Skip to content

Follow the Treasure

December 12, 2006
by

Last night, i fell asleep looking forward to “VC Monday”. I had 1000 Wii Points burning a hole in my Shop Channel and was dying to see what crap Nintendo would shill this week. In the morning, my friend was a frog and John Goodman beat me senseless, but when i awoke there was a new channel on my Wii interface.

Gunstar Heroes from Treasure, the Genesis game i’ve heard so much about yet never played. Now i’ve played it, and i dig. I dig lots. Nintendo finally nailed one for me, and i can play it with the remote. What else could i want (besides decent pricing and more games)? It was opportunistic on their part, because surely they’ve read all my blog entries over the past year talking about how great Gunstar Super Heroes must be, monitoring my Google searches for the original Gunstar. They know me too well…That’s how they fuck me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. frisby permalink
    December 12, 2006 2:11 am

    Just like they know I didn’t get a SNES so they don’t release shit for it. WH DO THEY HATE US!!??

  2. December 12, 2006 3:26 am

    Oh dude gunstar heroes is the SHIT! I remember playing that game in like, 7th grade, and never really finishing it with my friend, but we’d just keep playing and playing cause it was so much fun.

    I even have it on an emulator on my N-gage and painfully played through a few stages with no sound and it was still fun. It’s that fucking good.

  3. December 12, 2006 1:45 pm

    Another one for my “wish list”…

  4. December 12, 2006 4:34 pm

    Don’t i know it, brotha. And you can do multi, how sick is that. With Wii remotes acting as Genesis pads! I love it.

    It is crazy fun, and hardcore to the bone. I wish Treasure would make a commitment to new VC games and make a buncha little downloadable masterpieces for it. I’m dying to see what kinda graphics and controls these new games will sport. Somehow i don’t believe the notion that they’ll all use SNES graphics.

  5. Suoer Saiya-jin Lance permalink
    April 29, 2007 7:12 pm

    I am a veteran gamer who has been playing games since I was 4 and I had a hard time beating this. Piece of advice: it’s easier in two player and caffeine helps. 8 cups of coffee is what it took for me.

    Actually, its only easier in two player if your partner is good. Otherwise, you’ll just die faster.

  6. June 13, 2007 11:25 pm

    Thanks for the advice. Soon as that Wii update that gives VC games online multiplayer comes out, i’ll put it to use.

Leave a Reply

