Skip to content

The reason to own a PS3…

March 18, 2007
by

Coming back at ya...[Originally written during GDC a couple weeks ago. Sorry for stepping on your toes, Tony. – Rollin]

Well, the GDC has been going on for some time now, and today was Phil Harrison’s turn to deliver.

And deliver he did!

After so much mud-flinging and flogging Sony has been getting in the last two years because of PS3 interpreted sales and foot-in-mouth quotes from many top execs, most of us were braced for another collection of over-the-top erroneous quotes to keep blogs busy for the next two weeks. But what Phil Harrison and Scott, the developer of Home, had to show at the Games Developers Conference didn’t need any words.

Home and Little Big Planet, at least from the videos and descriptions (thanks to Alice from Wonderland and others) that have been circulating through the internet, is Sony’s response to Second Life and MicroSoft’s XBLA and XNA… well, not quite, but Sony’s versions of these programs look a lot cooler, and far easier to use.

Just take a look at Home…

… and at Little Big Planet…

These two services are coming to your PS3 (the six of you who own one!) between Fall and early 2008, and might just be the main reason to finally consider Sony’s beleaguered console as the one to keep in the long-run. (I can’t believe I wrote that! I blame it on Rollin’s bad influence…)

Source 1 (Slashdot)

Source 2 (Kotaku)

Source 3 (Wonderland)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2007 2:33 pm

    kj

  2. March 18, 2007 10:38 pm

    No problem, Rollin…

    I actually didn’t think you would post it… It was partly more like a push for you or frisby to say something about Sony’s presentation, and partly a way to publicly detract from my apparent “Sony hater” label…

  3. March 19, 2007 1:36 am

    Good post, man. Finally!

    It’s cool. I know you’re very sensible, but i think reading soapbox sites has an effect on your own opinions at times. Like, Joystiq may seem impartial, but there’s tons of rhetoric on there. Kotaku is ok, though.

    Note: read more Kotaku (than Joystiq).

  4. March 19, 2007 11:28 am

    (Actually, I almost exclusively read Kotaku appart from Infendo and Intendo… I only read Joystiq articles when they have been linked from one of these sites.)

  5. March 19, 2007 11:37 am

    (Oh, and I don’t like Joystiq, either…)

  6. March 19, 2007 6:12 pm

    I almost exclusively read Kotaku appart from Infendo and Intendo…

    The new blog trinity. Careful with that Jack fella.

  7. March 24, 2007 10:44 am

    Yeah, I wrote that article because I was really impressed with Sony’s online plans… However, that will only work if enough people buy the PS3. If enough people do, and Home starts being as popular as, say, Second Life, you might see me there, too!

  8. March 24, 2007 10:45 am

    (Yes, I would buy the PS3 just for that…!)

  9. March 24, 2007 11:21 am

    I’m really interested in what games turn out like once PS3 hits its stride. Can you imagine FFXIII or God of War 3? The sheer scale intrigues me.

  10. March 25, 2007 10:34 am

    I still need to play the first God of War… I swear, I have been thinking of getting a PS2 just for that game!

  11. March 25, 2007 1:42 pm

    It’s good stuff, but it didn’t gel with me.

  12. July 30, 2007 7:42 am

    I getin it

Trackbacks

  1. News Links « The Dawn of Dragons

Leave a Reply

