Skip to content

Wii averages worst of next-gen

November 25, 2006
by

Well well well, waddaya know.

Here are the averages, as compiled by 1up:

Xbox 360 – 77.3 Average Score, 18 games

* Best: Call of Duty 2 – 90.1
* Worst: FIFA 06 Road to FIFA World Cup – 61.9

PlayStation 3 – 73.4 Average Score, 13 games

* Best: Resistance: Fall of Man – 89.2
* Worst: Mobile Suit Gundam: Crossfire – 34.8

Wii – 71.3 Average Score, 20 games

* Best: Legend of Zelda: the Twilight Princess – 96.2
* Worst: Happy Feet – 45.0

With Happy Feet, Barnyard, GT Pro Series, and Spongebob: Legend of the Krusty Krab, how could you lose?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2006 4:33 am

    Well, that’s what happens when you try to line up too many games on launch day! The bad will typically outnumber the good…

    Interesting to note, however, that the Wii and the Dreamcast got the highest-ranked launch games of all time! Uh-oh… bad karma?

  2. November 26, 2006 5:23 pm

    lol Bad Karma….That is What Happens When You Line Up To Many Games On Launch Date. lol 🙂

  3. November 26, 2006 8:07 pm

    All the articles really tells me is that launch games are pretty much the same all around, there’s always gonna be a mix of good and bad. Hell, you could say the same about videogames in general.

  4. November 26, 2006 8:42 pm

    Yea, but these are averages. As a console goes along, the average can stay the same, but the number of good to great games increases dramatically (so we hope). Since this is launch and there are exactly this many games available, the average is more telling of the overall quality of the games.

  5. November 26, 2006 11:05 pm

    I get it, but my point was just that since almost all the average launch scores hovered in the 70s, the Wii having the worst score of the 3 new systems has less of an impact.

    And as you yourself pointed out, the Jappos got some kickass launch titles, so Wii could in fact have a better average overall.

    I’m pretty sure that Wii will get some better games developed for it, just like the DS, after it matures some.

  6. November 27, 2006 1:14 am

    Oh, i see what you’re sayin. It’s a lose-lose situation. Can’t get the monkey if you don’t buy the cage, i getcha.

  7. Ryuben permalink
    November 27, 2006 2:38 pm

    The Wii launch seems to be mostly comprised of games that SHOULD NOT be using the Wii control scheme.
    As much as I am enjoying Zelda, I can’t help but wish I was using a game-pad to play it.

    I really hope that future Wii titles do one of two things.

    1.) Design the game around the Wii controls from the ground up.
    or
    2.) Let us use a damned game-pad. (Like Smash Brothers Brawl)

    So far, I’ve played Zelda, Trauma Center and Wii Sports. None of these titles have wowed me with their controls. I’m not seeing any “outside of the box” thinking. While I’m enjoying all three, I really feel (with the exception of Wii sports) that I’d have better control (not to mention, a better time) with a game-pad or a mouse.

    The only title on the horizon that seems to have what I’m looking for as far as controls go is Elebits. And boy did it suck when I played it at Digital Life. If this game controls like it’s supposed to when it comes out, I think we’ll have a gem on our hands.

    ~Ruben

    P.S.
    Here’s hoping for a Pilotwings game!

  8. Ryuben permalink
    November 27, 2006 2:41 pm

    Basically what I’m trying to say is that I feel developers really need to explore the possibilities of this new control scheme so we can start seeing some truly remarkable Wii games. I want to feel like I have MORE control over a game, not less.

  9. November 27, 2006 3:05 pm

    Although probably not a truly remarkable game, I have been enjoying Monkey Ball Banana Blitz more than I did the originals on GameCube, precisely because the remote is far better suited for its type of gameplay than a traditional controller.

    Other than that, yes, it seems to me that many Wii launch games slapped the remote control scheme onto games that didn’t need it. I still haven’t played Tony Hawk’s Downhill Jam, though… that one seems like it will work GREAT with the motion-sensor remote! Anyone experienced that one yet?

  10. Ryuben permalink
    November 27, 2006 3:22 pm

    Oh really?
    I need to check out monkey ball then.

Leave a Reply

