And thats not saying I like the Cube, I love it. I lost respect for the PS2 when I went through 2.

I am not going to go on much further with the insults or obvious flaws in your theory. You push more bullshit to fanboys than the Bill O’Riley character and his cult following.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2007 12:33 pm

    This guy preaches instead of informing or educating. You’d think he was getting paid, but the pro bono aspect of it makes him all the more pathetic. If i sat here and took my time, i’d still lose count of all his jivetalk. Let me try.

    The first problem is the tip.

    As a gamer for 15 years, I’ve had my fair share of systems and games, and I’ve seen all sorts of gimmicks to sell them. The Nintendo Power Glove, Super Scope and those lame Jaguar ads come to mind. Over time I have learned that fancy graphics and brand name games do not always mean fun.

    Heeerrre we go again. This is news… why? Another unknown press shill talking about how Wii is nothing but fun. Mhmm, that sounds familiar. Sounds like every other Wii-related “news” item lately. Why do i feel like these are just excuses for people like him to start making fools of themselves?

    “I’ve been gaming forever, and let me tell you, this is the definition of fun! You ever banged a cheerleader under the bleechers of your high school? Or been to a crazy sporting event where a fight broke out because of you? Or gone go-karting drunk with your best friends? Been skydiving? Parachuting? Mountain biking? Surfing? Played any kind of sport? Enjoyed any sort of entertainment period? Yea, Wii obliterates all that.”

    Every other other news item is about a non-gamer’s experience with Wii Sports. Because we really need to hear about every human person’s experience with Bowling. The point’s been made you clown. Everyone’s mother likes Wii Sports, we fuckin know.

    Then “Mr. Gone” goes into Sony attack mode, because no Jack post is a Jack post without Ken Kutaragi being guillotined. Sony initiated the downfall of 2D gaming with the PlayStation, he says. Low-budget, low-power games had nowhere to go. Is that so? I guess the N64 didn’t count then? The Saturn? I don’t remember Nintendo having many 2D games on the 64 that weren’t some Yoshi offshoot. What he’s saying is, since PS was out first, it’s Sony’s fault 2D games dwindled. Ok. Because 3D wasn’t the new thing, and Sony has no right to pick and choose what kinda games they want on their console. It’s called quality control Jackass, and everybody was doing 3D at the time. Nintendo could’ve housed tons of 2D games if that were the case, but guess what. They didn’t. Why? Because they wanted to do 3D just as much as everyone else. Except they had a format that was more appropriate for 2D, and therefore largely fucked up on all dimensions.

    I’d love to tear into you some more, but i’m outta time. See ya later.

  2. March 23, 2007 5:48 pm

    Where is the second quote from? I think I read that somewhere…

  3. Toxic permalink
    March 23, 2007 8:40 pm

    Nintendo’s winning because of people like Jack.

  4. March 23, 2007 11:31 pm

    Where is the second quote from? I think I read that somewhere…

    I might as well link you to all my feeds, bro. I made it up, but it’s a safe paraphrase. By safe i mean accurate.

    Thank you, Toxic. I’m not raging anymore, but he’s still a robot. (He should switch to Destructoid and be their Nintendo delusionist.)

Leave a Reply

