Skip to content

Dual(screen) Shock

November 11, 2006
by

rumbletumble

DS is more like the N64 than i used to think.

Not only do the graphics reminisce over ’96, but the DS rumble pak couples touch with the sense of feel. I found it at a GameStop a few weeks ago for 5 bucks, and – since Atlus probably hides their GBA games in PS2 cases so i can’t find them – snagged it quick-like. It was the fat DS version, but what the hey.

I have 2 games that are compatible with this thing, Clubhouse and Metroid. Unfortunately, i couldn’t pretend i was playing Metroid Prime Echoes on my DS because i couldn’t find my copy of Hunters. I don’t play the damn game anymore (half because its now lost, 75% because it sucks offline and on), but i really wanted to have that rumble when i take a missile in the ass cheek. Somehow, Clubhouse Games didn’t offer the same rumbling allure as a handheld FPS, but oh well.

I stick Clubhouse back in. Rumble pak sticks out, which is sort of off-putting, but really doesn’t matter. However, it does come in a pitch black cartridge, so it blends into my Onyx Lite’s facade quite well. Time to play.


I’m a man’s man, that means i don’t read manuals, and hence i didn’t know how the rumble pak would work in a card game or playing chess until i got going. I could imagine bowling, though. Played an offline solo match of i-don’t-remember-what, and saw that it just shakes to let you know your turn is up. What else, right? This game is super low-fi anyway. Turns out the rumble advisory is helpful, especially for me because i like to bowl online while doing other things. The rumble pak lets me do it without constantly checking the screen(s) to see if i’m up. Handy dandy.

The shaking’s pretty good, about half or 35% as strong as i expect the Wii remote to have (considering that people say it’s weak), which is good. It’s also noisy. You only notice when the volume’s down, though.

Also reminiscent of the 64 is the growing list of compatible games:

Clubhouse Games (Nintendo)
Elite Beat Agents (Nintendo)
Magnetica (Nintendo)
Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time (Nintendo)
Metroid Prime: Hunters (Nintendo)
Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo)
Star Fox Command (Nintendo)
Star Trek: Tactical Assault (Bethesda Softworks)
Super Princess Peach (Nintendo)

Look at that, a recent release (Elite Beat) and an upcoming one (Star Trek) support it. I see a bright future for you, “DS Option pak.” What do you guys think? Got one? Want one? Don’t care? If you see one, pick it up. It might liven up some games you don’t play anymore, or ones you haven’t finished yet.

Shakey shakey.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2006 12:24 am

    I indeed have one, but I got it for free; I honestly don’t think I would spend more than 5 bucks for it.

    Games I have:
    Metroid Prime Pinball
    Mario and Luigi: Partners in Time
    Metroid Prime: Hunters

  2. November 11, 2006 12:35 am

    5 bucks is its sweet spot. I woulda Johnny Walker-ed my ass outta there had it been a dollar more.

    How does it feel with those 3?

  3. November 11, 2006 12:37 am

    It feels fine. I rarely notice if it’s there, but I completely notice it when it’s gone.

    Just like console rumble.

  4. November 11, 2006 1:38 pm

    hope it dosnt need batteries like the n64s did. that was a bane of my gaming time.

  5. November 11, 2006 4:02 pm

    Oh yea, i forgot about that. No, it doesn’t need batteries on DS.

  6. November 11, 2006 5:11 pm

    I used to have a couple of GameBoy Color games which had the rumble feature. Was cool as.

    When I get enough cash to pick up Metroid Prime Hunters, I’m so getting one of these as well.

  7. frisby permalink
    November 11, 2006 5:32 pm

    Just like toxicwast i have

    Metroid Prime Pinball
    Mario and Luigi: Partners in Time
    Metroid Prime: Hunters

    Mario and Luigi is improved drastically by it. Metroid is a lot of fun to. Helps let you know you are getting lightning up your ass.

  8. November 12, 2006 12:53 pm

    I got the rumble pack with my copy of Metroid Pinball. I must say, it does makes BIG difference with Pinball, but on the other couple of games I have tried it on, Starfox Command and Metroid Prime Hunters, I didn’t feel the difference that much. I actually forgot about it, in part because I really hate how it sticks out on the Lite. I guess I’ll have to go back and give it a second chance…

Leave a Reply

