Skip to content

I blow the VC…and blow $20 too. ***UPDATED***

December 7, 2006

So the wife goes out of town for 2 days. What should I do???

Have an extravagant party? Have an obnoxious poker night and smoke blunts…err…cigars?

NO!!!

I sit on the couch. I look to my left. I look to my right…and I pull out my credit card. I go and visit the video game store. The “Virtual” video game store. The Virtual Console video game store.

virtual-console-can-blow-me.jpg

I got to say if I was the Angry Nintendo Nerd, the NES VC selection would be one of the top layers of hell. I have 4 of the NES titles for sale. Coincidentally, I have most of the NES games I feel are worth buying, as show below.

000_0007.jpg

So I browse and like most people really want to see what Bonk is all about. After entering my credit card 4 times, I finally add points succesfully. I buy Bonk, tell the site “yes I wnant to buy it” it tells me what this means.

“Blah blah, you will use this much, blah blah, you will have this much left, blah blah” Give me my effin’ game already!!!

I finally hit all of the right buttons and Mario starts running and picking up coins. Much more entertaining than the typical windows loading screen as seen below.

untitled-1.jpg

So once Mario gets his 10 coins from the last block we can move on. I get an extra channel and have to reorganize everything because thats just the way it is.

000_0004.jpg

Bonk is kinda queer. Not so much queer in the homosexual sense, because it is, but the controls are queer. And by that I mean crappy. Not very responsive and and the graphics looked like later NES titles.

I still had 14 bucks so bought a much better Turbo Grafix game Super Solder Hero. I couldn’t really tell what the game was. It says its a vertical side scrolled but dosent tell you much else. I couldn’t tell if it was a Galaga game or a Contra game like the title leads you to believe. Turns out to be an evolved Galaga clone, abut it is a solid arcade styled shoot em’ up space game fighter game.

000_0005.jpg

I decided to go with Sonic for my finale, since I needed to blow 6 bucks and all of the other Sega games kinda sucked.

I almost reached for my Wavebird but decided to give the Wii remote a chance. Sonic kept jumping on his own and Bonk really just was not responsive.

Wavebird to the rescue.

Sonic was an improvement, and I thought Bonk sucked ass because of the Wii Remote but the Wavebird tells no lies. Bonk just has crapy controls.

word.jpg

Thats about it. I really anxious for some good SNES titles and some of my favorite Sega titles. Until then, wont be getting on my knees for the VC for a while.

Frisby

***UPDATE***

It seems that in Bonk, and all Turbo Grafix games, X and Y (on the Wavebird) are the turbo buttons. This makes the game suck much less ass, but there is still quite a bit more ass sucking going around in this game.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2006 5:31 pm

    I still highly recommend Super Mario 64… it is worth a second look, this time in progressive mode!

  2. December 8, 2006 6:39 pm

    Not on our tvs. Me and Friz have 4:3 non-progs. Too bad i couldn’t take part in that Amazon sale of a 26″ LCD HDTV for $200 yesterday.

  3. frisby permalink
    December 8, 2006 7:27 pm

    until my company has HD channels that are not sports, I will be very excited about HD. That and HD DVD players have to be cheap. I like movies.

  4. December 8, 2006 7:43 pm

    Damn straight. I even wish Nintendo would either let us DL a DVD channel, or a patch to incorporate the DVD movie format into the Disc channel. It’d be so convenient for me.

    Too many capital D’s in this comment.

Leave a Reply

