Skip to content

Wii’s 2007

February 23, 2007
by

Nevermind the scorching heat, rotting crops, and the (content?) cacti — the African monsoons will arrive at some point in the year, submersing you and your Wii in 3 feet of dripping wet gaming and rid you that nasty drought, hopefully for good. It’s just not the right season right now, is all.

Wait and they shall inundate:

* Dairantou Smash Brothers X (Super Smash Bros. Brawl)
* Disaster: Day of Crisis
* Donkey Kong Taru Jet Race (DK Bongo Blast)
* Doubutsu no Mori [Animal Crossing]
* Forever Blue
* Hoshi no Kirby (Kirby Adventure)
* Mario Party 8
* Mario Strikers Charged
* Metroid Prime 3: Corruption
* Project H.A.M.M.E.R.
* Super Mario Galaxy
* Totsugeki Famicom Wars (Battalion Wars II)
* Wii Health Pack
* Wii Music

That seems kinda scarce for Nintendo. Some games aren’t quite ready for 07, looks like. Where’s Fire Emblem, for instance? On the upside, two of those missing Cube games are confirmed for Wii play, Kirby Adventure and DK Bongo Blast. Now if only Pennant Chast Baseball and Metroid Dread also rose from the mass grave. I hope this means Nintendo has deliberately left holes in the calendar for 3rd parties to fill. Good to see Strikers Charged and Battallion Wars on there, being wifi games. Though how could they not, being semi-GameCube ports.

About that Disaster. Any person who’s read us for a while probably has noticed my anticipation for this game, being an all-new Nintendo franchise – something there is never too much of. Earlier today, a new screen for this potential-packed anomaly popped up to personally give me a cocktease. (“P” is my letter of the day.)

looking rather... jaggedy

B-grade visuals with top-notch physics… the Elebits effect strikes again. Needs some more time in the oven. And some salt.

So, Wii’s year in preview: persisting drought, mild rains, or tidal waves? (I put a lot of thought into that tie-in.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2007 2:08 pm

    That list is a tidal wave for me! I already see five or so games that I will really like to play, and those alone will last me well into 2008…

    But for those of you who finish games in under two weeks, this might not be nearly enough to get you through the Summer.

  2. February 23, 2007 5:20 pm

    Battallion Wars is all i need. Adding wifi to that brilliant game was… brilliant.

  3. Linxdev permalink
    February 23, 2007 6:21 pm

    Hopefully something good will come out. I’m very disappointed in Wii Play.
    It is more like an eye toy game than Wii Sports. The mini games don’t have much meat and are too short (shooting gallery).

    To cope I’ve decided not to call Wii Play “The game with the free controller” I call it. “The will controller that came with a free game”. The tank game would be a blast with a friend. It reminds me of the Atari Tank game that my friends use to have. Can’t remember the name but I was so jealous that they had it and not I. I use to love playing it

  4. Linxdev permalink
    February 23, 2007 8:04 pm

    http://www.infendo.com/2007/02/nintendo-of-america-confirms-ocarina-of.html

    Looks like I’ll be busy for a while. I’ve beaten this game but could play it again.

  5. Francisco Ruben Arce permalink
    February 26, 2007 8:24 pm

    “It reminds me of the Atari Tank game that my friends use to have.”

    You’re thinking of Combat. I loved that game and still have a copy ^_^.

    ~Ruben

Leave a Reply

