Skip to content

Overrated Wii

March 11, 2007
by

(Responding to these two articles from The Will Effect. Read beforehand for the full effect.)

A bit on the harsh side, but reasonable.

Wii isn’t overrated. It’s more a case of being overpraised while underdelivering. Really what i mean is people are so quick to laud Wii and its achievements as a sales phenomenon for a possibility of “winning the race” that they lose sight of the current situtation. They get caught up in potential talk, basically – jumping the gun on proclamations of this being the future and how the “HD way” is the wrong way. Wii is on a temporary hype train that will run out of steam unless some real innovative and girthy games come to it.

That means wifi gaming, social networking and a slew of trippy new games never before seen, either because they were impossible or unfit for a dual-handed controller. Wii needs all kinds of unorthodox software to establish itself. Forget about pitching a tent in the woods — you need to build a house to prosper. The foundation is laid, and now we wait for them to hire the illegals down the road [third parties] that will finish the job.

On the other hand, I hope you have shit to do.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Toxic permalink
    March 11, 2007 4:58 am

    I’ve never been so excited for a game in my life, but that’s because it feels like I haven’t played a game in 5 months…wait a second… Super Paper Mario better be the shit.

    Like you, Rollin, I don’t feel Wii is as overrated as The Wii Effect would have us all believe. I suppose someone could say the general public thinks Wii is overrated, but they’re uninformed; the public gives props to anything that can’t afford/looks shiny. As far as the gaming community, everybody seems to recognize the drought of amazingly original titles.

  2. March 11, 2007 8:07 am

    Ouch, that Q2 list is not the best release list I’ve ever seen. I hope these games live up to expectation though. I’m excited about the pokemon online thing and paper Mario looks fun but, as you mentioned – wheres the wii games?

  3. frisby permalink
    March 11, 2007 12:34 pm

    I wish I could transform into a casual gamer to add some different perspective on the whole issue.

    The fact is Wii just isn’t a gamer machine, its a casual gamer machine first and the big titles are an after thought. But I can still pick up excite truck and 10 hours fly by and its time to go to work.

    Q2 is what it sis. Q4 will come eventually.

  4. Linxdev permalink
    March 11, 2007 2:59 pm

    I agree with frisby. If I had the time that some kids do then I would be bored out of my mind right now with the Wii. I’m just casually experiencing what it has to offer and I’m not rushing to beat any games. I finally made it to the “City in the Sky” in LoZTP and have taken a break from that. I’m not deep into LoZ Oot. I’ve beaten it many years ago and playing it now seems new but in some ways seems familiar. When/If Majora’s Mask is released for the VC I’ll stop what I’m doing and play that. I’ve never played that one.

  5. Rollin permalink
    March 11, 2007 4:23 pm

    My standards are too high to think like a casual gamer. Simultaneously, i don’t game much at all so i kinda feel like one in the technical sense.

    Though you’d think it makes you dinner, by reading most blogs. I’m just waiting for No More Heroes, myself.

  6. Linxdev permalink
    March 11, 2007 6:19 pm

    Yep. It needs the games. The main reason I’ve slowed down on TP is the fear of what comes after. After I beat it what is next? There are no epic games like that released and I don’t see relief anytime soon.

  7. March 11, 2007 6:45 pm

    Wonder what happened to Fire Emblem. I could use a nice, long adventure or rpg. Zelda was that, but didn’t feel right.

    I suggest getting a DS-X and stocking up on some Romans. Yeah… Romans.

  8. March 11, 2007 7:45 pm

    I could barely get through the article what with all the typos. Fucking fanboy.

  9. March 11, 2007 8:44 pm

    My eyes crossed more than a few times reading it.

  10. frisby permalink
    March 12, 2007 12:24 am

    “Nothing says new like taking the same old and mixing it with something new, right.”

    So to make “New”…take something old and make it…new?

  11. March 12, 2007 12:06 pm

    Forget about pitching a tent in the woods

    Loved the metaphor!

    Although all I really wanted from my Wii, for the moment, was a good golf game, so I’m holding my breath for Tiger Woods… Other than that, I’m pretty content with my snail-pace progress in Twilight Princess, Super Swing Golf, and SSX Blur. Excite Truck does get a lot of gameplay from me these days, though.

Leave a Reply

