Skip to content

PS3 dead in Japan, too

January 14, 2007
by

1. (1 / 1) Final Fantasy XIII PS3 Square Enix
2. (2 / 2) Biohazard 5 PS3 Capcom
3. (3 / 3) Metal Gear Solid 4 PS3 Konami

4. (*NEW*) Dragon Quest IX NDS Square Enix
5. (5 / 5) Super Robot Taisen: Original Generations PS2 Banpresto
6. (6 / 6) Lost Odyssey Xbox 360 Microsoft
7. (13/11) Monster Hunter Portable 2nd PSP Capcom
8. (7 / 8) Gyakuten Saiban 4 NDS Capcom
9. (8 /10) Super Smash Bros. Brawl Wii Nintendo
10. (9 / 9) Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas PS2 Capcom
12. (10/12) Higurashi no Naku Kei ni Matsuri NDS Alchemist
13. (17/ -) Persona 3: Fes PS2 Atlus
14. (11/13) Zelda no Densetsu: Phantom Hourglass NDS Nintendo
15. (20/22) Shining Force Exa PS2 Sega
16. (14/21) Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors Wii Square Enix
17. (15/15) Monster Hunter 3 PS3 Capcom
18. (16/16) Devil May Cry 4 PS3 Capcom
19. (22/23) Super Mario Galaxy Wii Nintendo
20. (18/18) San Goku Shi Taisen DS NDS Sega

Just look at that. Nintendo dominates yet ANOTHER list! It’s just no contest, Sony. Give up. Nobody wants your hulking, flashy obelisk, any of your other consoles, or any games for those consoles. There’s no excitement, no good forthcoming games, and nobody’s interested. Go home.

Oh wait.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2007 9:15 am

    Wii all the way down at 9. Reminds me of the Cube days, and so soon too.

  2. Linxdev permalink
    January 15, 2007 10:09 am

    Is that Dragon Quest coming to USA? I might be interested.

    I tried on the PS2 but ran out of time. Personally I like games that can be finished in under 40 hours. Zelda is perfect for that. I played Dark Cluoud 2 and loved it but never finished it. After about 38 hours I had lost interest. I spend much time in dungeons working on my level and weapons. It can be fun and boring.

  3. January 15, 2007 3:38 pm

    Zelda perfect for that? TP was between 40 and 60 hours. If i didn’t burn through it i probably would still have it laying there unfinished.

    Time and game length is a big issue nowadays. That’s where handhelds take over. Dark Cloud 1 btw suuucked.

  4. Linxdev permalink
    January 15, 2007 4:10 pm

    It may be nice it may take a bit longer than 40. As it is now I’m really enjoying. I’m not rushing to finish even though I could spend 6hrs a day on it. There may be an initial dry spell before there is something I want that will take devotion (Mario Galaxy). I’m savoring the sweetness of TP by only spending a couple hours per day to make it last.

  5. Frisby permalink
    January 15, 2007 6:53 pm

    “TP was between 40 and 60 hours. If i didn’t burn through it i probably would still have it laying there unfinished.”

    I’m taking my sweet time. I’m still in the temple of time. Saving the boss for another day.

  6. Linxdev permalink
    January 15, 2007 7:08 pm

    I did the same on the Wind Waker. I was there to fight Gannon but a part of me did not want it to end. I waited a bit before I finished it.

    To me WW was more open than TP. In ome ways I feel like I’m on rails with TP.

  7. frisby permalink
    January 15, 2007 7:41 pm

    “To me WW was more open than TP. In ome ways I feel like I’m on rails with TP.”

    I agree. I always felt like I could find something new in WW. TP makes you feel odd about OoT. You kind of miss it since things have gotten so diffrent. It’s like goin home after being away for a long time and the conerstore is all boarded up and the you almost get shanked trying to get gas. Oh wait, that was ne going back to my old nighbrhood in Dallas a few years back.

  8. Linxdev permalink
    January 15, 2007 7:57 pm

    Also with WW I don’t think I would have finished it without the map from the game guide. I used that more than I used anything else in the guide.

  9. January 16, 2007 12:59 pm

    So so true. I played WW with a game guide from one of those GamePro offshoot mags and it was absolutely essential. Even with it, WW felt like a big open world waiting for you to trample and pillage it. TP is definitely on rails. It has side quests and they’re way fleshed out, but the game points you everywhere and there’s little choice inbetween.

  10. Linxdev permalink
    January 16, 2007 3:13 pm

    Yep. I tried to explore last night and so much of this game is blocked. Large rocks blocked many passages, etc.

    If I remember correctly you could mostly go into the other dungeons on the original. Some were blocked by bombs or trees. Even if you did got to a dungeon and were not ready you would most certainly get your as* kicked.

    With TP I’m not having a problem of where to go next. I’m being told. I’m also learning to save often. Who knows when I’ll get dragged into a quest and not have time to complete it.

Leave a Reply

