Skip to content

New retro vs too retro

February 16, 2007
by

brownnoser
Xbox 360’s Live Arcade has some decidedly shoddy ports of retro games occassionally, but the majority are decent and enhanced with online leaderboards, HD, and oftentimes online multiplayer as incentives to re-buy your old faves or spend cash on pixelated horseshit that used to be fun. They come from the past but they don’t have to be stuck in the past, right? Sounds good to me.

Nintendo thinks exact — or near-exact — emulation is the way to go. They’ve got the best catalog of retired games, so why should they care about adding extra incentives. Well now Sony’s gotten in the game with retro downloads, and they’ve gone the Live Arcade route. Q*Bert is what i’m talking about, specifically.

Available for download on February 22nd for the not unsurprising price of $4.99, Q*Bert will be getting a full makeover, supporting resolutions up to 720p and worldwide online leaderboards…

If the prices didn’t discourage your VC purchases enough, both the other retro download services now offer similarly priced software with upgrades.

The new isn’t new enough, the old is too old; what’s up, Nin? Something botherin’ ya? It’s ok, i’m here. Oh don’t be that way, come on now. You’ve got a perfectly adequate service! It’s just, you know, y’all gotta throw us a bone every so often. Don’t worry, it’s cool. You can make it up… somehow…

*ziiiip*

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2007 5:26 pm

    In view of the new Voting Channel, one thing I don’t understand is why Nintendo doesn’t at least support worldwide leaderboards for each retro game…

    These could be updated once or twice a day via Connect24, and wouldn’t need a big modification on the software. Or at least that’s what I think…

  2. frisby permalink
    February 16, 2007 6:12 pm

    I think Nintendo wants us to see this as backwards compatibility. They don’t want you to experience NEW stuff…they want you to experience retro stuff.

    I could bitch too..but I guess i dont care enough.

  3. February 16, 2007 6:21 pm

    Did anyone downloaded “Kirby”?

    I did!

    😉

  4. February 16, 2007 9:36 pm

    Good point friz, i’ma go with that. (inflated nostalgia)

    Leaderboards are the least they could do.

  5. February 16, 2007 10:02 pm

    Nintendo just like recycling games. They’ve been doing it for years, since the GameBoy Color came out, at least.

    If we stopped buying the games over VC, then maybe Nintendo would look at adding new features, but as long as that little dose of nostalgia is going to hook us in every Monday/Friday, they’ve got a market for straight ports.

  6. February 18, 2007 12:48 pm

    I’m glad I have Xbox 360.

    My Wii has only Super Mario Bros. downloaded – cause my NES broke and Sonic cause my Genesis is a pain to set up. I won’t download any other titles cause they suck. They need to update them more.

  7. Linxdev permalink
    February 18, 2007 11:15 pm

    I thought that playing these older games would be fun. Nostalgia does not keep it going. Out of what I’ve downloaded the only thing I’ve played
    often is Mario Kart 64. I’m more interested in the N64 offerings than most of the NES offerings. Maybe a few SNES. When I can download an N64 Zelda game I’ll be pleased.

    I think we all would like to play games that we plyead when we were younger. I remember playing Bionic Commando over and over
    and over gain on the NES. The it was cool and the graphics nice.
    We still remember those feelings but after the download how cool is
    it still?

    It reminds me of GI’s retro reviews. It seems that all retro games in that section get a lower score now then they originally did. Well DuH! If you reviewed a retro game now after being exposed to the
    graphics and gameplay of modern games then what do you supposed you’ll rate it?

    Like most I can’t buy all VC games. It is hard to wait until many or there so I can cherry pick but I must use samurai discipline to wait
    until I can make a smart choice over what VC game I purchase instead of a impulse buy every monday.

    I’ve never even completed one level in Q-Bert…

  8. February 19, 2007 2:24 pm

    I think you all are coming to grips with the harsh realization that all those games that delighted us as kids are really pure crap in light of even the remakes they made of them this century, not to mention the new original games created for current-gen and next-gen machines.

    Remember Disneyland the first time you went there? Have you been there lately? Let’s face it: when you are a kid, EVERYTHING looks amazing!

  9. Linxdev permalink
    February 19, 2007 2:42 pm

    Which brings us back to what has been discussed here and that is value. Really is an old NES game really worth $5.00 (500 points). Maybe for 3A titles like Super Mario Brothers but Baseball? I don’t think so.

    I think the handhelds are best suited for these titles. On the WII we could use nice looking content with excellent game play. To me some titles on that list are not worth the space they take up on the memory. Did I mention NES Baseball already?

    I never got to play Majora’s Mask. I’ll buy that one and play through it. I’m now having fun with N64 games (only 2 on Wii Shop) like Mario Kart 64. I’m thinking that MK 64 has got some nasty rubber band ai. I could be wrong but it seems like the only MK version where I can’t get at least 1/2 lap ahead of the comp. Even if I bust a cap in their ass (red shell) while they are just a foot in the lead they seem to come back too quickly. Almost like they got JATO bottles attached to their vehicle.

  10. February 19, 2007 4:31 pm

    I think as long as you realize you are buying these VC games for their nostalgia value alone, you won’t be disappointed…

    I’ve bought about five of these games because I know my two-year-old daughter will like to play with them, or at least watch me play with them. The old N64 games had a simplicity and natural naivette to their graphics, probably because the lack of graphic power on the chip forced the game designers to simplify the 3D world in these games. That makes them perfect for smaller children to enjoy more than the next-gen games, even the Wii games.

  11. Linxdev permalink
    February 19, 2007 6:29 pm

    You would be surprise what a young child can pick up. I don’t know much about a 2 year old picking up games since mine never really liked them until about 4. She can do Wii boxing but that is it. She likes watching me play Mario Kart 64.

    Her cousin on the other hand is a master at picking these up. Even from about 5 he was kicking his older brother’s asses in Halo. He has a hard time paying attention in school but can play a game for hours. Reminds me of a comedian I heard on XM 150. He said the same thing about his
    nephew. Thought it was funny his nephew had to take medicine for ADD but could concentrate on one game for 8 hours. I’ve watched them play Super Smash Brothers from morning to night on one Saturday. For them that game was a good investment so I might just have to hook them up in a few months 🙂

  12. February 19, 2007 7:34 pm

    My two-year-old has no problem playing on the DS. In fact, that’s how she learned to draw! Everyone was surprised at how well she could handle crayons, chalk, and any writing device you threw at her at the tender age of eight months… Few know that it was because she started playing Super Mario DS at that age, using the stylus in the drawing mini-game that comes up in the title screen!

Leave a Reply

