Skip to content

My VC Wish List

December 12, 2006

Since Rollin’s last post, I was daydreaming about what Virtual Console Game I just NEED. Need being the meaning for “Worth the Price”.

Here is my list, please add yours in the comments section.

Punch Out (NES)

Super Punch Out (SNES)

Earthbound (SNES)

Contra (NES)

Contra Hard Corps (SNES)

Comix Zone (SEGA)

Earthrorm Jim (SNES or Sega)

Mario Paint (SNES)

Conker’s Bad Fur Day (N64)

X-Men 2 Clone Wars (Sega)

TMNT – The Hyperstone Hiest

Tetris 64 (N64)

…and thats about it for now.

Frisby

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2006 1:48 pm

    My list is really short:

    Vector Man (Sega)

    Yoshi’s Story (N64)

    Pokémon Snap! (N64)

  2. frisby permalink
    December 12, 2006 4:46 pm

    I have Pokemon snap. I would like to play Yoshi’s Story

    Vector man never spoke to me.

  3. December 12, 2006 4:53 pm

    Oh I-man, you’re not even trying. C’mon man, don’t be like all these dicktards that just wanna replay an old game they liked. I want the VC for those games that i thought nothing of at the time and have heard good things about since, games i never heard of, or games that i only recently heard of and never played, like Gunstar.

    Out of the games i’ve played before that you mentioned friz, i’d only put money down on the New Tetris, which may or may not be Tet 64, not sure. I’d only played it at an old friend’s house a few years ago and never owned it, but it’s THE quintissential multiplayer game of pad-n-buttons gameplay.

    I’d really just like to see them put up a respectable enough amount of games to call it a virtual console. It’s stupid that Mario 64 is the only 64 game, and F-zero and Sim City have to hold down the SNES. It’s even more stupid that they only put up 4 games a week. There’s so much i missed during the N64 since i had a PS first, and i’d seriously consider a few of them. Genesis and SNES i enjoyed mutually, so there is little i missed, but you keep your eyes open.

    TurboGrafx is probably the most looked forward to system on there due to its obscurity in America. Y’s Book 1 & 2 or somesuch is something i might pay for, i’ve heard good things. Plus it’s an RPG and i’d probably get my $6 worth. There’s a load of possibilities in this thing, but Nintendo’s slacking with it right now.

  4. December 12, 2006 5:03 pm

    Correction: Nintendo of America is slacking — Europe not only gets to know which titles they’re getting, but they receive 6 a week. Go fire some rant e-mails at NOA.

  5. December 12, 2006 5:48 pm

    Hey! I never played Gunstar Heroes, which is now at the top of my VC list! (Thanks to your reviews!)

    I also got my eye on the original Zelda, if I ever get the time…

    But I’d really like to start seeing some original content in there like they have in Xbox LIVE Arcade, and I know you do too.

  6. December 12, 2006 7:57 pm

    Some stuff I’ve heard good things about and stuff I want to play again:

    Blaster Master (NES)

    The Earthbound prequel (title?) (NES)

    Metal Warriors (SNES)

    A translated “Captain Tsubasa” (NES and SNES)

    Captain Tsubasa is a soccer RPG (believe it) that I used to play the hell out of on my famicom, even though i couldn’t understand the fricking Japanesey. So fun.

  7. frisby permalink
    December 13, 2006 12:52 am

    I have blaster master on NES. Having a save state on the VC will have an advantage, that game is LONG.

  8. December 13, 2006 4:28 am

    The Tetris game that everyone should want is Tetris Attack – with online play. I’d throw down $250 the day Nintendo announced that. I really feel like Nintendo should, you know, actually UPDATE these games a bit, like Microsoft does with many of the Xbox Live Marketplace releases.

  9. December 13, 2006 6:39 pm

    True words, man. Gunstar is about the only game worth anything on the VC right now.

    You know, they have an update button somewhere, i think it’s on the shop channel, so you can update each VC game in some way. The theory i’ve heard is for security tweaks or something, and less likely, some new additions like online or whatever else Live Arcade-esque feature these VC games lack. I mean, the button is there, so we can hope, right?

    I’ll keep an eye out for Tetris Attack, which i believe is what that Pokemon Puzzle game is based on and therefore i’ve played it, but it doesn’t hold a candle to The New Tetris. Captain Wasabi sounds fun, Ryan. Hook a brotha up with a ROM, under the table.

  10. December 13, 2006 7:41 pm

    done.

Leave a Reply

