Skip to content

Let. It. GO.

January 14, 2007
by

You’ve seen it everywhere, but now GoNintendo personally got in on the hottest new trend: taking photos of PS3 boxes.

Unremarkable on their own, but it became an Intendo news item when this guy actually went out there with his camera like he was gonna find the missing link and set the scientific world ablaze.

First up, our very own Lube informed me that his Walmart had 6 PS3s in stock, and zero Wiis. Next, I stopped in our local GameStop to see what the situation was there. One of the employees I am friends with let me know that they had 7 PS3s and zero Wiis. Without me asking him, he told me that they couldn’t give them away, no one was asking for them. Last stop was Target, where I took a couple pics of the situation.

ps3

But wait! There’s a Wii pic, too!!

wii

It has to stop. PS3s are expensive, they are selling almost exclusively to hardcore tech-heads and there are not too many games for the rest of us to look past that price yet. People are waiting. Wanna know the Wii situation? They’re inexpensive and there aren’t too many games worth getting excited about. Nobody’s waiting because they could buy one with pocket change. The difference between the Wii and PS3 situations? Fans of each are waiting for big titles, but Wii people already bought their system cause the price is low and the gimmick/newness factor is still high.

Let’s cover something more relevant and important (to this). PS3 is definitely getting supported by big names from all over, 1st and 3rd party, in the months approaching. Wii is resting on Nintendo laurels. Only one of these systems has to beat the 360, and Wii aint it. Wii is Nintendo’s only home focus; Sony is riding out the PS2 while PS3 warms up. Is it clearing up yet?

They’re not equal!!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2007 1:34 am

    I actually have seen even more than that, a week ago I went by three EB/Gamestop’s , One in Durham had 11, while the one in Hillsborough (North Carolina on both) managed to have 6.

    My own local Wal-mart infact has 4 sitting in the glass.

    Seems as though the sell through rate on the PS3 is abysmal.

  2. Toxic permalink
    January 14, 2007 4:58 am

    Just trying to meet user demand. For instance, many of the people at the 1UP Network have stated they dislike “console unboxing” videos, but they keep posting them to meet the demand.

    Rollin, if you just head down to your local Target or Wal*Mart and take several high quality pictures of giant PS3 stacks, post the submission on Digg with the title “Huge Stack of PS3’s,” Intendo traffic will undoubtedly increase. To keep your dignity, include your “they’re not equal” banter along with the entry. There’s nothing to lose.

  3. January 17, 2007 10:51 pm

    Linxdev, that site looks fake to me…

  4. Linxdev permalink
    January 18, 2007 7:01 pm

    I was at a Super Target toady saw 4 PS3s in the case. I found 4 Zelda Wii Bags and 1 Zelda Wii Sling bag. Not the crappy Blue and Black one. I bought it ,$39.99, because I am tired of packing my Wii back in the box. When you pay for your own stuff you want to make sure it does not get scratched. Anyway if anyone here can tell me if it is good or bad I’ll decide to keep it over the other one. I originally wanted the blue and black sling bag but read reviews that stated it was not big enough to hold everything.

  5. January 18, 2007 7:34 pm

    I’m not into buying console accessories like that, so i dunno.

    You store it in the bag or do you carry it around?

  6. Linxdev permalink
    January 18, 2007 10:54 pm

    When you want to travel you pack it in the bag.

  7. frisby permalink
    January 18, 2007 11:30 pm

    i use walmart bags. thats how we did it the hood.

  8. January 19, 2007 3:09 am

    I’d use my regular sling. Better yet, no.

  9. January 19, 2007 2:36 pm

    I use my Dreamcast padded sling bag I bought back in ’99!

    😉

Leave a Reply

