Skip to content

Taking a Gamble

December 29, 2006

gfdnnfg1.jpg
I for one am not really big into reserving games anymore. After the whole Zelda delay, I really have no love paying or something that I may never live to play. What if I was hit by a bus within the 2 years I had that game reserved? That was money I could have put towards happiness, or some Taco Bell.

So after that venture, I decided to go ahead and never reserve a game without a definite release date and it had to be within a few months. Why did I make up this personal rule? I made it up to go with a game I reserved a few days ago. Shame!

After witching this video I discovered there is one truth, I want to look like a total asshole and dance myself silly. I want to bust out a 4 player mini-game battle with the originality Mario Party titles have been missing for a while now.

Wario Ware: Smooth Moves.

First off I will point out I have never owned a Wario Ware game before. I played the DS demo at a EB a while back and the “odd” mini games where cool, but there was always another DS game I would rather be playing. That is NOT one of problems with the Wii at this point and time since the few games I do own, to me, are the only ones worth owning at this point and time. Also, after the awesome fun me and my wife have taking turns playing Trauma Center, I am especially excited about playing Wario Ware: Smooth Moves with her.

Is this a gamble at all? Sure. The game could be 5 minutes long and end up in the back of my game shelf behind XIII, and the 5 hour long Luigi’s Mansion.

I will admit this would make a great rental game, but I feel with the info at hand that this game is worth of being owned by me.

What do you guys think?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2006 1:07 pm

    I have never been too attracted to “mini games”… I like them for parties, but right now Wii Sports is doing nicely!

    Personally, I prefer games that take you deeper and deeper into the game, where higher levels would be impossible to achieve without having to go through the lower levels first, and where everything is connected by a story.

  2. frisby permalink
    December 29, 2006 1:19 pm

    We.. me to. I love deep storylines and epic adventures.

    However those games are kind of lonley, and I feel Wario Ware would another game to show people when they come over to check out the Wii. You can appriciate it after 2 seconds, while playing Zelda in front of someone may not grab them as fast.

    I remember you saying how much you enjoyed Excite Truck and where laughing out loud with how much fun it was. This is what I expect WW:SM to be like.

  3. December 29, 2006 2:12 pm

    Yeah, I did enjoy it!! I’m still entertaining the thought of getting that one at a later date, I’ve even started storing my MP3s in a card for it.

    I have to start concentrating in a couple of games, though…

  4. December 29, 2006 2:31 pm

    yeah, i know the feeling. “Entertainment Overload” is a term my wife and I dubbed for owning too many video games unbeaten at once.

    Excite truck is a great pick up and play, especially if you got some ot tracks.

  5. December 29, 2006 10:39 pm

    its nice to have long in depth games you can play by yourself, but having played this game before I must say warioware is going to be a wicked party game. Just wack it out when you’ve got some friends over. It’ll be a blast.

  6. December 30, 2006 3:38 am

    No game is worth reserving unless there’s a pre-order offer like a plush or somethin. It’s like getting a non-existant gift card with worthless promises. Lay off the tacos, though.

    Elebits turned out to be way too long. Someone gave me a copy of Splinter Cell Double Agent and the ‘bits went on hiatus for that. Controls stink but you get used to em, and the story’s good. Those 2 games are enough for me to reach Wii overload. I may get all those $10 Cube games, too, and afterwards I’ll never buy a Wii game again. I swear it this time.

    Free time just aint what it used to be, aint what it used to be, aint what it used to be…

  7. December 30, 2006 2:53 pm

    Well I had gift card money. You see money burns a hole in m pocket like fire sauce on a grilled stuffed burrito. The game would come out and I would do the “I want I want I want” any my wife would slap me around. This is just wishful thinking.

    Cube does need some love tho. I still have a lot of Wii to play for now and free time is still scarce for me as well.

    LAME!

  8. Linxde permalink
    January 1, 2007 9:44 pm

    I must be the weird one int his group. I actually loved XIII. I played it on the XBOX and finished it. I spent a good many hours online with it too. I’m not going to spoil the ending but I can’t wait for a sequel. I feel that with the lackluster sales and reviews I may be waiting forever.

    Back on topic, the last game I reserved was DOOM for the XBOX. I got the nice little pewter “Baron of Hell” and paid my $5.00. When it eventually was released I had lost interest. I never reclaimed my $5 and I rented it and beat it over a weekend with help from a friend. I remember that when I did reserve it there was a 3 month wait on the game. I believe that wait turned to 12+ months. After such a long wait I just lost interest in playing it.

Leave a Reply

