Skip to content

Frisby’s Big Week of Nothing

March 18, 2007

So maybe my absence has been missed here. Maybe not. I stopped in here and there to drop some comments but in my misadventures I have not had time to give a proper post.

So here is my Week of Nothing in review.

Sad it is that over the last week, even with a GDC, news has been a little weak for Nintendo. Sony, surprisingly has had a good week. This Home and other promises would have been great at last years E3 and may get some people who switch to PS3 over the next year for its free services over M$’s XBLive.

But enough about all that. Lets talk about Mii.

Last week, while working late hours, driving all over Oklahoma for concerts and filming candidate forums for lost towns in the Oklahoma panhandle, I had time to play a VC game I bought a few weeks earlier. Kid (Muther Fukin) Icarus. Everyone…EVERYONE talks about how great this game is. Everyone talked about how unique and cool it was,and also how it was the lost gem of the NES and needed a sequel more than Mario does now.

Well 2 hours into the game i would have to say “Go suck a Nut, Pit.”

2 hours of never ending bad guys, falling to your doom even though a platform was JUST on screen. CRAP. Crappy controls, no variety in levels, WTF are the people on the net smoking?

So I look online. When the game only has 2 FAQ’s you know it is not that great. The FAQ’s contradicted one another but hey, fuck it. So I read on and discover you level up. I find out what the weapons are and upgrades. Zelda explained more than this game does without a manual.

So basically I have to approach this game like Zelda II. No prob. I power up fully by the dungeon in level 1 and have all of the weapons by level 2-2. I beat the game that very night.

It was not that bad…It was actually good. I went from HATING this game with a passion to wanting more. Man…fuck it. I pwnd Medusa and called it a night.

Before I acended into the whole Love/Hate relationship with the Angel named Pit, my wife and I had been on an Excite Truck binge. I beat every level in super excite but only have S grades in little over half of them. I swear that game asks for impossible stars amounts for S in some of those levels.

Thats about all I have for this week. I love you guys. NES games are still hard as shit.

Frisby

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2007 2:17 am

    We “like like” you, too.

    I stopped playing ET once it got to getting S medals for Super Excite. I pull off 1440 spins in my sleep, but swerving by trees is another story. Sometimes it feels like a game of chance, where if you play it enough times, you’ll get 3 super truck smashes and hair-raising near misses during tree runs that put you 1 point over the required amount if you’re lucky. But only if you drive perfect.

    You should do these more often.

  2. March 19, 2007 6:52 am

    “I pull off 1440 spins in my sleep, but swerving by trees is another story.”

    You know you’ve been playing a game too much when you start to dream about it. I’ve been having dreams bout WoW of late 😦

  3. Linxdev permalink
    March 19, 2007 11:21 am

    I tried Kid Icarus on the emulation site that was posted week back. I decided to pass. I rented that game years ago so I wanted to try it again. It did get boring and I knew based on past experiences with other games that if you fall off the bottom of the screen you are dead. Even if there is a ledge below. I think that with the limited programming ability of the NES it might had been just easier to make that rule instead of allowing the screen to scroll backwards and track those items. I think Ice Climber had a similar rule.

  4. Linxdev permalink
    March 19, 2007 11:23 am

    On dreaming I’ve been dreaming Zelda in my sleep. I’ve taken some time off of TP and have been playing Minnish Cap and OoT. I spent many hours of the weekend on the DS Lite playin MC and I’m at the “Wind Temple”? and made it there on one charge! A very additive game.

  5. Linxdev permalink
    March 19, 2007 1:57 pm

    Add VC to that list of nothing…

  6. Sum0 permalink
    March 19, 2007 4:50 pm

    I wasn’t part of the NES generation, and my parents were too mean to get me a SNES, so perhaps I am biased but… retro is overrated. And so damn hard!

  7. March 19, 2007 5:10 pm

    I agree.

    I believe the love of retro games, for the most part, is pure nostalgia… how the game made people feel when it came out.

  8. March 19, 2007 6:19 pm

    Definitely.

    I haven’t been dreaming of Excite Truck. I meant that if you happen to be playing it at 3am while i’m asleep next to you, pass me the remote and i’ll wreck your ass. Lucky for you, Excite Truck offline only and you all live out of harm’s [my] way.

  9. Leon permalink
    March 19, 2007 6:33 pm

    Oh Rollin, Rollin, Rollin. I’d gladly accept that challenge. Every resident and visitor to my home has been decimated by my Fuxpro truckin, skills. If only you lived in boring ol’ Broward County.

  10. frisby permalink
    March 19, 2007 8:26 pm

    Fuxpro truckin skills??? hehe

  11. March 19, 2007 11:31 pm

    Mapquest it and we’ll talk.

  12. nintendo_fanboy101 permalink
    April 12, 2007 6:03 pm

    my god i love nintendo, so much so that i am writing this very message from my wii. kid icarus really does need a good sequel, not like that shitty gameboy game. go nintendo! so-long, a-bowser!

  13. frisby permalink
    April 12, 2007 11:12 pm

    Oh the irony…oh the irony.

  14. nintendo_fanboy101 permalink
    April 13, 2007 2:49 pm

    oh yes, the IRONY!!!

Trackbacks

  1. blog

Leave a Reply

