Skip to content

DS for kids, a follow up and a story.

November 6, 2006
by

This is a story about my friend Jim, who has a brother named Joe.  Jim and Joe are filthy rich, and I am expecting to play an Xbox 360 on their HDTV in a month or so.  Perhaps even a little Wii or PS3, depending on their holiday purchases.  But that’s digressing.

Joe has both a PSP and a DS Lite, both of which he spends quite some time with.  I saw him playing Animal Crossing on his DS one day and asked him what his friends thought of the fact that he was playing a rather unmasculine game.  He looked at me incredulously and said “Are you crazy?  You think I bring this out to play in school?  My friends would think I’m a pussy!” before settling back into his game and playing contentedly for an hour or so.

My thoughts on buying a portable system only to keep it at home aside, maybe there is some point to Sony’s bullying of the kiddie PSP.  They’ve created an awareness within their consumer base that DS is for kids, hence my friend’s kid brother hiding his DS from his friends, but taking his PSP out for a spin because it’s the shit.

This makes me wonder, how many people secretly have a DS which they play in their dark rooms while furtively looking out for anyone who might see them and call them a “pussy”?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2006 10:00 pm

    I’m more worried about looking like a geek than anything else.

    Besides, I don’t think Sony’s PR is the reason that men are afraid to play games about talking animals and fruity errands in public.

  2. MacUser permalink
    November 6, 2006 11:53 pm

    i have a million friends who have dses and psps, but i dont know any of them who play their dses in public, only their psps because theyre “awesome” (*cough* theyre only 3 psp games for sale at best buy *cough*)

  3. November 7, 2006 12:41 am

    PSP is the king of word-of-mouth. Sony can’t be topped in that area, brand awareness. DS, though, rules word-of-mouth on the internet. The question is, which is more far-reaching? I can’t tell, because in America the sales of the two are still neck and neck. DS is ahead, barely.

    From a sales perspective, PSP’s cool factor can’t be overlooked, regardless of DS’ software. But, they are 2 different machines.

  4. MacUser permalink
    November 7, 2006 12:47 am

    agreed, rollin

  5. November 7, 2006 1:18 am

    An interesting stat I’ve heard:
    More DS’s have been sold in Japan alone, than PSP’s in the entire world. Correct me on that.

    Sure, it’s just the crazy Japanese, but it’s impressive, nonetheless.

  6. November 7, 2006 3:07 am

    The problem with the PSP is that it is a “portable” PS2… and I use the word “portable” in a very marginal sense…

  7. November 7, 2006 3:54 am

    I use my DS almost entirely indoors – the only exception is when i go to the movies and play multi during the previews – and even in that scenario i wouldn’t be able to use the PSP the same way because of the short batt life. It’d have to be constantly plugged in, although given that it’d always be in my house, i wouldn’t worry too much. The load times are another story: the DS and Micro have spoiled me. Not to mention its size– i can even put the lite in my back pocket, sit on it and not worry.

    On the plus side, i think the power of the PSP is worth the trouble. Most of the games…are not.

  8. duffbeer permalink
    November 7, 2006 3:56 pm

    I play my DS in public, and I’m a 29 year old male. Call me a pussy, and I’ll break your face. Of course, I’m usually playing *caugh* back-up *caugh* games.

  9. November 7, 2006 4:17 pm

    My point is that most DS games you really cannot play in any platform other than the DS… While most PSP games are downgraded PS2 games, or they could certainly be released for the PS2, with better results to boot.

    Or, to retort: it makes sense to buy and use the DS indoors, it doesn’t make sense to buy and use a PSP indoors (just get a PS2 for better results). And the PSP doesn’t fare well in most portable settings, either, so that pretty much slims down the chances of someone using the PSP for gaming.

    I do like the look of many of the games on PSP over the DS, but then, I would buy a PS2 instead of a PSP!

    Tell you what… I’ll pull a “Wii instead of PS3 on launch day” on the Wii: If I don’t get a Wii on its launch week, I’ll get a PS2 instead out of sheer frustration!

  10. concetta permalink
    May 21, 2010 9:21 am

    wow incredible blog

Leave a Reply

