Skip to content

Wii Kiosks seen in England, Kotaku writer gets hard on.

January 13, 2007
by

 

So everyone’s been onto this Nintendo marketing campaign, and it’s nothing new.  But a comment by one of the writers in Kotaku was just so ludicrous that I had no recourse but to put it up on Intendo for further scrutiny.

First off, much love to Kotaku, and I hope they don’t think we’re picking on them, especially after the recent “2007 fanboy” post.  But seriously now, would you really want to do this?

“This could really add a whole new level of realism to Wii Sports. Imagine dragging your Wii and your big ole TV outside and playing a round of Wii baseball in the rain, just like the professionals do! Your neighbors could pull up lawn chairs and boxes of popcorn and coolers full of beer that they can throw at you when you make a particularly terrible play. It would be the ultimate in virtual reality.”

While it would be decent of me to give the writer the benefit of the doubt, I won’t and will just assume that he wrote this in all seriousness.  He wants you to go out and play with your Wiis in the rain, and he thinks you’ll have a jolly good time with it too.  I’m no rocket scientist, but exposing your new console and your tv to the elements doesn’t really strike me as fun.  But if “the ultimate in virtual reality” is getting electrocuted while playing with your Wii in the rain, by all means go on ahead and make the millions of Youtube viewers who are bound to see it online happy.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2007 11:21 pm

    The only way the Wii would work outside would be if it was raining. The sunlight messes up the remote.

  2. January 14, 2007 11:01 pm

    Uh, i’m pretty sure the Kotaku guy was joking, but i’m not sure about Ryan…

  3. Linxdev permalink
    January 15, 2007 8:31 am

    I laugh every time I see those Intel Centrino commercials with the guy out at the park. They’ve been running those for a few years now. Maybe by now LCD technology has caught up but when they first ran those commercials I found it nearly impossible to use the laptop outside. I did have network access. The problem was the fact the sun was so bright I could no longer read the screen. I would think there is a similar problem with the Wii and is evident in the image above trying to block as much light from hitting the screen. Besides, I have enough room in the house to play. I go outside to do things other than play games. Like get real exercise walking around the neighborhood or playing with the kids.

  4. January 15, 2007 9:20 am

    “Like get real exercise walking around the neighborhood or playing with the kids.”

    Make me miss summer. Damn.

  5. Linxdev permalink
    January 15, 2007 10:07 am

    You must be in the cold 🙂

    I’m in Atlanta GA, USA and we are having a mild winter now. I woke up to read 60f on my outside therm. Nice…..

    In the summer I used to walk 8 – 12 miles per day in my neighborhood. Liked to do it around noon when I would sweat the most. I’ve dropped down to about 2 per day. I walked so much that I had stopped playing my PS2. The Wii has gotten me back into gaming. And also Sudoku on my DS Lite.

  6. January 15, 2007 3:30 pm

    How old are you about, Linx? Sound like an older gentleman.

    In NY there’s sort of a mild winter too, but it’s been freezing the past couple weeks. Matter fact i think the only reason it’s mild is cause there hasn’t been snow yet, but i’ve been assless for weeks now after freezing it off in December.

    Wii is good for intermittent play sessions, but for days you stay inside a lot – weekends – it’s hard to squeeze 2 hours out of that thing.

  7. Linxdev permalink
    January 15, 2007 3:51 pm

    I’m 31. Still a kid though.

    I can spend a few hours per day on the Wii. Mostly Zelda. I can not play Wii Sports for extended periods.

  8. Frisby permalink
    January 15, 2007 6:56 pm

    Well here in the Oklahoma panhandle it has been REEEEAAAALLLL effin cold. Lots of snow too.

  9. Anonymous permalink
    April 6, 2008 2:26 pm

    That’s great.

Leave a Reply

