Skip to content

3 kiis to success

January 12, 2007
by

According to Amped News, here’s what Nintendo needs to unlock Wii’s full potential, in snippets.

1) For Pete’s Sake, Get Some Third Party Support
Although the Wii’s launch lineup was a pinch better than the PS3’s, it wasn’t the best we’ve ever seen. Well, how many launches are spectacular, for that matter? The point is, even though the Wii had an alright launch lineup, how will it do further down the road when the PS3 and Xbox 360 are sweeping up all of the third party publishers? The PS3 may seem a bit shaky right now, but don’t be fooled, as soon as its third party cavalry comes through in about mid-2007, it will be at the top of its game. The Xbox 360 is probably at that middle ground. It’s not bad by any means, but its support isn’t nearly as extensive as Sony’s. So where does that leave Nintendo? Well it’s anyone’s guess, but it could leave them begging for scraps at the edge of the table.

2) The Internet is a Series of Tubes
So maybe Ted Stevens has nothing to do with Nintendo, but the fact still remains that the Japanese gaming giant needs to finally jump on board the phenomenon that is the internet. And I mean make a real effort, not some half-assed attempt. Sure they “plan” to offer more online support, but a Wii optimized Opera browser, weather reports, and a small handful of online ready titles isn’t something I would consider solid online support in the face of Sony’s PlayStation Network; let alone Xbox Live. Nintendo really needs to create a plan for an online strategy. The fact is, online play augments the game’s longevity, and adds more possibilities for developers to toy with. I’m sorry, but I really don’t need a Mario Party 8; but if you’re going to shove it down my throat, at least give me online multiplayer.

3) How Many Times Can I Swing a Sword?
This isn’t so much of an immediate problem as it is a future concern. What does the future hold for sword-wielding adventures and gun-toting exploits? The concern has been risen that emulating the same real life tasks from game to game will eventually get old. Essentially what Nintendo has on their hands is a gimmick. Don’t get me wrong now–it’s a great gimmick and one that I think will last…if utilized properly. So far they haven’t run into any issues with variety. I can cook, play football, drive a truck, shoot a gun, and cut open a patient–what more can I ask for? The problem lies with the flood of mediocre games that come out offering the same exact features of titles before it. Unless publishers in the future push the limits of innovation, as the console itself did, it will simply grow stagnant and there really won’t be much to write home about.

These points are so old with me that hearing them reiterated gets close to sickening. I just wish other people would wake the fuck up and realize it so we won’t have to keep talking to ourselves while rehashing opinions.

Add AN’s Amadeo Plaza to our list of missionaries anyway. Click over to read his full version.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2007 8:54 pm

    Even fanboys know everything that guy wrote. They find comfort in ignoring it and taking pictures of PS3’s sitting in a pyramid.

    Wii has made me board of gaming.

  2. Linxdev permalink
    January 12, 2007 9:36 pm

    I’m going to have to agree with #2 and #3 here.

    I have an Xbox and had Xbox Live. What I most enjoyed about Xbox Live was how easy it was to play a game. Every thing felt integrated and %40 a year IMO was a steal for the level of service I got.

    On the PS2 the network sucked. Each publisher required an account to be setup for their network and many times there were issues with their network. MS raised the bar with online gaming.

    As for #3 they need to be careful about that remote. I have the Eye Toy and a few games. It was cool for a few weeks and then became a gimmick. I think Wii Sports will have a similar effect on me as well. For a game to be fun there needs to be focus on all aspects. Not just the controller.

    Saying all that I still love the Wii.

  3. January 12, 2007 11:51 pm

    Amped News basically restated old conerns, but i guess it had to be said with all the pro-Wii anti-PS3 news/propoganda you hear now. I shelved Wii Sports weeks ago. It gets play from me only about once every 3 weeks, making it feel like we’re a middle-aged married couple. I’m the wife.

    Wifi is flat out busted on Wii. Messages were about the only substantial thing on it, and those got old quick. You can’t post a bulletin message for all your add book friends to see, you can only send messages to one person at a time, they disappear from your console once you send, they take a while to process (both ways), and it’s not an effin feature. Matter of fact, how’s DS wifi holding up? I haven’t heard much news about wifi in that area for a while. Maybe it’s the whole “year just started” thing.

    We get a lot of casual comers and goers and occassional revisits, but Linxdev seems to be some sort of regular (that didn’t come from Infendo, i think) and we appreciate that, mate. It’s good to speak to others as well for a change.

  4. Linxdev permalink
    January 13, 2007 4:26 pm

    Thanks.

