Skip to content

It’s raining outside, and on my Wii???

January 6, 2007

So I commented a while back saying it would be awesome if Animal Crossing integrate with the forecast channel and your town of choice.

Well it seems it may happen. Nothing really concrete, just a Nintendo rep’s banter.

A brief chat with a local Nintendo rep led me to some interesting new facts – most notably that Nintendo is hard at work on Animal Crossing for the Wii (no surprise there, but it’s good to know it’s coming). I didn’t get too many details from the guy, but what I can tell you is that it will most definitely be online enabled, just as its DS counterpart was and GameCube counterpart should have been. As far as classic games that were included in the original, no official decision has been made yet as to if they’ll be the Wii version. The coolest little bit of info was the fact that the game will actually connect into your Forecast channel so that the game’s weather will actually reflect what’s going on outside. No release date was specified, but the rep I talked to expected that we should be getting it at some point this year” Wii Cafe

This would make the Weather Channel much more valuable to me. I am just excited to see some new Wii Animal Crossing features, this would definitely be one of them.

Frisby

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Toxic permalink
    January 6, 2007 9:03 pm

    I thought of this back when the original was released. “Wouldn’t it be cool if my GameCube could connect to the internet and receive my local weather data?” Well, now it could quite possibly happen. Too bad southern California doesn’t get any snow…

    Something in which to ponder:
    The weather channel also tracks temperature data. Could there be varying levels of hot and cold in Animal Crossing Wii? If so, what effects could be seen? I’d love to see my AC human/Mii sweat a bit.

  2. frisby permalink
    January 6, 2007 9:22 pm

    YEAH! WELL… I thought of it when I played GTA3 on PS2… so THERE.

    J/K. Yeah, it would be cool if you could choose which city to sync with so ya’ll Cali boys and girls can get some variety.

  3. frisby permalink
    January 6, 2007 9:24 pm

    “The weather channel also tracks temperature data. Could there be varying levels of hot and cold in Animal Crossing Wii? If so, what effects could be seen? I’d love to see my AC human/Mii sweat a bit.”

    Like steam coming from your mouth and stuff. That would rock. Maybe it could go as far to become a sim. Feed yourself, and other towns people.
    You are too hot, take of that sweater fool, it’s summer!!

    May end up overkill. Oh well. It would be cool either way.

  4. January 6, 2007 11:49 pm

    If that happens, you’d have to set the AC clock back about 7 hours so it could coordinate with the Forecast channel properly.

Leave a Reply

