Skip to content

Wal-Mart’s Online Store Can Suck a Nut. -Frisby

January 21, 2007

The title says it all. But allow me to elaborate.

walmart_finger.jpg

First off how is this game related? I ordered Wario Ware: Smooth Moves early. Like a month early.

Why? Because I am a big child. I want to spend my money as soon as I get it, and I knew I wanted this game. I had a gift card burning a hold in my pocket so I attacked the Wal-Mart Web site.

Amazon, not the world’s largest retailer, has pre-ordered items on your door step the day it is supposed to be released (in most cases, sometimes the next day). No overnight, no extra charge. It just gets there.

Wal-Mart (the worlds largest retailer) does not have the same feelings. They offer an online store because they have to. They don’t really give a shit about the online shoppers. They ship their merchandise with their trucks with their employees to their stores. Until Wal-Mart gets their own postal company (God forbid it please) the will use the lamest UPS alternate delivery scheme that doesn’t even make sense.

They ship your packages UPS to a Post Office, and from there you wait on the postal system. This is the BS you get form their online tracker.

untitled1.JPG

I may get my package a week or two after it’s out. In fact, the same exact thing happened with Mario Kart DS. I got a card for my B-Day, ordered i early, and after two weeks of looking through glass and reading about how awesome it was I finally got it.

Maybe I should just learn to hold money for more than 2 days, or maybe people should just buy me Amazon gift certificates.

Charlie Frisby

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Linxdev permalink
    January 21, 2007 1:21 pm

    Oh nice….

    Yesterday I went to EB to pre-order Wii Play. I may not be in town the day it comes out so I wanted to guarantee a copy. Well the guy said pre-orders had stopped because there were only going to be so many copies. I went to walmart.com and ordered it there. Should receive between 02/23 and 02/27. I don’t need it on day 1 but I do want it. We’ll see how it goes…

  2. frisby permalink
    January 21, 2007 3:21 pm

    Yeah my wife said I need to be more patient. I don’t need everything Day 1. I guess I just need to be a little more patient and not check my shipping status 4 times a day groaning “Come on, come ooonnnn”

  3. Linxdev permalink
    January 21, 2007 3:54 pm

    Well if it is true that only N copies of Wii Play with remote are to be released then I want to be sure I get in on that. I just don’t require it on the day of release. Just as long as I get it.

  4. January 21, 2007 8:20 pm

    Since i’m not really using my Wii lately (take that however you wanna) or any system, it’ll take a miracle [game] to get me that excited in the future so as to buy it the moment it comes off the truck. Pre-orders will forever be useless, though.

    I did get WarioWare yesterday cause i was visiting friends. (Advice: TRU is charging $57 before tax, so be cautious.) Had fun, but i don’t see myself using it that much. I end up trying to squeeze more and more from those minigames and get no satisfaction.

    Like frisby say, they aint no meat in dem thangz!

  5. Linxdev permalink
    January 21, 2007 9:25 pm

    The main reason I did not buy it.

    I rented the version for the DS from GameFly and went through all the games in 2 days. After that there was nothing more to do. Wario Ware give you many mini games that needed to be complete in a very short time (seconds). After completing it you get satisfaction but why try again? Just to shave a few more seconds off your time. When you’re done you’re done with it.

  6. January 21, 2007 10:42 pm

    It was an impulse buy on my part cause i don’t visit this friend too often and the only game he has is WiiSports. Had the money for Wario, so i went for it. Any other occassion i woulda skipped it completely.

    On a double tie-in to the topics, I got WarioWare Touched on the day it came out in 2005. What an overpriced letdown. I blazed through it in about 2 hours. Smooth Moves we completed in about an hour, last night. Only to get the multiplayer. Don’t know if it was worth the buy yet. Early polls show a negatory.

  7. January 22, 2007 1:25 pm

    Sorrry, frisby, but really, if you wanted the game on Day 1 (or the following day to be sure), you should have walked over to your local BestBuy! Or go the day after the shipping date to any EBGames or GameStop. You won’t get charged for shipping, either!

    The only reasons that would make me buy a launch title online are:

    – Cheaper price at a particular online store;
    – Cute extra tie-in (I missed on the Elebits plush doll, dammit!!)

    Otherwise, ordering online is almost a guarantee that you won’t get it in the first three days from shipping date!

    Oh, and the only thing I occasionally order online from walmart.com are music single tracks, only because I get them right on the spot and they cost 88 cents over there, as opposed to 99 cents everywhere else!

  8. frisby permalink
    January 23, 2007 1:08 am

    Oh i know Iman, but non of those solve the problem that…

    I have Walmart Gift Card
    I will spend it NOW
    i will want wario
    I will buy it online
    I am impatient
    Walmart sends it to 5 people before it even gets to my city.

    Thats what I am really bitching about.

  9. Linxdev permalink
    January 23, 2007 9:58 am

    And as long as you are happy with your purchase then that is all that matters.

  10. January 23, 2007 2:43 pm

    Does Linxdev work for Wal-mart??

    (By the way, frisby, at least you can spend your Walmart Gift Card money online. On other stores, like Sears and Kmart, you have to spend gift card money at the actual store!)

  11. Linxdev permalink
    January 23, 2007 2:58 pm

    Never have, Never Will

    http://bbcamerican.blogspot.com/

  12. Linxdev permalink
    February 19, 2007 2:35 pm

    Follow up on my order. It seems everyone but those of us who ordered at Wal-Mart got their copy of Wii Play. It his the stores last week and Wal-Mart still has not shipped mine. The web site states that I will receive it between 2/23 -> 2/27. Why can’t they just ship them out when they get them in?

Trackbacks

  1. Holiday Gifts

Leave a Reply

