Skip to content

Bursting at the Wiis

November 20, 2006
by

I just got in from a 24-hour Wii binge. Haven’t slept in almost 36 hours. Currently i’m updating my Wii through wifi and watching the blue progress bar crawl along. (Yea Frisby, i managed to make my Wii console piggyback the wifi signal my DS has been hogging since last year. And you said i couldn’t last…) I will fall asleep in a few, after taking this in some more, and seeing what i can fool around with on Wii-fi.

Let me tell you something, folks — everything i’ve been psyched for about Wii has been triple underline, italicized, and lit on blue fire by this console. I didn’t have a shred of excitement in me when i sat in the 1000-people line at Toys R Us (twice), and i’ve written many nasty things about certain aspects of it on this and other sites. Now i know that my confidence in the system, regardless of how poorly Nintendo supports it in the first few months, was well placed. I literally spent 17 hours of November 19th — starting from immediately after getting my Wii box — playing Wii Sports with friends, amazing them, witnessing the concussive blast that Wii emits to everyone who encounters it. It is the most fun console ever to have existed up until this point. No way around it. If the imaginable and unfathomable possibilities don’t flow through your brain yet after having it for this first day of consumer availability, you need to grab that remote/nunchuk and choke yourself till you get it. Wii is what gaming should have been 10 years ago.

Listen, before you dismiss me as a Nintendo foot soldier, read through this site. I’ve been so jaded about Wii throughout its pre-release that i was almost expecting them to release a device that would equate to no more than a DS capable of displaying only one screen. The system’s manifestation has almost entirely changed my frame of mind. I look at games differently now, much more differently than i did 48 hours ago. I know that the visual clarity and processing potency of a console will be the foremost judged characteristics of these computers. The thing is, Wii changes the stereotype of the gaming console. Wii isn’t a computer. Wii is the toy that your parents used to think the NES and SNES were, but better. This is digital entertainment, and i’ve never been so digitally entertained in my life.

That’s the name of that tune. I can’t get WiiConnect24 to work because of an error code. Damn neighbors and their firewalls. I’m tired, so i’ll fill you in on my launch shenanigans later. Don’t take my raving above as the death knell of Intendo, rather as a positive turn of events for gaming and the gaming public. But i’ll only give Nintendo the credit they deserve when they fulfill every promise made about the system before now, promises and potential that needs to be lived up to. Until that time, they made a damn fine entertainment device that people will instantly love, a device that has bright prospects and a bright future, a future that depends on them holding up their full end of the bargain.

Software aside, Wii is the future of technological diversion for the consumer. Going by the last 24 hours, Wii will have a wonderful “life” and this medium will have a more fruitful life because of it.

…aaand scene.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2006 12:19 pm

    I had a similar experience on my first day with my Wii. But even more significantly, my wife loved it too, and did the unimaginable: she spent over three hours playing Wii Sports with me! The funny thing is, we spent about as many hours fooling around with the Mii and the photo channels. Like you said, all software aside, the bare features of the Wii plus the packaged Wii Sports alone are enough to keep you entertained for the first week.

    Having said that, I must confess that I got the Rayman game with it, and unlike Infendo’s Scott, I didn’t like it that much. Don’t get me wrong: I did have fun with it and many of the mini games had me laughing out loud, but the gameplay is just like going to one of the many free Flash game sites and trying them all out. There were a few that I really liked, like the dancing game and the first-person rail shooters, but they felt more like a demo of the possibilities for the Wii than actual games. Plus, having to go through some other of the games wasn’t that much fun. I’m setting my sights again on Super Monkey Ball Banana Blitz for a fun Wii party game…

    No complaints, though, the experience of the new controller does make you feel like this is the future of gaming, and it is going to be difficult going back to a traditional controller.

  2. November 20, 2006 1:47 pm

    Yesssss. I also bought Rayman, and feel the same as you. It’s like, you have an exciting brand new system, and a new full priced game for it, and want to be excited about it. But it feels so janky. Rayman moves like one of those walking toy robots, the graphics lack polish and seem Xbox-esque, and the minigames aren’t that fun to play.

    I played it with 2 other people and it failed. We couldn’t find any minigame that allowed all 3 to play simultaneously, and even though the rabbids are funny and got some LOLs, there wasn’t much to it. The rail shooter and dancing game got some modest acceptance, but the rest were mind numbingly unfun. I feel like selling it for Red Steel, so at least i know that those guys – who used to be Halo 2 obsessed – and i will have some kind of fun with the remote, like we did with Wii Sports. Wii Sports is a trip, man.