    I did not know about infendo (until now). What i actually did was do a search to try and find out information about the VC releases for the Wii. Somehow I found this place instead. My main motivation in purchasing the Wii was for VC support. There are some nice titles there but so far I’ve been disappointed. I’m a huge Mario Kart fan so I was looking forward to playing Mario Kart 64. Its the only one I’ve not played. And yes I’ve played the arcade version at a place called “Fannie Farkle’s” in Gatlinburg, TN last July. If I had $20K I would purchase a set and install in my home. I’ve not won the lotto yet. I have a feeling they’ll be no Mario Kart 64 until around summer. I guess what I think are the good games are the ones that will be last released for the VC.

    On wifi I might have mentioned this before here but there are problems that need to be addressed. It appears there is an issue when your AP is set to channel 6. Well guess what?!? By default most US AP’s are set to 6! I’m a geek and still had issues programming the various APs I’ve connected to to channel 1. 1 or 11 is what I’ve read that made all wireless problems go away. And once you do change to 1 and 11 things work _much_ better!

  5. January 13, 2007 10:10 pm

    It’s nice to know we earned ya, and that we came up in a search (guess SEO really does work). We’ll definitely be breathing down the VC’s neck until it validates itself.

    What’s this AP setting you’re talking about? Is it on the console or the router?

  6. Linxdev permalink
    January 13, 2007 10:17 pm

    The AP setting is on the router. It is the channel that the router uses. I’ve read that Nintendo recommends either 1 or 11 to make all the slowness disappear. When I changed all the slowness did disappear.

  7. January 13, 2007 10:24 pm

    I’ll give my neighbor a ring and let him know.

  8. January 15, 2007 6:13 pm

    They’ll do great, one thing though: get GOOD third party games. My younger brother buys licensed DS games of younger cartoons and boy do they SUCK!

  9. January 17, 2007 11:04 pm

    Linxdev, do you change the AP directly on the router, or is there an application on the PC that talks to the router to do that?

  10. Linxdev permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:04 am

    open a web browser to configure your Access Point. Change it directly on the AP,

  11. Linxdev permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:06 am

    As far as licensing goes many games based on licenses tend to suck. It is hard to take something like “March of the Penguins” and create a game
    based on that. The whole purpose of doing it is to simply milk money out of the license.

    I honestly don’t think I played one through to completion. Or at least I don’t remember doing it.

  12. January 18, 2007 1:31 am

    Unless you count Pokemon or Ninja Turtles. I played through them lots, but they did have a fair share of development TLC tucked inside. That’s to say they weren’t straight up “TMNT/Pokemon: The Movie”. Simpsons did a good job, too. DS isn’t the place nor in the right time for good licensed games. The 90’s are thattaway *points back*.

  13. June 17, 2007 5:06 pm

    I love lamp.

  14. July 14, 2007 4:56 am

    What does that mean, friz? There’s some kid on my PSN friends list who has that as his quote.

  15. September 5, 2007 11:18 am

    LAMP = Linux (OS) + Apache (server OS) + MySQL (database software) + PHP or Perl (programming).

  16. September 5, 2007 2:44 pm

    I thought it was an Anchorman (The Legend of Ron Burgandy) reference.

  17. September 5, 2007 3:29 pm

    I thought that was “I love Scotch! Scotchy, Scotch, Scotch…

  18. September 5, 2007 3:47 pm

    No, not that. The Steve Carrell character randomly says “I love lamp” in one of the office scenes. Terrible movie, by the way.

  19. September 6, 2007 11:14 am

    Didn’t see it. I just love the line “I love Scotch! Scotchy, Scotch, Scotch…

  20. December 19, 2007 9:56 am

    Hi buddie
    starvation

  21. December 19, 2007 10:02 am

    That starvation link is a link to more links than I have ever seen. I am genuinely impressed.

  22. July 27, 2008 6:51 pm

    Доброго времени суток, форумчане сайта intendo.wordpress.com 😉

    Ответьте мне, пожалуйста, на несколько вопросов…
    – какая программа умеет автоматически за НЕСКОЛЬКО СЕКУНД регистрировать ящики на mail.ru и многих других почтовиках?
    – какая программа умеет автоматом рассылать по mamba.ru и loveplanet.ru по заданным параметрам, при этом еще поддерживая функции автоответчика?
    – а также сможет разослать по форумам текст (например) “где купить валенки?”, а потом в ответ на этот текст ОТ ДРУГОГО имени и IP написать (например) “только на сайте megavalenki.ru!”?
    – плюс распознаёт картинки и вопросы а-ля “что написано на этой картинке?”, “сколько будет 2+2?” и “какой сейчас год?” и умеет корректно на них отвечать?
    – какая программа сможет разослать топики по форумам, попутно автоматически регистрироваться на них и создавая подробный отчет о проделанной работе?
    – и при этом работает с разнообразными движками – phpBB, VBulletin, IPB, ExBB, Icon Board, YaBB, UltimateBB, множеством различных гостевых, досок и блогов?
    – какую программу вы МОЖЕТЕ переделать под свой вкус?
    – какая программа автоматически обновляет прокси / SOCKS, обеспечивая вам полную анонимность? (достаточно просто нажать ОДНУ кнопку)
    – какая программа умеет рассылать персональные сообщения всем пользователям форумов phpBB, IPB, VBulletin?
    – какая программа отсортирует Вашу базу ссылок по Google PageRank?
    – какая программа МАССОВО отредактирует все Ваши ранее разосланные объявления по форумам?
    – и при этом еще регулярно обновляется и совершенствуется.

    Ответ ОДИН: всё это и многое другое под силу программному комплексу XRumer 4.085 Platinum Edition + Hrefer 2.85
    Данный комплекс имеет множество отзывов на авторитетных источниках (Washington Post, Wikipedia и т.п.), имеет историю активного развития более 3-х лет.

    Просто спроси у Яндекса! 😉

    См. также: мощная спамилка, XRumer, хрумер, линкспам, SEO, разослать по форумам и гостевым, XRumer Platinum, PPC, белое СЕО, doorways, чёрное СЕО, white SEO, распознавание графической защиты, программы для SEO, XRumer 3.0 устарел, рефспам, распознавание капчи, XRumer 2.9 устарел, постинг, хрумер 3.0 устарел, программы для СЕО, распознавание текстовой защиты, софт для SEO, постинг по блогам, софт для СЕО, хрумер 2.9 устарел, дорвеи, black SEO, XRumer forever, рассылка по форумам, суперсофт для SEO, СЕО

  23. October 28, 2008 8:26 pm

    I read some of the posts and I think it is a great place! I like to utilize my rainy strength Wanna good joke? A neutron goes into a barber shop and asks the barber, “How much for a haircut?” The barber replies, “For you, no charge.”

  24. May 31, 2009 8:50 am

    All new webmasters!
    Council all allOne hundred percentpartnerku, all without cheating money list on the second day after reaching the limit, the result is 100%, there are bonuses to 120,000 dollars, register for free-http://germanfriendfinder.com/go/g1111998-brk
    P.S love planet-there is everything! Germanfriendfinder: nothing lost …
    See you!

  25. December 12, 2010 6:46 pm

    I know that many people search for keys for Uniblue PowerSuite 2010. I know that they are here: http://www.komp-nora.ru/index.php?topic=25.0

  26. April 24, 2011 12:00 am

    -, . . , , , , , , . . . .
    .: (44) 233-03-96, (44) 332-60-75, (67) 947-19-49, . (67) 947-19-49
    Web: http://www.shtepsell.net.ua

  27. May 22, 2011 11:49 am

    http://www.cyberlocos.org Ver foro – Malwares – Troyanos – Crimewarez – Botnets

  28. November 30, 2012 5:16 pm

    Hello friends,

    Few years ago I was left with nothing.

    I had to move in a foreign country that I know only few people.

    All this time I was on this page reading stories.

    the only thing I had

    Thanks to everyone

  29. February 11, 2013 6:24 am

    “3 kiis to success intendo ~ the anti-fansite” ended up being a superb posting.
    However, if it owned much more photos it would likely be
    quite possibly more beneficial. Thank u -Betsy

  30. November 28, 2013 3:34 am

    Delivered pictures
    http://blowjobs.sexblog.pw/?maria
    telugu erotic stories erotic jokes erotic movie erotic chess erotic horror movie

  31. SONAMegy permalink
    April 7, 2015 1:21 pm

    Hallo, #uname!

    I want to share with you watch online shop http://gadget2cart.com link.
    More than 2,500 elegant watches for male and female at low price in one place.
    I was extremely surprised by a huge choice of high quality and fashionable watches offered here.
    They sale mechanical, quartz, electronic, led, unisex, keychain, ring, ceramic, polymer clay, calories and heart rate, kids, silicone, pocket, couple, Geneva, bracelet, vintage and any other watches.
    P.S. Share the watch You like with Your friends on Facebook and get 10% discount!

Leave a Reply