    Today i’ll suffer through all the games just to get the most out of it, but tonight i’m most probably gonna trade it in for Red Steel. Even though i didn’t trust the lineup, i trusted an off-kilter Wii game because of the system’s promise, but my gamble didn’t pay off. If not Red Steel, i’ll throw the safe money into Zelda. What a downer.

  3. frisby permalink
    November 20, 2006 2:07 pm

    Well I bought Rayman specifically for my wife and we had a role reversal. I went to bed and she stayed up playing video games.

    It is a fun game, worth $50 bucks???

    About the same value Excite Truck, another fun game with no meat.

    I will have a nice post about a Wii meal later tonight so I will shut up.

  4. November 20, 2006 5:17 pm

    Well, Rollin, just so you don’t get another lemon, I’ve been reading that, as far as First-Person Shooters are concerned, Call Of Duty 3 is a far, far safer bet than Red Steel. As a matter of fact, most reviewers are not liking Red Steel very much…

    I’m thinking of exchanging my Rayman for Monkey Ball… I need a good and challenging party game! I also more or less liked the original Monke Ball games on the GameCube, except for the controls, and it looks like this time around they got that right thanks to the more intuitive Wii remote.

  5. Francisco Ruben Arce permalink
    November 20, 2006 6:25 pm

    Dang…

    I was really excited about Rayman. From the screens it seemed to have the nicest visuals out of all the launch games.
    How many of the mini-games would you say you’ve played. There’s supposed to be around 70, I believe.

    Does it function as a party game?
    Is it more fun as a single player adventure?

    ~Ryuben

  6. frisby permalink
    November 20, 2006 6:47 pm

    70 games yes, but mostly the same games with diffrent music or harder versions. Proably more like 50.

  7. November 20, 2006 8:13 pm

    I decided on getting Zelda, I-man. It was the only safe bet. Can’t shake Red Steel’s worries. Rayman doesn’t function as a party game well enough and the a single player game is not more fun. Take this from someone who’s only desired title pre-launch was Raving Rabbids.

    While downtown earlier, i was trying to trade in Rayman (but couldn’t because they require ID now) and overheard a convo with a clerk and customer.

    Clerk: How can i help you?
    Guy: Hi, i’m looking for Rampage on the Wii.
    Clerk: Rampage? Hmm. Let me check.
    [She looks in a drawer.]
    Clerk: Um, i don’t have it here. All i see are Red Steels.

    Ouch. The Wii consumer base is smarter than i reckoned. Rampage, though? That’s worse than Red Steel. At least it’s only $30.

    I found a mom&pop shop that would give me 25 bucks for Rayman, but they sold out of Zelda. They get another shipment tomorrow. Rayman stays for one more day.

  8. November 21, 2006 5:46 am

    I agree on Zelda, it seems to be the reason to get a Wii, if the remote is not good reason enough. If you go to Metacritic, you’ll see that it scores an amazing average of the upper nineties! I mean, to get more than one perfect hundred is extremely rare in MC… Zelda has seven! Go get it, and good luck finding it, though!

    As for Rayman, it also was at the top of my desired Wii titles… but I would say liking it or not is more of a personal thing. In any case, I exchange it for $28 plus change at GameStop (they give you extra credit with their membership card) and got MonkeyBall. I don’t regret the exchange. It might be just me, but I absolutely loved the gameplay with the Wii remote! Its minigames, which, unlike Rayman, you can immediately play with others, have much more variety than Raving Rabbids. I also found the remote reception on this game to be much more accurate. This IS the game to test the remote’s sensitivity.

  9. November 21, 2006 8:07 pm

    *sigh* I wanna Wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!

  10. November 21, 2006 8:32 pm

    How long do you have to wait, Ryan?

  11. November 22, 2006 12:43 am

    christ I dunno. We’re so long down the pipeline it’ll be months, at least.people are speculating early next year, but I’m waiting to see how crazy the prices will be.

  12. frisby permalink
    November 22, 2006 9:05 am

    someone needs to ship you a wii.

  13. November 22, 2006 12:13 pm

    It should be soon, though right? Early next year aint bad. How about we help you out and make the wait a little less painful. Lemme tell you one thing to do it: Wii Sports is the funnest game i’ve ever played.

    Have fun waiting!

Leave a Reply

